We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Hotel Porto Mannu

Save
Share
Localita Capo d'Orso, Palau, Sardinia Italy
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
FindHotel
ZenHotels.com
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (539)
Room & Suite (250)
Pool & Beach (37)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#8 of 16 in Palau
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Residence Hotel Porto Mannu is located in Capo d'Orso, on the sea-shore close to the Archipelago della Maddalena, in the northern part of Costa Smeralda, at 4 kilometers from Palau and at 40 kilometers from Olbia. The resort offers accommodation in comfortable rooms and apartments all on the ground floor, 2 swimming pools with sea water, a beach-volley field, fully equipped beach bookable in advance (until exhaustion availability), pier floating charge booked in advance (up to availability). Diving center "PADI", fee courses.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Internet
Pool
Coffee shop
Beach
Diving
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Outdoor pool
Poolside bar
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Safe
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
616Reviews42Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 162
  • 265
  • 109
  • 55
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
FarAway0905 wrote a review Jul 2019
London, United Kingdom9 contributions3 helpful votes
Beautiful surroundings, clean rooms, beach and whole area around. Private beach of the residence is all you need. Especially now in season when everything is overcrowded. My group of friends and me were staying here, one family with kid, they enjoyed animations and another ones just wanna chill a bit ...and this is exactly what is this place offering. Plus nice, friendly and very helpful staff, especially Yvana at the reception. Would definitely recommend this place!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Michael B wrote a review Sept 2018
1 contribution
They're not on social media, probably to avoid public complaints. The attitude towards their customers is terrible, they clearly plan to get as much money out of you as possible and don't expect any repeat business. The dinner is to be avoided at all costs, the service is worse. We went to the buffet dinner which costs €22. All of the food was terrible, we left hungry and had to go and buy food from the overpriced and poorly stocked shop on site, so we ended up paying €52 for 2 cornettos and 2 packets of crisps. When raising a complaint, the staff make no attempt to remedy the situation, don't listen to what you have to say, don't make any attempt to speak to a manager and threaten to call the police even when there was no aggression on our part. When asked what their complaints procedure is they replied "this is it", meaning ignore you, don't make any record of your complaint and then threaten to call the police again. If you propose a compromise (when it shouldn't be up to the customer to mediate) they again ignore you and threaten to call the police. While a jail cell might have a similar level of service we eventually decided to pay for the dinner we didn't eat. To top it off when we asked for the name of the receptionist who displayed appalling customer service and was repeatedly rude to us, she seemed to make up a name on the spot. The location right next to the see is very good. There are no signs to put on the door when it's occupied, so cleaners can just walk in. Very romantic!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Stefano L, Proprietario at Residence Hotel Porto Mannu
Responded 5 Sept 2018
Even if we are not on social media, we read customer reviews and respond when we think it is appropriate to do so. Here on TripAdvisor there are 520 reviews about us: we are not hiding. Our reply to this specific complaint has already been published three times, because your complaint has been already posted on Google, on Booking.com and here on TripAdvisor, in the review entitled "I would give zero stars if I could!". I would not like to add anything else, but your review is so fake that I decided to tell you clearly what I think. Your claim to get a lower price for a service that you did not like is simply groundless. Our services and our prices are not negotiable. If a customer dines in my restaurant and then refuses to pay the price on allegedly fake pretexts,I call the police because this is what a civilized human being does to protect his rights. Your attitude of screaming on every social is childish. Our professionalism comes from 30 years of work in the hotel industry and is certified by literally *thousands* of reviews - sometimes positive, sometimes negative - published by our customers over the years, here and elsewhere. You can go on with your social campaign of zero-rating reviews, if you want: but we will continue to exist, work and have thousands of satisfied customers.
Read more
Guide441631 wrote a review Sept 2018
2 contributions
The room itself was fine and the breakfast was OK. However, the buffet dinner was completely inedible. There were flies everywhere and the food was congealed and horrible. I have added a photo of the best thing on the menu... When it came to paying, we tried to explain that we hadn't eaten the food (and had to go elsewhere as we left hungry) and ask if it would be possible to have this removed from our bill. We were told we had to pay and when we asked to speak to a manager they refused. They then threatened to call the police. We asked if there was a complaints procedure and were told that this was it. Such an appalling way to treat customers.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Stefano L, Proprietario at Residence Hotel Porto Mannu
Responded 5 Sept 2018
Your complaint was not made at the restaurant at the end of the dinner but at the check-out, two days later. We asked the maitre if he had a complaint from you, he told us that you had a quiet dinner (including some selfie in front of the dessert buffet), and that the only problem occurred when the waiters informed you that you could not consume food and drink brought from outside the restaurant. Your complaints started exactly at that time. For this reason we believe that there was nothing wrong with food and service (after all that evening about 200 people dined at our restaurant, without any complaints or report from any of them), and for this reason we asked payment in full. Rating zero? Sometimes this can be a great compliment, it depends on who gives you this vote.
Read more
CarolineSeesTheWorld wrote a review Aug 2018
Austinmer, Australia2 contributions3 helpful votes
"Sea-view" Room for which we paid extra with much anticipation, 6 months in advance, had not even a glimpse of water, not even from the extended porch area out front. Manager agreed that there was no view of the water but insisted that was what they call "Sea View Rooms" - they face in the direction of the sea! (some nearby us could see distant water views from porch, none from the room itself), manager refused to do anything about it, refused to move us to another room (we said we may as well stay in a non-sea-view room), refused to refund the difference from a non-sea-view room, lied and said the hotel was full (we saw that rooms were able to be booked on Booking.com). Breakfast room was disgusting, poor quality food on offer, coffee or tea order taken only 20 min after we finished eating, we did not go back next morning, chose instead to pay for breakfast in a nice cafe in town. We did not even bother to go and see the pool or beach area, were given plastic wrist bands to use it (unlike any other lovely resort we stayed in throughout Sardinia). Chose to spend our time snorkelling and away from this place as much as possible. This is an expensive area but pay more stay elsewhere as this place is no nice resort and does not value its guests to ensure a nice experience for them.(The first staff member who received us was very nice. But all went downhill once we queried the "Sea View" and manager was called in). In posting this review elsewhere, management response was "The best answer to insults and lies is silence." which prompted me to post this review here as well. Why would I lie? Which bits do they are claim are lies? All verifiable. Confirms that the management does not care about ensuring a nice experience for their guests. We did say that "The grounds are quite pretty. What a shame the rest of the experience did not match."
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Don't bother paying extra for 'Sea View" unless they guarantee terrace that can in...
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Stefano L, Proprietario at Residence Hotel Porto Mannu
Responded 7 Aug 2018
"Breakfast room disgusting" (this is insulting), "poor quality food offer". This is a lie. We serve about 250-280 persons for breakfast every day, from 8 to 10 AM. Some of them are happy about the quality of our service, some less and some are not, but no one have never said that we are disgusting. "Coffee or tea order taken only 20 min after we finished eating". This is a lie. 20 minutes for each customer? This means that it takes only 83 hours a day to serve 250 people. Ok, maybe 2 persons for each table: in this way, it takes only 40 hours a day to serve everybody... "Manager was called in": this is a lie. I am the manager and one of the owners, and we never met during your stay. You met the front desk manager, she simply rejected your request to pay less money because you didn't like the room. "Sea view. Room...had not even a glimpse of water, not even from the ...porch". This is a lie. Why don't you post a pic about this complaint? Possibly because, if you do it, everybody will see that the room is sea-view? In your review on Booking.com you gave the restaurant a bad rating, the lowest possible. This is a lie. You have never had lunch or dinner here. "Management does not care about ensuring a nice experience for their guests". Maybe it is because of this unprofessional behavior that the vast majority of our customers return from year to year to spend their holidays here, possibly in the same room or apartment? As said elsewhere, I would have preferred to remain silent. But everything has a limit.
Read more
Silvana M wrote a review Oct 2017
Salerno, Italy15 contributions6 helpful votes
I have been to Porto Mannu for just four days with my boyfriend, but at the end of the holiday I wanted to spend there another week or more. Everything was above expectation, from the venue, to the rooms, the service and, of course, the sea! The only thing I would say is that the Residence is mostly good for families.. there are A LOT of childern around and the entreteinment is of course suited for these kind of customers. So, I would definitely come back with my family... one day!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
GoliRem wrote a review Sept 2017
Modena, Italy31 contributions15 helpful votes
The location is amazing only 10 minute drive to Palau; the rooms are cozy and clean with modern TV and a nice terrace. There is a private beach and pools. Everything we asked they provided us with a smile! Great service and good value for money! Recommended
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
11areggub wrote a review Sept 2017
Finchampstead, United Kingdom71 contributions65 helpful votes
this may sound a rant but it isn't. just want to make it clear this is not worth going to;avoid. The apartments (sic) are very poor for the money. 30 years out of date; knocked about; ill equipped; many things not working IE the safe, aircon (useless), light bulbs. there are no wine glasses - why? There were only four random teaspoons from different services. batteries de cuisine (sic) great if you want to cook moules marinere for 8 otherwise useless. how people can say breakfast is good astonishes me: stone cold bacon, overcooked sausage, scrambled eggs with brown bits - oh dear. fruit non existent when I went. The private beach is pleasant but as far as I can tell one must use the sun loungers and pay an exorbitant price for them. I won't be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
bettyjm1 wrote a review Sept 2017
Blackwood, United Kingdom28 contributions24 helpful votes
If you are a lover of all thing creepy crawly this accommodation is for you. A dozen different creatures shared our room, digested our food and bit us all night long. The room was not appealing in way. The bed was comfortable. Beach is lovely , but definitely not private. My advice would be to stay in one of the nearby towns and travel to this beach. The pool is also open for anyone to use, not suitable for non swimmer children. Bar snacks were cheap and varied. The bar is noisy because the kids club is part of it (Italian only). The daily shows are extremely tiresome. Hotel staff generally helpful. Probably better places to stay on the island.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Balny wrote a review Aug 2017
Paris98 contributions63 helpful votes
Crowdy residence, really not worth the price. Breakfast is cheap, and noisy , rooms are very medium, very small bathroom ....At this price you can expect other kind of services.! Only the view on the beach is ok .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Helpful
Share
catherine d wrote a review Aug 2017
Bosa, Italy242 contributions24 helpful votes
The room was just adequate, the bathrooms out of date, no hot water, and I had to call maintenance to have the toilet flushing fixed. Apart from that, ok for one night, the view is brilliant, to pool area is fine even if full of kids. Very good breakfast selection and friendly staff
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$100 - US$143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
residence hotel palau
LOCATION
ItalySardiniaProvince of Olbia-TempioPalau
NUMBER OF ROOMS
160
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Residence Hotel Porto Mannu
Which popular attractions are close to Residence Hotel Porto Mannu?
Nearby attractions include Parco Nazionale dell'Arcipelago di La Maddalena (3.3 miles), The Duke Cocktail Lounge Bar (3.4 miles), and Spiaggia di Talmone (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Residence Hotel Porto Mannu?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Residence Hotel Porto Mannu?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Residence Hotel Porto Mannu?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a poolside bar, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Residence Hotel Porto Mannu?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Residence Hotel Porto Mannu?
Conveniently located restaurants include I Mille, La Finestrella, and Vineria Ninì.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Residence Hotel Porto Mannu?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Residence Hotel Porto Mannu?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Residence Hotel Porto Mannu?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Residence Hotel Porto Mannu?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fortezza di Monte Altura (2.9 miles), Batteria di Candeo (3.4 miles), and Batteria Militare Di Tegge (3.6 miles).
Does Residence Hotel Porto Mannu have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.