We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,945 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,549: English reviews
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel in September 2013 and we were very satisfied. The beach is about 15 minutes walk from the hotel. The sea was clear and warm, beach sandy. You would love this place if you like long walks by the sea. The hotel was great, can`t complain about anything- service was fast, friendly and the all inclusive...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank zajac2811
MedplayaGR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review

Hello zajac2811 Thank you for taking the time to post your review with regards to your holiday at the Calypso. It is good to hear that you enjoyed different cuisine every night and found there to be good choice at breakfast. Hopefully we shall see you again soon for another holiday at the Calypso or any other MedPlaya hotels. Kind...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this hotel on two occasions and had a fantastic time. The hotel caters well food wise for everyone, the pool area is good. The entertainment was great most nights and everyone seemed to enjoy what was provided, location is ok, it's a pleasant stroll down to the centre and amenities are all around.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AndreaReid
MedplayaGR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review

Hello AndreaReid, Thank you for choosing to return once again to the Hotel Calypso. The staff try hard to ensure that everyone enjoys their time with us and so we are happy that you liked all that was available. Hopefully it will not be to long until you return again for another visit. Kind Regards Guest Relations Team, Med Playa...

Bergen, Norway
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed there for six nights in oktober 2016. Don't expect so much in this hotel so you will not be disappointed,take as it is. Buffet or food is average,internet connection is free in the bar but, it is very slow. Location is good, and it's typical for the tourist.It's around 10 to 15 minutes walking distance to the beach,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lilia T
MedplayaGR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review

Hello Lilia T, Many thanks for submitting your review about your holidays at the Hotel Calypso. We are pleased that overall you were happy with the services and facilities that were available. Kind Regards Guest Relations Team, Med Playa Hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here October 2013 all inclusive The all inclusive was good and had good selection of drinks also liked the barbecue section outside at the pool shock lasted for a few hours at lunchtime , which is where the Brits tended to eat and the locals ate lunch in the restaurant Hotel in good location Rooms not the greatest but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paulwilson76
MedplayaGR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review

Hello paulwilson76 Many thanks for taking the time to share your impressions with regards to your October 2013 stay at the Calypso. We are glad that overall you were pleased with the services and facilities available. Hopefully if you do choose to return again in the future you will see the changes that are being made. Kind Regards Guest Relations...

Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

This was our 5th visit to the hotel, and we still find excellent value. Firstly all the staff work very hard, plus they are helpful and friendly. The rooms are basic but are cleaned every day. The drinks selection is great, San migel, sangria, wine, cava and local spirits. The restaurant has had a massive refurb, and the food is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roxie2001
MedplayaGR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review

Hello roxie2001, Thanks for choosing to return to stay once again at the Hotel Calypso and and that once again you enjoyed another good holiday with us. Your feedback is very important to us and so we do appreciate you taking the time to update us on your latest visit. It is good to know that you found us still...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Really value for money, some parts of the hotel was a little tired but the restaurant was very modern, Food was excellent and so was the service staff were really friendly. The weather wasn't brilliant but the hotel coped well with all the guests.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne R
MedplayaGR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review

Hello Jayne R, "Lovely hotel", we are delighted to hear that this is what you thought with regards to your stay at the Hotel Calypso. Bit by bit we are making updates to the hotel so it is good to know you got to see some of the changes that are being made. The staff try hard to ensure that...

Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a short break with my two children, when we arrived it was late the kids were very tiered the man at reception took his time before checking us in (no apology for the wait) *The room was hot and air conditioning was rubbish so sleeping was terrible *Most of the Staff were rude and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danni2knight
MedplayaGR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review

Hello danni2knight, We are sorry that the Hotel Calypso did not live up to your expectations and that you did not find the services provided to be to your tastes. Many guests return time after time as they enjoy the friendly service. We are sad to learn that you did not find this to be the case. Your feedback is...

Morpeth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Booked the Hotel Calypso as a last minute deal got it for a very good price all inclusive. We have been to Salou several times as we love to visit Portaventura so this was really just a base somewhere to eat and sleep.. Hotel in a good position close to shops bars and beach bus stop only 5mins walk. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TraceymT76
MedplayaGR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review

Hello TraceymT76, Thank you for choosing the Hotel Calypso for your recent holiday in Salou. We are pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel, ALL Inclusive service and standards met with your expectations. We are sorry to hear that food in the restaurant was not to your liking, but appreciate that you...

Reviewed 29 October 2016

when we arrived the booking in was quik and easy the staff was friendly and helpful our room was facing rear swimming pool clean and tidy room breakfast was good plenty off choice the snack bar was good and very friendly staff evening meal the same plenty to chose from the pools were clean a bit chilly at this time...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maria M
MedplayaGR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review

Hello Maria M, Thanks for sharing your impressions about your holiday at the Hotel Calypso. We are glad that you were happy with your choice of choosing the Calypso for a holiday and hope that you would opt to stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards Guest Relations Team, Med Playa Hotels

Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Very average hotel. Could do with a bit of modernisation but comfortable enough. Visited at end of season + staff seemed tired + in need of a break. Food ok if your Spanish but don't really cater for British tourists.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian F
MedplayaGR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review

Hello Gillian F, We are sorry that some aspects of the Hotel were not to your liking and that you felt food don't cater for British tourists. Many people find that for the money that they have paid the Hotel is good value and offers more than most 3 star Hotels. We appreciate that we will never please everyone all...

979 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (532)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (129)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (239)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (415)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Pool Two (38)
Viewed
Dining (189)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (44)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.4 mi away
MedPlaya Piramide Salou
0.4 mi away
4R Playa Park
4R Playa Park
#12 of 95 in Salou
754 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#23 of 95 in Salou
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ohtels Villa Dorada
#9 of 95 in Salou
882 reviews
0.7 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.4 mi away
Eurosalou Hotel
Eurosalou Hotel
#41 of 95 in Salou
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Address: Pompeu Fabra 54-62, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Price Range: £41 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Calypso 3*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Calypso Salou
Calypso Hotel Salou
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso Salou, Costa Dorada
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Salou
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MedPlaya Hotel Calypso staff and other travellers.
221 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (221)

Questions? Get answers from MedPlaya Hotel Calypso staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we faced the front road could hear a little noise from disco but it was fine”
 of 5 bubbles 243jayner, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“stayed in both sides south side quieter”
 of 5 bubbles , 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go to restaurant early to get a seat.”
 of 5 bubbles 874gillianf, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not the pool side.”
 of 5 bubbles iperkins2, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Walls in the rooms are paper thing you can hear people next door and above you using shower,toilet and talking”
 of 5 bubbles 150shirleyj, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay