We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Marina Sands Resort

106/124 Moo 3 Klong Son Village, Ko Chang 23170 Thailand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (201)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (15)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#16 of 46 resorts in Ko Chang
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Overlooking a river, a yacht marina and lush tropical greenery, the secluded Marina Sands Resort is located within Siam Royal Bay, a large resort with combined 1.2 miles of beautiful beachfront, a golf course as well as numerous sports facilities and dining outlets. The luxurious Resort features a Riverview Restaurant to make every dinner on your vacation special. Afterward, enjoy the flybridge pool and bar or relax at the SPA. A fully equipped Gym is available for all hotel guests as well as a Kids Club. The 4-star resort welcomes you with great amenities, friendly services, and 6 spacious maritime-designed room types to choose from. These suites accommodate a single traveler up to a party of eight in a single room. All rooms are air-conditioned and come with flat-screen TVs and spacious en-suite bathrooms. Free, high-speed WiFi is also available throughout the property. Guests can enjoy some of the fun activities in Koh Chang including yoga, boxing, fishing, diving, kayaking, snorkeling, and Thai cookery classes. The closest beach is within walking distance, about 450 m from the property. Use the free in-resort shuttle to conveniently commute to all beaches, dining outlets and facilities. Marina Sands Resort is a great choice for travelers interested in tranquillity, peace, and family-friendly attractions.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Boating
Children's playground
Parking
Wifi
Infinity pool
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Canoeing
Diving
Golf course
Mini golf
Snorkelling
Water sport equipment rentals
Billiards
Fishing
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Highchairs available
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Thai
70Reviews1Q+A4Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 52
  • 12
  • 4
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
r2thebizel wrote a review 21 Feb
Pattaya, Thailand500 contributions191 helpful votes
+1
Lovely rooms and service in quite a vast resort. It’s not manicured to the best standard but is kept clean and has a stunning beach area. Too much plastic for a resort close to the sea however. Has some lovely hidden restaurants and areas to explore.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The site has 3 hotels: Marina Sands, Blue Haven and Peninsula so don’t be confused if you see...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Aravind Tr wrote a review Oct 2023
5 contributions2 helpful votes
terrible place to stay they will let you die in the room, will not providea bottle of water after 9 in the night the manager or duty asked to walk 1 km away frm the reaort to buy water from 7 eleven please kindly do not stay with them
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from D Becker, General Manager at Marina Sands Resort
Responded 8 Oct 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your stay with us and your review which we would like to commend as follows. We provide besides coffee and tea also water in your room every day free of charge. It is clearly stated on AGODA (where you booked through) that our front office and service time is daily between 6am and 9pm. (we do not have 24 hour front desk or room service) The number you called late evening was the MOD (manager on duty) number. The manager is not in house during the period but can assist 24 hours with help in any emergency case or urgent maintenance issues. The manager you called wasn't able to bring you additional water at that time but informed you that there is a 7-Eleven (open 24 hours) just 500m away from the hotel. Unfortunately there is nothing we can do except describe everything as clear as possible on AGODA to inform you upfront about our services and times. Thank you very much and have a nice day.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
WallaseyLjd wrote a review Jan 2023
Wallasey, United Kingdom23 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
We have just returned from a month at this lovely resort. It was amazing! The rooms are huge, bright, airy, spotless and have great views. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast was varied and plentiful and served literally on the beach. You can watch fish swimming and hear the waves- it’s a stunning location. There are 3 large pool areas to choose from. All are spotless, with plenty of Sun loungers, Bean bags, tables and chairs, bars and clean toilet/shower facilities. There are plenty of shaded areas to sit/lie in too! The beach is perfect for young children- as it is very long, shallow and sandy, but we swam every day in the sea- some days you just have to walk out quite a bit. There was some construction, maintenance and repair work going on around the resort while we were there, but this did not spoil our holiday at all. My favourite part was the Shambhala Beach Bar- it was absolutely gorgeous! The food and drink prices at the hotel were very reasonable (£5/£6 upwards for 2 meals and water) and there are also plenty of places to eat nearby, just outside the resort & along the main road. We ate mainly at the little restaurant just by the entrance to the hotel grounds (£3 for 2 main courses and a large bottle of water!) and also at Khun Tees on the main road (£4-£5 for the same). It is a 10-15 minute walk down to breakfast/beach area, but it’s a lovely walk through all the on-site villas, gardens and waterways. The oath is well paced and even and if you can’t manage the walk- reception are happy to send a golf buggy to collect you from outside your room. We would definitely come back here again!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: To get a place in the shade/get bean bag chairs- it’s best to find the spot you want before going...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vadim SRV, Owner at Marina Sands Resort
Responded 21 Aug 2023
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at our hotel! Your kind words and positive feedback truly made our day. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Providing our guests with exceptional service and a memorable experience is what we aim for, and it's heartwarming to know that we succeeded in making your visit special. Your feedback serves as an inspiration to our team, motivating us to continue delivering top-notch hospitality. We're delighted that you found our Shambhala Beach Bar to your liking. Your satisfaction is our ultimate reward. Once again, thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience with others. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. If you have any further comments or requests, please don't hesitate to reach out to us. Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lindsay wrote a review Apr 2021
Bangkok, Thailand197 contributions127 helpful votes
The hotel is in a beautiful location and is part of a large complex with a stunning beach. The bay is very calm with shallow waters so is perfect for children. There are two big swimming pools which our kids loved. The rooms are very spacious, modern and extremely clean. The breakfast was just okay, not much variety. Upon arrival we were escorted to a different building to complete our check in. Later during our stay when our key cards stopped working, my husband walked to this same building only to be told that reception was no longer there but back at Marina Sands. This reception was not staffed and it took a long time to find someone who could fix the key cards. Then one morning we went for breakfast at the Beach Club, where it had been for the first half of our stay, only to find everything shut there and no one around. Other guests were equally as confused as signage on the door said it would open at 8am. We all hung around until a passing golf cart driver told us breakfast had been moved to Marina Sands (where we had just traveled from!) Why not communicate this with your guests?! The Beach Club then didn’t open until 11 which was frustrating since there are no other options around. Some strange rules in ordering food - you cannot order a burger from the Beach Club but you can from the pool bar, even though they are less than ten steps apart and use the same kitchen. The waiting staff were all very helpful and polite but it was clear they were overwhelmed and understaffed during Songkran. Check out took a long time because the reception at Marina Sands was not staffed and again, a golf cart driver had to radio someone to come. We did enjoy our stay here but lack of communication with guests and between staff made some elements disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Garry A wrote a review Jan 2021
Bangkok, Thailand179 contributions51 helpful votes
stayed Marina Sands just 1 night in december 2020 , really enjoyed the stay , if you are taking your boat to K.Chang there is a small marina right next to the hotel but the river is pretty shallow in parts so best to plan at high tide , hotel located very close to the beach , a lovely secluded bay , the whole complex is huge so a golf cart is available to take you to the main reception , rooms very nice , large tv , safety box , fridge , bathroom , kettle tea & coffee with BIG cups which i loved !! 2 pools 1 next to the rooms and another larger pool located on the beach at the main reception , breakfast was very nice , restaurant just a couple mtrs from the sea so great place to eat , the only thing i did not like was that this complex was about 8 kilometres from white sands beach and the taxi was a little expensive at 500bht one way , 1000 bht return trip , there are shops about a 25 minute walk from the rooms , 7-11 , big C and a number of thai food shops where a motorbike can be rented , very peaceful, quiet ,relaxing place to stay if you are not looking for lots of nightlife !!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ralf Siegrist, Marketing at Marina Sands Resort
Responded 12 Jan 2021
Dear Garry, Thank you very much for your excellent and kind review! Your description really takes care of every nook and cranny at our resort, from the accommodation all the way to our facilities and restaurant. We thank you very much for your praise. Indeed, our location is more of a hideaway destination, and as you mentioned about 8 km from White Sands Beach. If you do not want to go through the hassle of negotiating with taxis (especially for the return trip to the resort), we do recommend the vehicle rentals that can be requested from our reception. We hope to welcome you again in the near future, should you look for an uninterrupted and peaceful stay in Koh Chang in the near future. Greetings from Sunny Koh Chang! Ralf, Marketing Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Luisa M wrote a review Nov 2020
2 contributions
The rooms are spacious and clean. Good place to stay in when in Koh Chang. They got friendly staff and good Filipino Manager named Ms.Jonna. Really enjoyed our stay in this resort! Awesome resort❤️🙏👌
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ralf Siegrist, Marketing at Marina Sands Resort
Responded 2 Dec 2020
Dear Luisa, Thank you so much for your great and generous review! It is with great pleasure that we could offer quality service and accommodation to you and make your stay a memorable one. Rest assured that our staff and our Operations Manager Jonna are informed of your kind words of encouragement. We really hope to host you again in the very near future at Marina Sands Resort Koh Chang Greetings from Sunny Koh Chang! Ralf, Marketing Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MajM_00 wrote a review Nov 2020
19 contributions13 helpful votes
A newly built resort with a spacious room and amazing mountain and river view. This resort is situated less than 5 mins drive from the pier. Several small local restaurants and convenient stores are available outside. They have 2 swimming pool options, the rooftop swimming pool and the beach front. They also have this small riverside cafe with a super chill vibe. They also have their complimentary kayak and SUP from here. The building is quite a walk to the beach, but they have a shuttle service that's just one call away. The beach front restaurant has a stunning sunset view. The beach was also good for swimming. The staff were all awesome specially Khun Jonna who made sure that we'll have a pleasant stay. Thank you guys for the amazing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ralf Siegrist, Marketing at Marina Sands Resort
Responded 2 Dec 2020
Dear MajM_00, Thank you so much for your kind and very observative review of our resort. We are glad that you could enjoy the resort in its entirety and made good use of our facilities and surroundings during your stay, whether these were in the swimming pools, water activities inside our bay, or a culinary treat from our Beach Club Restaurant. Our staff and Operations Manager Jonna have been informed of your very kind words. We also hope that you will return in the near future, as we are very happy to host you during your vacations again at Marina Sands Resort. Sunny greetings from Koh Chang! Ralf, Marketing Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nada D wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions
You would get everything from here. Awesome scenery, good atmosphere, many fun activities. This hotel and all kind stuff provides you an excellent service. Breakfast was so good. Last day we forgot our sunglasses at the beach so we called staff and asked them to find it. They all helped us find it everywhere not just only in the room. Finally, they found it at the beach that was a bit far from our building and they sent back to us. We were so impressed with this warm and kind service. Especially Khun Oum, Khun Sprite and Khun Jeeb and the man who helped us bring the bag to the room. Thank you so much.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ralf Siegrist, Marketing at Marina Sands Resort
Responded 2 Nov 2020
Dear Nada, Thank you so much for your kind words and excellent review. Our team is delighted to see such satisfaction from our guests. It is our pleasure to provide our guests with a satisfactory service throughout with facilities and nature as a plus. We are very glad that our staff could assist you in searching thoroughly for your belongings. What more can we say than Khob Khun on behalf of the entire Marina Sands Resort staff. We hope to welcome you again soon in the nearest future! Sunny greetings from Koh Chang Ralf Marketing Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Iarca C wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution
Marina Sand has a good location, close to the piers. The staff is very friendly. Excellent breakfast. We also enjoy Saturday barbeque. The resort has 2 nice swimmingpools. The Beach bar has a great italian chef, Alberto.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ralf Siegrist, Marketing at Marina Sands Resort
Responded 9 Sept 2020
Dear iarcac, Thank you so much for your excellent review! It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed the long weekend holidays with us. Our Seafood BBQ at the moment are very exclusive to those long weekends and it is great to see that you enjoyed it as well. We assure you that your praise is communicated to Alberto and the team. We look forward to welcome you again at Marina Sands Resort on your next trip to Koh Chang! Greetings from Koh Chang Ralf Marketing Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Amatizta wrote a review Mar 2020
Stockholm, Sweden16 contributions7 helpful votes
Nice hotel in Siam Bay Resort located at the Marina. We got a clean and nice room with a view to the pool and a large bathroom. You have to walk to the beach around 600m. There is a great shuttle bus that takes you around the area, Especially great during evenings when it gets dark. Quiet beach with beautiful sunsets. Unfortunately there aren’t so many restaurants in the area, and the restaurant isn’t good at all for a vegetarian. The staff do their best but the receptionists really need to improve their English to avoid misunderstandings.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ralf Siegrist, Marketing at Marina Sands Resort
Responded 20 Mar 2020
Dear Amatizta, Thank you very much for your kind review! We are glad that you enjoyed our rooms, facilities and surrounding locations. We hope to always be a perfect getaway option for anybody looking for peace and tranquility - away from mass tourism. We apologize for the sparse selection of purely vegetarian dishes. Rest assured that Thai food can be adjusted for vegetarian guests, and our staff would be more than happy to find a dish that would suit your taste. We also apologize for any misunderstandings, we are trying our best to train our staff as best as possible, especially the newcomers. We hope that you will choose Marina Sands Resort again in the near future! Greetings from Sunny Koh Chang! Ralf Marketing Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ko Chang area.
PRICE RANGE
£45 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ThailandTrat ProvinceKo Chang
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MARINA SANDS RESORT - Updated 2024 (Ko Chang, Thailand)

Frequently Asked Questions about Marina Sands Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Marina Sands Resort?
Nearby attractions include King Tailor (4.8 miles), Khlong Prao Beach (5.0 miles), and White Sand Beach (2.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Marina Sands Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Marina Sands Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Marina Sands Resort?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Marina Sands Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Marina Sands Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pizza King Express, Ciao Koh Chang, and Taste of India.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Marina Sands Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Marina Sands Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Marina Sands Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Marina Sands Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Marina Sands Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Thai.
Is Marina Sands Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.