We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hideout on the Horseshoe

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Hideout on the Horseshoe
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hideout on the Horseshoe
See the most recent reviews
Showing 115: English reviews
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 14 July 2008

After reading a couple of the negative reviews I was skeptical about the management support/control of the property after being invited for a weekend on the river with friends. I'm sure these folks had legitimate issues but my experience couldn't have been better. The management and staff went WAY out of their way to ensure we had a great time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1,128,711
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 9 July 2008

The Hideout on the Horseshoe was an excellent choice for our stay in New Braunfels! Worth every penny! The rooms, gas grills, and entire facility were extremely clean and very well maintained. They went out of there way to make sure we had everything we wanted/needed, and the entire staff was very knowledgeable about local activities, restaurants, ECT: We personally...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wink0808
Virginia
Reviewed 8 July 2008

This year was my second time staying at the Hideout. We came this year and last year for the two Blue October shows at Whitewater Music. Each visit has been an incredible experience. The cabins are wonderful, and you can not beat their view from the back porch. The staff that we met were very friendly and helpful. Chaney at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank muddypenguin
Mesquite, Texas
Reviewed 5 July 2008

I selected this site to celebrate our 25th anniversary of our first date, and brought along four family members to help celebrate. We arrived and attempted to get instructions on booking a rafting trip the next day. One of the staff tried to be very helpful, but had only worked there about a month. The other young lady was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank debjack
TX
Reviewed 17 June 2008

We arrived around 4:00 p.m. Friday and were pleased with the accomodations even though they are expensive. When our neighbors arrived later that night, they were very intoxicated and immediately broke the window to their cabin because they couldn't find the staff to check in. I immediately tried notifying the management several times with the emergency number they left, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mommy59
tiggermgr, Manager at Hideout on the Horseshoe, responded to this review

Our staff called guest advising them where their key would be located since they would be checking in after office hours. Management didn't receive any phone call from these folks until a phone call came through from a different cabin which was responded to immediately. I spoke with guests from both cabins and did not leave property until I felt...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 15 May 2008

We stayed at the Hideout from May 10-12. We were looking for a relaxing retreat that we could relax as a family. The Hideout on the Horseshoe delivered. The cabins are as described on the website. We booked number 3 and had a semi-private balcony porch with a great view of the river below and a backdrop of the beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Two_Way_Yo
Texas
Reviewed 7 May 2008

This place looks nice on the website, but WATCH OUT...do yourself a favor and go to a different location. Prices are not worth it, scheduling is horrible and the management staff, specifically, the manager Angie & "receptionist" Jessica need to take a lesson in professionalism or go back to work at Mcdonalds, because if I was an employer (and I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Funworldtraveler
HOHManagement, Manager at Hideout on the Horseshoe, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that you feel you had a bad experience. However, we feel this review is very vague and lacks substance. At Hideout on the Horseshoe we strive to provide our customers with the best customer service possible. Our management has over 15 years experience and is more than qualified to represent such a thriving company.

Texas
Reviewed 16 April 2008

I found The Hideout on The Horseshoe on-line when I was looking for a romantic getaway for boyfriend's birthday. Unfortunately, I ran into a few issues and couldn't reserve it; however, I kept the place in mind for future reference and thought how beautiful it would be to have a wedding there. One month later my boyfriend proposed and I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ledwed
Texas
Reviewed 11 April 2008

My Husband and I got married at the Hideout on the Horseshoe March 8, 2008 and it was the best weekend of our lives! The property was perfect for our ideal outdoor Texas wedding along the river! All my wedding party and family were able to stay on location both Friday and Saturday! This gave us the opportunity to all...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 020483
Texas
Reviewed 8 April 2008

We stayed in the honeymoon suite, the Alamo. It's a cabin down on the end and shares a porch with the other honeymoon suite, the San Jacinto. Per the other reviews and the hotel's web site, you already know that these are nicely appointed cabins with large porches overlooking the river. Very nice views. (And a very high price tag.)...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Travelor12345

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon Lake
3.8 mi away
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
#3 of 3 in Canyon Lake
25 reviews
9.6 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#23 of 31 in New Braunfels
105 reviews
7.7 mi away
Lazy H Lodge B&B
Lazy H Lodge B&B
#2 of 6 in Canyon Lake
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Hill Country Cottage and RV Resort
8.1 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#4 of 19 in Wimberley
77 reviews
3.8 mi away
Still Water Ranch Condominiums
Still Water Ranch Condominiums
#7 of 14 in Canyon Lake
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hideout on the Horseshoe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms are river view and others are parking lot view”
 of 5 bubbles LoveToTravel0309, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a cabin that is by itself due to the thin walls to avoid hearing your neighbor…or bring ear plugs”
 of 5 bubbles OleMissTraveler, 1 Jan 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms have a view of the river but some have trees that block the view somewhat.”
 of 5 bubbles Raggedy Ann 2, 3 Feb 2015 | Read review
“The first 4 cabins are the biggest and have good view to the river and hills, and they are nearest to the grills.”
  • View from the balcony
  • Front view of the cabin
  • Deck of the cabin - front door
  • One of the beds in the cabin
  • View of my cabin from the river
  • Balcony
 of 5 bubbles Wolfguard, 20 Sep 2013 | Read review
“We had a smaller "luxury" room- #16- but to be honest, it looked about the same as the standard rooms- and next time we go, we'll opt for the larger cabins. We didn't think we'd need a bigger room, but it definitely would have been helpful. It would have been perfect for two people though, and it's on the very end, which is quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles jhcc1, 29 Jun 2013 | Read review
5 of 5