We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Resurgence

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Resurgence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 175: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Peter and Clare have been the most wonderful hosts...appropriately solicitous without being intrusive...caring and concerned in a situation of minor crisis and generally wonderfully kind and considerate. In addition their Eco hotel is in a fantastic setting within the Abel Tasman National Park with all creature comforts provided and superb food and drink. We had not intended to stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We've had two fabulous nights here despite the weather! Arrived in the rain before the storm and quick check in got us down to our Bush Chalet. Found a dry spot on our terrace to enjoy some local wine and craft beer. Booked our evening meal in the main house and enjoyed a four course meal with three other couples...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshire1245
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Resurgence has really raised the bar for me. I've stayed at some wonderful places around NZ, but this is now my favourite. The seclusion and tranquility during the day, spending an afternoon drinking red wine in the bath while looking out at the bush, and then topped off with a lovely, social evening. We were there two days (not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Treadbrook
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Let me start by saying that Claire and Peter have truly put their hearts into trying to create a lovely place for people to come to. They are warm and welcoming, friendly and available. The location is beautiful - and the walks around the property are well worth doing, especially the one down to the Resurgence river mouth. This said,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oliver1980_12
Clare d, Owner at The Resurgence, responded to this review

Hi Oliver & Erin We were quite taken aback by your 3 score on Trip Advisor – you never mentioned any issues during your stay and your comments in our guest book were lovely. LOVELY RESPITE IN THE MIDDLE OF THE WOODS – SO RELAXING! We thought you had enjoyed your stay, there was a fun group of guests at...

Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 3 perfect days at the Resurgence Eco Lodge. The lodges are clean, with all the luxury and conform you need and perfectly equipped, the bed is fantastic. Clare, Peter and Sam are true hosts, warm and welcoming; they also provided us with worthwhile activities and spots to see. We would recommend to book at least a few dinners;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pfei
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment we arrived, Claire and Peter made us feel at home! We stayed in the main house, in a large bedroom overlooking the pool. The property is set in some 50 acres offering clients various walks around the property, enabling you to enjoy the fauna and flora. Having no transport we were fully able to take in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fingringhoe
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Claire and Peter and their team have created a truly 5-star lodge in one of the most beautiful valleys near Abel Tasman. We stayed in one of the bush chalets, a one-room cabin on their property. The room was perfect in every way. We also had two wonderful four-course dinners cooked by Claire and served family-style - a great way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

Fabulous food! Our Chef, Clare, co-owner with her husband, Peter, prepared one of the best meals we had in New Zealand . You must not miss a chance to dine with your fellow guests at communal tables. And, of course, the local wines are a must. All this and minutes from Nelson and Kahurangi. Another highlight of our trip was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kbartur
Minneapolis
Reviewed 18 April 2016

The Resurgence was a big disappointment. The room we paid extra to "upgrade" was tired, hot and uncomfortable. Furnishings and art work were charmless. The ceiling fan in the living area was noisy, wobbly and did little to move the air. Bath tub was in a crawl space away from the main bathroom. Breakfast was us stumbling around in an...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lemondbikegirl
Clare d, Owner at The Resurgence, responded to this review

We were genuinely bemused when John & Lisa checked out, we asked if we had done anything wrong and they assured us we had not, John just wanted to go fishing and an opening had arisen at a local fishing lodge. We immediately contacted their agents and asked if they had said something to them, they had not. On check-in...

Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2016

Stayed in one of the four bush chalets, which was well equipped, very well presented and afforded lovely views of the native bush. A BBQ is also available for use. Breakfast can be taken in the chalet (self catered) or the main house where you can also have evening meals preceded by drinks and nibbles on the terrace, which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian S

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riwaka
13.9 mi away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
291 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
244 reviews
6.0 mi away
Split Apple Retreat
Split Apple Retreat
#1 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#1 of 4 in Takaka
164 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
330 reviews
5.2 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Voted one of the world's 25 best luxury eco-lodges (National Geographic Traveler 2013), The Resurgence is set in 50 acres of tranquil wilderness with 5km of bush tracks. Surrounded by birds, this relaxed and friendly Lodge is a perfect base for exploring the Nelson Region. Select Boutique Lodge Rooms or self-contained Bush Suites on Dinner B&B or self-contained basis. Dinner is a highlight with 4-course gourmet farm-to-table dining showcasing Nelson wine and produce. The Resurgence is the closest 5-star lodge to the Abel Tasman National Park and also offers easy day trips to Golden Bay, Kahurangi National Park or Nelson art studios and wineries. Let your well-travelled hosts help you plan activities such as kayaking, hikes and birding trips to winery and art tours. This child-free, smoke free resort with pool, spa and massage therapies is accessible by road, 45 minutes from Nelson airport. Ideal for honeymoons and for active couples who enjoy good food and nature. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Resurgence

Address: 574 Riwaka Valley Road | RD3 Motueka, Riwaka 7198, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Riwaka
Price Range: £325 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resurgence 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Resurgence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resurgence Hotel Kairuru
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Resurgence staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Resurgence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had Kiwi Saddle, I'd ask for it again.”
 of 5 bubbles Treadbrook, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Bush chalets, larger bush lodges and rooms in the main house”
 of 5 bubbles X5707EDbrians, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you check what they will charge”
 of 5 bubbles MariaP176, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
“If you need good wifi connectivity, you won't get it here. It' very intermittent.”
 of 5 bubbles 36jeannem, 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“A few of the cabin rooms offer outdoor private bathtubs.”
 of 5 bubbles 118rayg, 18 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay