We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hilltop Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ouyen
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hilltop Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 73: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Good place for a stopover on the drive from Sydney to Adelaide. Motel is a typical country accommodation, has had some renovations in the bathroom but bedroom needed some renovations. Bed was comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tpipp01
JAD54, Owner at Hilltop Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review tpipp01. Glad you had a comfortable stay with us. We haven't actually renovated the bathrooms, the rooms are still in quite good condition but I would be interested in what you found needed renovating in the bedrooms....as we may be able to address this. You could advise us of this...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 15 August 2016

What do you want when travelling a long distance... A clean and comfortable bed in a clean room. You do get this when you visit Hilltop Motel. BUT, one also needs a welcome, an accurate booking when you only made the call one and a half hours earlier asking for a room (note 'a' room = one room) with accomodation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindy M
JAD54, Owner at Hilltop Motel, responded to this review

Oh where to begin?? Lindy, it was actually YOU who caused the transmogrification! When you checked in, you said you had a booking for (your organisation's name). You didn't mention, at that time, your own name, which the booking was made in the name of, only after we had changed your booking to the family room. Shortly afterwards another three...

Eden Valley, Australia
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The hosts were friendly and polite, but the room was very noisy from trucks all night. The decor is also very outdated, the single bed was disappointing as I had booked a double, and the free Wifi was unreliable. As an upside, the shower was surpisingly good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
JAD54, Owner at Hilltop Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Rebecca. Not sure whether you are referring to trucks on the highway, which we have no control over of course, or the trucks at the couriers next door. We have spoken to the owners many times about this but it seems it doesn't help the situation. Maybe they can only...

Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

We were greeted by very welcoming owners who immediately made us feel at home. 2 Adults, 1 Child $150/night. We didn't mind the tariff as small country towns need to be supported. Room clean and comfortable. We would definately recommend this motel to weary travellers!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ginger K
JAD54, Owner at Hilltop Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Ginger for a wonderful review, it is so nice to be appreciated! Thank you too for your recommendation. Hope you will return again sometime.

Sydney
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here during a trip from Canberra to Adelaide as we wanted to go through Ouyen rather than Mildura. The hits itself was a bit dated as you'd expect and was anything flash. They had free wifi which was a plus. The biggest issue was the cost - $135 is a bit rich for one night in a super...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thorrnydevil
JAD54, Owner at Hilltop Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Not sure what you mean by the 'hits' being dated.....maybe next time you might choose to go through Mildura.

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on our way to Mildura. The room and bathroom area was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The hosts were very friendly and made us welcome. My wife and I have been travelling around Victoria for the last 3 weeks and agree that this Motel was one of the better accommodation venues we have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 9waynep
JAD54, Owner at Hilltop Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Wayne for your review, and for the recommendation. We do appreciate it. We hope you will stay with us again sometime.

Cobram, Australia
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Clean and comfy motel in nice garden setting. The staff friendly and helpful.TV was very small on a big wall Parking was good short distance from town and eateries there was a pool and BBQ area but we didn't use them.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennie R
JAD54, Owner at Hilltop Motel, responded to this review

Thanks Jennie for your review. Hope you will return sometime when the weather is warmer. Our BBQ area and pool is very popular then!

Reviewed 11 April 2016

We needed accommodation for one night and were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and comfort of the room. Doesn't matter if you're staying in a 5 star resort or motel in a rural town, unclean facilities will just make you feel yucky. The carpet looked like it had just been steam cleaned, the room smelt lovely, bathroom was spotless and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
JAD54, Owner at Hilltop Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for a wonderful review Jennifer M! We really appreciate your positive feedback. We work very hard to give our guests the best experience we can. And of course we appreciate too, our fantastic girls who also work very hard, are very particular and have a keen eye for detail. We couldn't do this without them! We would love...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 19 March 2016

My friend and I were traveling back from Canberra to Adelaide and used this motel for a one night stop. The staff were friendly and the room was spotlessly clean. There is a local pub that serves excellent food, so from that point of view it was really good. However, this was the most expensive place we stayed $165 per...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Amanda L
JAD54, Owner at Hilltop Motel, responded to this review

Amanda.....Our tariff of $135 is for one bed and because you needed two beds you were charged an extra $15. All motels do this. Also because it was a public holiday there was also a $15 surcharge. Again, you will find this applies anywhere. The reason for the surcharge is that on a public holiday we have to pay our...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

One night stopover while passing through, key left for our late arrival, room clean and functional. Everything was functional and met our needs. Close to road but little traffic so noise was not an issue, didn't check out pool or bbq. Now to find a coffee in town!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 900wanderingwyllie
JAD54, Owner at Hilltop Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad the room met your needs and hope you found that coffee! Hope to actually meet you next time! Cheers.

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Additional Information about Hilltop Motel

Address: 20 Calder Hwy, Ouyen, Victoria 3490, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ouyen
Price Range: £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hilltop Motel Ouyen, Victoria, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hilltop Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 6 is very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles , 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Read reviews on motel in town the town you stay”
 of 5 bubbles 122jennier, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“The motel is on the highway it would be better to ask for a room further from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles jennifermQ1346RD, 10 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Low number rooms take you the furtherest away from the highway and closer to the pool and Bbq”
 of 5 bubbles Rodlyn2014, 13 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Rooms away from the road may be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles PlainsWanderer, 3 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5