We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Royal Hotel Mornington

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Royal Hotel Mornington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 89: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We came here a year ago and loved our night, wine in the beer garden then a lovely dinner on the veranda. Came back this summer to a very disappointing experience. The place did not feel welcoming or or organised at all. New staff clearly not supported in their role. I ordered the salad and it was terrible, drowned in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kyanneswim
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we first discovered The Royal a few years ago it was one of Mornington's best dining experiences, over the last few years it's been going from bad to worse. The quality of food has declined steadily and it seems like they are popular enough to no longer care. We always think to ourselves we give it another shot so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefaan d
Philippa S, Manager at The Royal Hotel Mornington, responded to this review

I apologize for the bad experience the you had at The Royal Hotel. Yes we have made changes to our hotel and the changes may not suit everyone which is understandable. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your christmas day spent which your family and hope to see you return in the near future with a better experiance...

Eltham, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was the Royal having a bad day? Worst food I've had in a very long time. Entree Oysters were very small and looked unappetising. The slaw served with the Calamari was bitter. Then for the mains, orders a rare and served medium, fish pie was like a soup and the puff pastry was burnt. The beef burger was dense had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SirLunchelot
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One of those beautiful old pubs that has had some love given to it of late. Sit and have a beer and look out over the ocean. Plenty of parking, close to everything. Just a great spot. Didn't have a meal but they looked great, next visit for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David F
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have always loved our meals at the Royal but must admit our last two December visits were disappointing! The new menu is quite pedestrian - not a lot of flavour ! We loved the lamb curry , arancini and creme brûlée ! Please go back back to the old menu . Otherwise you're just another pub in Mornington !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui M
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Today we had Christmas lunch, we found the waitress to have a bad attitude, and barked and every request we had, it all seemed to be such a chore for her. The meals were slow coming out, and overall disappointed as we were paying premium prices! Not sure we would do again !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane S
Philippa S, Manager at The Royal Hotel Mornington, responded to this review

Im sorry to hear you did not enjoy your Christmas meals, taken into consideration that our staff have left there own family's to work and we sat over 150 people with that trying to be 100% there is bound to be mistakes. I truly do apologies for the experience you had and we would hope that you give us the...

Melbourne
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I can only say good things about the Christmas lunch my family & I have experienced today. The food was excellent. Considering the dining areas were completely full, the service was prompt, the wait staff were cheerful & we were not rushed in any way being able to enjoy a long leisurely lunch!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneCazza
Hastings, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We got to the Hotel for our early lunch booking at 11:00am (only booking left). We were seated and had our entree on the table within 15 minutes. Okay, not so bad. No sooner had our entree been taken away and our main course was put in front of us. I hadn't even got back from the toilet. Two courses...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phill D
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Have met up with friends here for a pre Christmas dinner for the past few years at The Royal. The menu has always been small, but the meals were delicious and plentiful in the past. The service also was great. What happened????? Came here last night, but won't bother again. Not sure if new owners or under new management, but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Icequeen66
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 November 2016

We dined with friends on a recent Friday night. The restaurant was only sparsely populated so the waitress was quite attentive. The menu was somewhat limited and the meals were expensive. my meal came with a salad. The "salad" comprised of a few small lettuce leaves and some sliced onion. This was contained in a small finger bowl. So I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bystander27

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mornington
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklands of Mornington
0.8 mi away
Mornington Motel
Mornington Motel
#2 of 2 in Mornington
37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mornington Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mornington on Tanti Hotel
Mornington on Tanti Hotel
#3 of 4 in Mornington
67 reviews
8.2 mi away
Bay Motel Safety Beach
Bay Motel Safety Beach
#2 of 27 in Mornington Peninsula
162 reviews
10.4 mi away
Lindenderry at Red Hill
Lindenderry at Red Hill
#1 of 1 in Red Hill
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel Mornington

Address: 770 Esplanade, Mornington, Victoria 3931, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Mornington
Price Range: £165 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Hotel Mornington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Royal Hotel Mornington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Hotel Mornington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only ate Christmas Lunch. Food - okay. Dining Room was Hot.”
 of 5 bubbles 407philld, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Al have sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles Val063, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 2, 3 and 4 are not as expensive as rooms 1 and 5 which offer more space. We like Room 3”
 of 5 bubbles RuthD877, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Any with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles phebianMelbourne, 21 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The balcony front rooms have superb views and are also quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles helen8882016, 12 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay