We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hat Rock Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexican Hat
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hat Rock Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

640 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 365: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place to stay overnight, like I did, though in mid July bit pricey Rooms are cozy, spacious and nicely cleaned. Beds are super comfy ( or it was just me super tired;)) Great 'base' for traveling to Monument Valley or further north. Check in and check out easy

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tissaya
Yass, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well this place can't be rated as I never got to stay there.The one star is for poor communication. I made an internet booking back in May 2016, paid the grand sum of $5.00 as a deposit to secure a room for one night - 6 Nov. So rolled up expecting a room and first impressions were that it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellingkenny
Joy H, Owner at Hat Rock Inn, responded to this review

Hello, I am so very sorry you didn't receive the 'communication'! I personally sent an email in September explaining what happened & it wasn't tagged as undelivered mail so I assumed you got it? It's likely in your spam folder. We always close during the winter months as that's when we do the noisy and sometimes messy upgrades, this year...

Ada, Ohio
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We only stayed one night at Hat Rock Inn and we arrived late. Check in process was smooth. Rooms were clean but not fancy. There is a nice view out the back of the San Juan River and a nicely maintained pool. There is also a sitting area by the river. Would recommend for a overnight stay or jumping off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank akitajo
Joy H, Owner at Hat Rock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! Mexican Hat is in the middle of some of the prettiest red rocks anywhere! Close to Monument Valley, next to Valley of the Gods, the Goosenecks and the so cool Moki Dugway!

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 25 October 2016

This motel is a HIDDEN GEM! Although the outside looks a little rustic, the rooms are spacious, clean and nicely updated. The bathrooms look recently remodeled and the rooms look recently painted and recarpeted. A visit to the pool and you are in for a BIG surprise as it is big, with a nice spa attached, but the biggest surprise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John F
Joy H, Owner at Hat Rock Inn, responded to this review

Your generous review is much appreciated! While deciding on the pool design we originally thought to have a slide, water fall, grotto...all these fun things! Then, while standing there we knew we must go for 'serene', simple and big enough for guests to enjoy the view in solitude! So happy you enjoyed it.

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Sometimes in this part of the country you just have to take what you can get. That's why we were so happy to find this place. It may not look like much from the road, but the rooms are nicely decorated and clean. We had a fridge, microwave and excellent coffee in our room. The free WiFi was great and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoyceAna
Joy H, Owner at Hat Rock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words, we truly appreciate it. Curb appeal...such an interesting challenge for our little place! When we finally do figure out how to tackle it, we hope to capture the essence of the entire property. It's a daunting job!

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 21 October 2016

This motel, very close to Monument Valley looks like the average old motel you find all over the southwest. But walk into one of the rooms and you would think you were in an upscale city hotel. White linens, trendy wallpaper, marble bathroom. Everything was clean and sparkling and the pool was beautiful overlooking a dramatic canyon of the San...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jwindsoh
Joy H, Owner at Hat Rock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this awesome review! We're so thrilled when guests get to enjoy their holiday with us...it truly makes it all worthwhile.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Amazing place to stay. 20 mins from monument valley. Good clean rooms and comfortable stay. The restaurant was closed but another one just 500 meters away. Great place to stay. Would definitely stay again if had the chance. Only down side wifi was at dial up speeds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NZReedy
Joy H, Owner at Hat Rock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words! Wifi...the challenge of the 21st century! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you can return!

Christchurch
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We stayed for 3 nights, the room was clean and tidy. However the refrigerator froze our lovely fresh fruit which was then ruined and had to be thrown away. This was annoying as there was no where close by to replace it. The rooms are very basic but adequate. The pool and spa are great and you are able to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Horrifiedkiwi
Joy H, Owner at Hat Rock Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry about the refrigerator & the lost fruit...happy you enjoyed the pool, a nice fire and the view. Thank you for the review!

Baarn, The Netherlands
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

We were surprised about this place! It is definitely the best place to stay in Mexican Hat. We had very spacious rooms, great beds, good wifi and an even better shower! The place even offers an outside pool were you can relax and enjoy the great view.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoosRebel
Joy H, Owner at Hat Rock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! We appreciate your awesome review, it truly means a lot to us!

Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We loved the Hat Rock Inn -- lovely, clean, comfortable room, helpful staff and delightful setting allowing us to sip a beer or a coffee on the banks of the San Juan River. The hot tub was nice and warm for our early October stay. The only problem is that this tiny town lacks food options. We have a non-beef-eater...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C

329 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (322)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (150)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mexican Hat
21.2 mi away
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
#2 of 2 in Monument Valley
2,419 reviews
18.4 mi away
Desert Rose Inn & Cabins
19.1 mi away
Kokopelli Inn
Kokopelli Inn
#3 of 3 in Bluff
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ticaboo Resort
Ticaboo Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Powell
157 reviews
19.7 mi away
La Posada Pintada
La Posada Pintada
#1 of 1 in Bluff
181 reviews
18.7 mi away
Mokee Motel
Mokee Motel
#1 of 3 in Bluff
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
43 Rooms - King & Queen beds. Salt water swimming pool overlooking the San Juan River. 22 miles north of Monument Valley. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hat Rock Inn

Address: 120 U.S. Hwy 163 Scenic, Mexican Hat, UT 84531
Region: United States > Utah > Mexican Hat
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Hat Rock Hotel Mexican Hat
Hotel Hat Rock
Hat Rock Inn Mexican Hat, Utah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hat Rock Inn staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hat Rock Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The first floor rooms have access to your car...convenient. Request river side to have the view of the mountains vs. the road!”
 of 5 bubbles johnfF5901PL, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No views, but very quiet on the river side.”
 of 5 bubbles Jwindsoh, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring fire wood for a fire in the pit”
 of 5 bubbles Horrifiedkiwi, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room facing the river on the first floor. The second floor walkway is scary to me.”
 of 5 bubbles bcwill10, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on the river side. Sunrise and sunsets are outstanding.”
 of 5 bubbles 376jimp, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5