We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

798 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 793: English reviews
Hillsborough, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I am admittedly a neat freak when it comes to hotels, so I was not entirely surprised when I found mold in the bathtub drain. Renovations were underway while we there during Thanksgiving, so only one elevator was in service. Still, that was not a problem. The construction crew working at 8 a.m. on the floor directly above our room... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank 749constancel
Canton Center, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in room 107 with my family. Staff was very good and breakfast service and selection great. They were very accommodating to food allergies. Had to switch to another hotel because of cigarette smell in room. The potpourri did not solve the problem.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Glenn F
Michael E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review

Dear Glenn F, Thank you for the positive remarks regarding our staff and our breakfast services. I only wish that we could have delivered a problem-free experience throughout the duration of your visit. We are a 100% non-smoking establishment and while smoking occurrences are quite rare, there have been a few instances where visitors have chosen not to honor our... More 

Arlington, VA, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night after attending a football game. Good front desk experience and clean room. Nice lobby area to sit around with friends. We did eat the breakfast, although it looked fine. Would definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth M
Michael E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review

Dear Elisabeth M, Thanks for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville to host you during your football weekend. Hopefully the outcome of the game was favorable to you. I appreciate your kind words regarding our front desk staff and the cleanliness of our guest rooms. I will be certain to share that feedback with them. We definitely look forward to... More 

Leonardtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

So whilst the star rating is v low, we'd like to make clear that it's not due to the room quality or service. It's due solely to a really disappointing meal at the in house restaurant. We ordered a starter and two mains, which all came out together and none of it was anymore than store bought frozen food which... More 

Helpful?
Thank P W
Michael E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review

Dear P W, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville. I appreciate your positive feedback regarding our room quality and service levels. However I apologize that we did not meet your expectations in terms of dining experience. It is important to me that our dining establishment reflect what... More 

Goldens Bridge, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good but should have been excellent the price. Good location, great sized room. Staff was response to problems but there should not have been problems given the pride. No dishes in suite. No blankets or pillow cases for pullout. Not cleaned well between nights.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank MaryEM54
Michael E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review

Dear MaryEM54, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with me. I do understand that the Charlottesville market can get a little pricey this time of the year, particularly on football weekends. It is important to me that our guests feel that a dollar spent at our property is a dollar well spent. I apologize if this... More 

Cary, IL
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was fine - no issues. Location was good for us as it was close to my son's new apartment that he was moving into and transitioning from active duty military into his first civilian job in Charlottesville. Hotel made it all a little easier.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank jemew
Michael E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review

Dear jemew, I truly appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and our room accommodations. I also thank your son for his service and wish him well with his new opportunity. Charlottesville is a great town, I am sure he will enjoy it here. Thank you for letting HGI be a part of your visit to Charlottesville. We hope to... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights for a wedding and everything from check in to check out was perfect. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Shuttle service was excellent and drivers went out of their way to be helpful!!! Would definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Pat H
Eric L, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased that you had a wondwerful experience nand enjoyed our amenities. We certasinly hope to welcome you back in a near future. Sincerely, Eric L. More 

CONSHOHOCKEN, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

very welcoming staff .food very good.rooms clean.close to historical sites by car .shuttle to downtown.we had a great trip and the hotel employees were a big reason .very friendly and helpful .rooms were clean .

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Mark R
Eric L, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you were satisfied with the service and therefore had a wonderful experience. We hope to welcome you back in a near future. Sincerely, Eric L. More 

Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great property location, but rooms were worn. Windows were disgusting. Towels were thin. Shower not good. The bathtub did not drain well. Beds were comfortable and lighting was appropriate. Internet worked fine.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank N7299IBpaulap
Eric L, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are soory that the room was not to your satisfaction. As we just celebrated our 10 years anniversary, we are happy to say that mid-November we will be remodeling our rooms and we can't wait to see the final result by February. We hope that we will see you back then. Sincerely, Eric L. More 

Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

wonderful walking paths with good views surrounding the hotel. enjoyed them in the morning when i had a chance and in the afternoons as well. the hotel was spacious, the beds and pillows comfy, the view was great. the room was quiet and i felt safe.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Sarahr1010
Eric L, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the surroundings. We are happy to hear that you felt safe and that is our main goal. We hope to welcome you back in a near future. Sincerely, Eric L. More 

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
2.6 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,519 reviews
3.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
730 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
504 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
629 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#3 of 35 in Charlottesville
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville

Address: 1793 Richmond Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22911-3637
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Price Range: £88 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Charlottesville
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesville
#5 Family Hotel in Charlottesville
#5 Business Hotel in Charlottesville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room was not cheap, not sure if it was the time of year. First floor was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles yahootraveler64, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“the view of the lake is pretty”
 of 5 bubbles whereISthebeach?, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Clean. Comfortable. Good food”
 of 5 bubbles WolfgangHV, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We would not recommend staying there.”
 of 5 bubbles 481geraldc, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“It seems like you would have an excellent view from any room you booked.”
 of 5 bubbles anng86, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay