We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Stowehof

Visit hotel website
Traveller (216)
Room & Suite (46)
Video
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Like Stowe's cozy living room—furnished in beloved heirlooms, chalet nostalgia, and welcomed conversation—The Stowehof allows you to find yourself through a loss of routine, earnestly welcoming you to enjoy the geographic and cultural delights of each of Stowe's four seasons. Coming back to your room at The Stowehof is like coming home to your very own chalet. Comfortable and individually decorated, each of our rooms has exactly what you'll need after a day out on an Alpine adven Step into our intimate downstairs bar and restaurant, named after world-famous mountaineer and one-time resident of The Stowehof, Fritz Wiessner. We commemorate him at the Fritz Bar, with a casual Vermont Bavarian menu of locally-sourced foods, beers, and spirits. Start your day in our sunny mountain view Mansfield Room, where pre-adventure nourishment is provided daily in the form of a counter-style breakfast. Get energized with fresh coffee or delicious breakfast sandwiches with homemade english muffins.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Banquet Room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference Facilities
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Sauna
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Historic Hotel
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Price:Advance Purchase Save 20%
Hotel packages
261Reviews
256Photos
7Q+A
63Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 153
  • 57
  • 28
  • 18
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
A successful 3-day weekend at the Stowehof. Ten-member family, ranging from 4 to 88, all felt as if at a second home. Well-equipped rooms, warm and cozy public spaces, enjoyed pool/hot tub (fix the bubbles)/sauna, good breakfast/dinner, and kudos to staff - especially the
Read more
Response from Ryan K, General Manager at The Stowehof
Responded yesterday
Dear Ralph P, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us; it was truly our pleasure to host you and your family! I am so glad to see that you enjoyed the guest rooms, public space and hot tub (a new hot tub is in the works and can't wait for you to enjoy it the next time you visit with us!). I also appreciate you recognizing our amazing and hardworking team; without their dedication, positive attitudes and commitment to The Stowehof, we would not be able to provide guests like you with the amazing service that result in long-term positive family memories. Thank you again for your review and we'll look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Best regards, Ryan Krukar
Read more
Hotel's Favourite
This place has tons of character! My husband and I stayed 2 nights for a ski weekend. We had a King Deluxe on the first floor. Overall it's very clean and quiet. We did hear people walking upstairs in the morning but we were also up getting ready for the day so it's not a big
Read more
Response from Ryan K, General Manager at The Stowehof
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear CrisFM7, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our amazing guest spaces as well as our beautiful location in Stowe. Thank you again for your review and we will look forward to welcoming you back to The Stowehof in the future! Best regards, Ryan Krukar
Read more
My husband and I had stayed at the stowehof once before and found it so lovely and relaxing we decided to spend a week there this November for our honeymoon. Everything was perfect. The room was ideal, with a lovely view and a jacuzzi style tub. The staff was accommodating-
Read more
Response from Ryan K, General Manager at The Stowehof
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Jen M, Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your experience with us. Our goal is to meet and exceed the expectations of each and every one of our guests by offering fantastic customer service, comfortable accommodations, great food, all in a relaxed setting. In reading your review, it looks like we hit all of those marks. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us and we can't wait to welcome you back again. Best regards, Ryan Krukar
Read more
Words fail me! This is an old, obviously falling apart place far from downtown. We left and went elsewhere! Please....do not go here! You will be so disappointed! The whole place is so rundown...the restaurant was closed with only a small dank basement room serving drinks and
Read more
Response from Ryan K, General Manager at The Stowehof
Responded yesterday
Dear Pamela W, I am so sorry to read that you had a negative experience at The Stowehof last July. We aim to provide each and everyone of our guests with a truly unique and personalized experienced with authentic service and charm. I am sorry to see that we did not meet these expectations. I am a bit surprised, too, at the amount of time that has elapsed between your experience and the time you took to provide us with your feedback. Further, it also struck me as odd that you walked the grounds of the property, but apparently did not have a reservation or stay with us. I would certainly appreciate the opportunity to speak with you regarding your stay so that I can get a better understanding of how we can improve our already stellar guest experience. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me at any time and it will be my pleasure to have the opportunity to speak with you! Best regards, Ryan Krukar
Read more
The Stowehof Review Stowe Vermont Pros: Quaint Bavarian style villa, lots of fireplaces, beautiful lobby\lounge, good location to Stowe Ski Resort, decent food at the restaurant, friendly staff. Cons: Room noise\thin walls, overpriced paltry breakfast, slippery walkways\slip
Read more
Response from Ryan K, General Manager at The Stowehof
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear monolithtravels, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay at The Stowehof. I am so sorry to read that your experience with us over the recent Holiday time period was not acceptable as our goal is to deliver each and everyone of our guests with a special experience; clearly we did not deliver in this case. As I am sure that you understand, the holiday time period is a time in which hoteliers, inn keepers, and Air bnb'ers all charge their highest rates of the season. As such, we strive to offer a price point that provides our guests with a great value; for example, we include complimentary wifi (with some of the best uptime and connectivity statistics in Stowe), 24/7 coffee in our lobby, complimentary s'mores at our outdoor firepit nightly, special access and discounts to several vendors in town as a result of being our guest, and all without the standard Stowe "resort fees". These inclusions, coupled with the level of service we offer are something that our team prides itself on and I am sorry that we missed the mark with regards to your stay with us. Given that our property is a historic landmark in Stowe, there are certainly items pertaining to our physical plant that we know need to be addressed, of which, you mention the lack of sound proof insulation, which is something that our team will be addressing in the near future as we improve our room product. You also mention the non-functional fireplace in your guest room which is again, something that we are investigating to get it back to working order as they truly are excellent room amenities. I am also sorry to read of the issues you had with breakfast. As I was here each day we offered the buffet for breakfast, I am surprised to read your comments here as we continually replenished the buffet (most days we continued to replenish until well past the breakfast time period to be sure everyone had an opportunity to enjoy breakfast). With regards to the ice storm, we worked tirelessly to try and keep the parking lot sanded and safe, however, with the nonstop freeze thaw we experienced that week, it was a major challenge. I do apologize for the negative impact that this had on your stay as well as guest safety is our highest priority. I would very much like to have the opportunity to speak with you regarding your stay and I encourage you to reach out at your convenience should you wish to discuss your stay further (my phone number is 802-253-9722). Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your review and I hope to have the opportunity to earn back your business in the future as we would love for you to enjoy the true Stowehof experience. Best regards, Ryan Krukar
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
View from Room 28 balcony.
This was view from the Mountain View Room #44.
cute details like the archway and door
PreviousNext
12345610
If you contact the hotel they may tell you but i am on the Greek islands
0 votes
Show all answers
I don't know the answer to the weight room question. Don't remember seeing one. They have a nice website. Knowing Northern NH/VT like I do, don't think outdoor pool will be opened nor would you want to swim outside in October! They have indoor pool though, but again, their website probably has answer for sure.
0 votes
Show all answers
We didn't use the pool. I agree with the above post, our room was clean but very outdated and the Oriental décor was puzzling. We also had NO wifi at our end of the building, you may want to check on that as well.
0 votes
Show all answers
They were closed for the month of November, I thought they took care of all the carpet problems.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"Spring for a mountain view room! The view is worth it."
"Stay on the top floor as the walls are thin, better yet; stay someplace else."
"Standard King room offered a Murphy bed as well. I would call the front desk and simply ask them for a room which meets your expectations."
"Ask for a room facing the mountain"
"Go for King Room"
PreviousNext
12345613
PRICE RANGE
US$100 - US$262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
stowehof hotel stowe
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Stowehof Inn & Resort
LOCATION
United StatesVermontStowe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing