We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Harbor House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Harbor House
Harbor House
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

638 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 630: English reviews
Port Colborne, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here in the past so we decided to stay here before our cruise again. It is such a short walk to the cruise port. The guy at check-in wasn't the friendliest (7:30pm sat night Jan 7) but he wasn't rude. No small talk just interrupted him watching TV.  The room was spacious and decently clean. There were some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review

Thank you for making a return visit to Harbor House before your cruise. We appreciate your feedback and hope you enjoyed your cruise.

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I picked this hotel because of the location near the cruise ships. The area is nice, lots of places for dinner. The walk to RC ship is just under half a mile. It stormed the morning and we ended up watching the radar for a break in weather. When it came we were out and at the ship in about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bzybee08
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Harbor House Hotel for your pre-cruise stay. We appreciate your feedback and will pass this along to the appropriate staff. We hope you'll give us another try soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Harbor House prior to a 7 day cruise. The location is fabulous! We could even see our cruise ship coming in to port the next morning from our window! Great restaurants nearby, comfy bed, and a clean spacious room. The phone had been pulled out of the wall apparently by the previous guests...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lori T
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review

Thank you for making us aware of the issues you mentioned. Please accept our sincere apologies. We will pass this along to management.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very friendly and accommodating staff (especially Ms. Dee!!) The rooms are clean, modern decor with a great view of the water!! They switched us up to a suite for our honeymoon night which was so thoughtful!! Would definitely stay here again!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snicolosi06
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review

Congratulations and thank you for choosing Harbor House for your honeymoon. We are pleased our staff could make it extra special. We hope to see you again soon.

Frisco, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked two rooms here on Christmas night, before boarding our cruise ship. I chose this hotel because it is within walking distance (or free shuttle ride) to the cruise terminal. The only trick with that is that the free parking is at the Hotel Galvez, located across town. To park for the week at the Harbor House, you pay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyDF
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Harbor House Hotel for your pre-cruise stay. We are sorry to hear about the fog delay on your cruise and are happy you had a chance to explore Pier 21. We hope to see you again soon.

Edmond, Oklahoma
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We reached Harbor House Hotel late, at around 1:30 am on December 27. We had reserved two rooms. The front desk person was obviously not a happy camper, but checked us in and gave us an additional roller bed for our daughter. It was dark and we did not have a clue what the hotel or rooms looked like—my son...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bijukurian2017
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review

We are pleased you had a wonderful pre-cruise stay at Harbor House. Thank you for mentioning the exceptional service by Dee. She is a gem. We hope to see you again and thank you for spreading the good word.

Austin, TX
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well situated on wharf, just off the Strand. Easy access. Limited parking (if busy). Park and walk everywhere is my advice. Rooms are simple. Beds were comfy. Rooms poorly lit and were dim after sunset. Good amenities (microwave/fridge/coffee maker). Bathroom with large, excellent shower. The included continental breakfast was just what you'd expect...carbohydrate festival. Dining area sparse. Staff was pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DWishnew
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing the pros and cons on your stay at Harbor House. We will work on some training with our staff.

Kansas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed one night before our cruise and the lady at the front desk was super nice and upgraded us to a suite and my kids were so excited! It looked over the water and the room itself was spacious and clean! The local restaurants were nice but expensive! You do get a free continental breakfast but its muffins and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank crccdavis
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review on your pre-cruise stay at Harbor House. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel, location and view. We hope to see you again soon.

Nairobi
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

For the money it was total worth it. Very nice room. The finish of the hotel is different which gives it a uniqueness...industrial. The Harbour area is very beautiful to walk around. Water pressure in the shower was abit low though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doris K
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review

We are pleased to read you had a "very nice" stay at Harbor House Hotel. Thank you for mentioning the area. We hope to see you again soon.

Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I wanted very much to like this hotel because of the reviews but was sadly disappointed. Didn't seem like the room was cleaned. The toiletries were replenished but the trash can wasn't empty and the bathroom had old towel and the was very dark. We had a long drive and was tired. But couldn't really unpack in the dark, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gobeachmama
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review

Please accept our sincere apologies. We are sad to hear you were disappointed in your stay. Please know that our staff closely monitors reviews and we appreciate your feedback. We hope you'll consider giving us another try in the future.

425 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (285)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (121)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (120)
Viewed
One King Bed (21)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Suite (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)
Viewed
Two Queen Beds (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.4 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
1.2 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Harbor House Hotel resides in Galveston Wharf overlooking Galveston Bay. The Harbor House amenities feature spacious guest rooms with scenic harbor views, free Wi-Fi Internet access as well as complimentary breakfast. All Guest rooms are designed to reflect a relaxed ambiance, embellished with nautical-style furnishings and wooden floors. Enjoy nearby attractions, such as the Texas Seaport Museum, The Tall Ship Elissa, and The Great Storm Theater. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harbor House

Address: Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Price Range: £81 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Galveston
Harbor Hotel Galveston
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#9 Family Hotel in Galveston
#11 Business Hotel in Galveston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Harbor House staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Harbor House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on the side viewing the cruise ships.”
 of 5 bubbles bzybee08, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles bijukurian2017, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask to be as far out over the water as possible (at the end of the hotel)”
 of 5 bubbles SavvyTraveler2001, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Top floor offers the best and quietest room.”
 of 5 bubbles 379ronalds, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Corner rooms offer the best views of the harbor. Very popular so book early.”
 of 5 bubbles Garymstoh, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay