We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport

02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 108: English reviews
Start your review of Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here from Jan - march, I just go to work and come back to the hotel to sleep... If you're looking for like a 5 star hotel this isn't it buddy.. the beds are smaller than what I'm used to.. it's definitely not a queen.. and I think it's a little smaller than a full. There was only 1...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
Bandera, Texas
Reviewed 1 January 2017

My expectations were pretty high for this place based on my experience with other Candlewood Suits that I've stayed at in other locations. Positive: Price was right for the room we got Close to restaurants, groceries stores and a Starbucks... :o) Comfortable rooms and comfortable beds Nice kitchen area...fully stocked with plates, cups, etc. Not So Positive: No room for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, responded to this review

Hi Kelly S, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and leaving feedback. I regret to know that the lack of hotel amenities like pool and breakfast negatively affected your impression of our property. I am sorry that the soundproofing of the room you were provided was also a set back. These are not the standards that we aim...

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Would not recommend this hotel. Door lock was broken (looked tampered with), tv didn't work, was put in a smoking room as a non-smoker and left with a feeling that all my luggage smelled of smoke. Wanted to chat with the staff on it and found her sleeping at the front desk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skiteri
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, responded to this review

Dear skiteri, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, VA. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. We are always happy to provide a consistently clean, comfortable and courteous place for our guests. However, on this occassion, we fell below of your expectations due to the...

Ellenwood, GA
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Stayed at the Candlewood Suites for two nights. The hotel was ok, but could use renovating. Housekeeping doesn't change the towels or clean your room daily. For the amount, they should at least empty the trash. There was no clock in the room. However, the beds were clean and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ROWM2002
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, responded to this review

Dear ROWM2002, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Allow me to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to shortfalls on our housekeeping services. We always strive to provide our guests with comfortable accommodations and we regret that we did not meet some of your expectations....

Cape Charles, Virginia
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We booked with Candlewood for one night prior to a very early flight at Norfolk International Airport. The check in was quick and efficient. The room was clean, but a smoking room. The shuttle was prompt and professional. Our experience was easy and economical.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank togo_11_11
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Nice enough hotel.. but no breakfast and for the cost, it needs to be included. Car alarm was going off and on for 3 hours in front of the hotel but thankfully it stopped before 10pm. The chair in the room is beyond worn. It is obvious that several times the room has been checked and yet someone thought, "that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bzybee08
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, responded to this review

Dear bzybee08, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased to know that you found our hotel nice and I am sorry if you were disappointed that we do not have breakfast. We do not have a restaurant on site thus we do not provide breakfast, but...

Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

I checked into my room and found that I had no chairs. Not a singe chair in my room. I called the front desk and asked for a chair. They said that no one was available to bring one up to me. But I could come down to their conference room and take one up if I needed to sit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charles K
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, responded to this review

Dear Charles K, Thank you for writing a review on our hotel. Our goal is to deliver exceptional service and comfortable accommodations, and we appreciate your business with us. However, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience the lack of chair in the room may have caused you. The situation you have described about the level of assistance received fell below...

Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewed 26 July 2016

I come once a month enjoy the staff and the day gm is the bomb. the hotel is clean and the staff in general is there for you. the night shift is more responsible and are more available to assist you if anything goes wrong

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank outter1
China Grove
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

Always busy an inexpensive. However, this franchise does not live up tongue standards of IHG. The staff are hot or cold. Some are awesome and others are cold as ice and don't want to be there. The rooms are not kept up, some have damage, others have broken a/c units. Just not what I expected!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

The reviews say the hotel is clean. 😒. It's not thoroughly clean. The night stand had something sticky on it and the tub had bar soap residue on the tub shelf. The beds are basic. Hope you don't have back issues. The recliner and office chairs in the room were old and had crumbling vinyl upholstery(see photos). The other chair...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JL000
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, responded to this review

Dear JL000, Thank you for leaving a candid review about our hotel on TripAdvisor. We value each feedback as this will allow us to identify the areas that may benefit from our additional attention. Rest assured that the cleanliness of our rooms and our property, in general, has always been our main priority and it is disheartening to learn that...

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
1.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Lanham, Maryland, United States
over a year ago
Lanham, Maryland, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on the top floor so you don't hear the room above you.”
 of 5 bubbles L7027TBkellys, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“pick the 3rd floor”
 of 5 bubbles outter1, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles yellowbird1212, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“West end is close to the BBQ grills”
 of 5 bubbles Panamaannie, 18 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Twin queens appeared to be a larger room”
 of 5 bubbles NYMako, 3 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
CandlewoodSuitesUS$105
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates