Hotel Bernat II
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Bernat II

Traveller (490)
Panorama of the Pool at the Hotel Bernat II
360
Panoramas (1)
Hotel Bernat II - Piscina
Pool & Beach (72)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#9 of 39 hotels in Calella
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hotel Bernat II is a four-star hotel specially designed for family holidays. It is located in the residential area of Calella a few metres from the beach and five minutes from the shopping centre.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Bar / lounge
Beach
Game room
Kids pool
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Highchairs available
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Hammam
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 5 more

Location

Carrer de Montserrat, 08370 Calella Spain
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 87 out of 100
87
Barcelona-El Prat Airport
36.6 mi
See all flights
Costa Brava Airport
21.4 mi
See all flights
861Reviews70Q+A42Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 318
  • 309
  • 137
  • 55
  • 42
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Arthur H wrote a review Sept 2022
51 contributions92 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The food was excellent every day. It was varied and utterly delicious and would satisfy any taste. Perhaps the management may want to consider a 6.30 pm start for dinner as some mornings at breakfast I was still full as the food was that delicious . The rooms were cleaned spotlessly each day and the reception staff were always cheerful and helpful. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Please try it. Calella is a very quaint place with something for everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: I e-mailed to ask for twin rooms and they obliged,so if you ask,this hotel will do everything to...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Bernat II Calella, Marketing at Hotel Bernat II
Responded 29 Sept 2022
Thank you very much for your review Arthur! Comments like yours are what help us to improve every day, we're very glad that you had such a pleasant stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BluFast wrote a review Oct 2021
Manchester, United Kingdom173 contributions37 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for 4 nights. I had been to the region before but not stayed here, I saw this hotel and liked the look of it, so upon my return visit, I stayed here.

I was on the top floor room 506. It was brilliant. The way the balconies are shaped in zig-zig triangular format means I got sun on there all day and you don't see your neighbours. The room is cosy and modern. There was a fridge with bottled water, comfy bed and table with TV. Bathroom had a bath, toilet, bidet and shower. I did find the bathroom door kept opening on its own accord but it didn't bother me too much. If I could make one change here it would be the packet shampoo/shower gels, they are difficult to open and isn't much in them. Little bottles would be better and could even be refilled and avoiding extra plastic use.

The dinner and breakfasts are fab here. It is original buffet style. What I loved about this hotel is that they haven't hidden behind covid and used it as an excuse to reduce your availability of food/buffet. It is all as it would have been pre Covid (just the mask wearing that's different) and it was a pleasure to see this as it should be. The choice is great and the atmosphere was good.

The staff were friendly and the bar drinks are cheaply priced, cost less than going to cafes in town.

Overall I would fully recommend this hotel and happily stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Bernat II Calella, Marketing at Hotel Bernat II
Responded 28 Oct 2021
Thank you very much!! The comments like yours makes us feel very proud. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay that much. We hope to see you soon :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AX2100 wrote a review May 2024
London, United Kingdom16 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Staying at this hotel right now, family with young kids. Excellent hotel, they do full board (not all inclusive) but drinks prices are reasonable. Breakfast includes coffee and juices in full board. Water with dinner is €2.50 for a little bottle. Excellent Estrella lager is €2.10 for 330ml bottle. Wine bottle around €10-14. Food is excellent, staff keep replenishing the buffet. Beware that large French teenage school groups come here and they queue up on the buffet, but they are very well behaved and the restaurant is very welcoming even with so many teenagers. Seems French teachers are great! Hotel is well maintained. Location is excellent, 1 minute walk to the beach, 5 minutes to main shopping area, a street that is few miles long & pedestrianised. Train station is 10 minutes walk from where you can take train to Barcelona for a day trip or for a few hours. Return ticket to Barcelona is €11.80 but family of 4 can get a family ticket for €37, there are no children's tickets so everyone is classed as an adult. Beware that this family ticket is only available from ticket machine and not window, ask Renfe train guys in yellow jackets to help buy from machine. Hotel has lovely small pool and adjacent kids pool, key word being small. Please understand that there are resort hotels in resorts that are larger with larger rooms and pools. Bernat II is a city type smaller hotel with smaller rooms, restaurant and pool but it's in a lovely resort town of Calella, so rather than stay inside all day in a resort hotel, you can step out between breakfast and lunch and again after lunch and have a varied time around town without taking cabs or public transport. There is local road bus that takes you around all old town and covers most hotels for €3 adults and €1.50 kids. Hotel staff very friendly, cleaning staff excellent, reception very helpful, all speak good English. They don't push you to buy drinks. There is no pressure to tip. Overall this place is better than city centre and resort hotels with benefits of both types. We booked package through easyJet with transfers included from Barcelona, beware that landing at Terminal 2C and waking to terminal 2B for transfer bus takes 15 minutes with your luggage, buggies and kids in a trolley, but not that difficult. Overall, highly recommended. I think Bernat II has excellent management to maintain such high standards, good work guys.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ask for connecting rooms for families which have sliding doors between rooms, both rooms have...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Bernat II Calella, Marketing at Hotel Bernat II
Responded 13 May 2024
Dear AX2100, thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed and positive review of your experience at our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We're happy that you found our location convenient, with easy access to the beach, shopping area, and train station for day trips to Barcelona. It's wonderful to hear that our staff members have been friendly, helpful, and proficient in English. Thank you very much for sharing your comment. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards. Hotel Bernat II.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chi186411 wrote a review Aug 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom42 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
So hotel reception looks nice on arrival and two male staff members were friendly. Upon arriving in our room it was nothing like the pictures, (room 114) old, musty smell, poor lighting most likley to hide the dated decor. Two single beds and one small camper bed, which was very uncomfortable. We asked to change to a more modern room with adaquate lighting and we were moved in the morning. The rooms in the 400’s seem much newer, fresher paint and bigger however a terrible sewer smell lingers.

Balconys not very clean and the cleaning staffs version on cleaning is, spreading the bed, mopping the floor and wiping the sink. The toilet was never cleaned and to say extra measures were put in place for covid is a joke.

Unable to have a late check out, which was a shame as our flight was quite late, no sympathy from the staff, simply pack up and vacate. When I queried about a late check out, the first receptionist said “it will be quite expensive”, which was quite rude. I checked again a few hours later to be told another reason as to why we couldnt check out late.

Food: blande, limited variety and not much taste. Repetative foods, breakfast was the worst. We lived off fruit and desert due to the lack of taste.
This is not a 4 star, some of the restaurant staff can be rude at times, our group felt un-easy at times, as some staff were not welcoming at all (not all)

The hotel lacks moderness. The spa was nice and clean, if the spa standard was replicated through out the hotel it may just be a four star. Would I return again, not even if you paid me.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Bernat II Calella, Marketing at Hotel Bernat II
Responded 26 Aug 2020
We always say that it is the feedback from our customers that helps us to improve our services and facilities. We are always grateful for them and when for any reason, on some occasion, we have not been able to meet the customer's expectations, we have always tried to give the corresponding explanations. In this case the answer, notwithstanding us, has to be different. You titled your comment "The negatives outweigh the positives". We could title our response "Lies outweigh truths". We cannot accept that it is not true to say that in one week the toilet in the room was not cleaned and that the measures we have implemented to prevent the spread of Covid-19 are a joke. Since the first day of reopening the hotel we have said that our main objective was to ensure the safety of both our workers and customers and therefore we have implemented all necessary protocols following the guidelines and recommendations of the Spanish Institute of Quality Tourism in coordination with the Ministry of Health. Fortunately, at the time, we hired an external laboratory to accompany us in the implementation of the new protocols and to subsequently verify the correct execution of all of them. On the 12th we received the corresponding certification which we attached. Nor can we accept everything you tell us about the meal, especially the breakfast. The cold part of our buffet offers : nine different varieties of bread, nine of pastries, seven of sausages, four of cheeses, pate, four varieties of jam and cereals, honey, cocoa cream, yoghurts, and seasonal fruit (melon, watermelon, banana, apple, orange, pear and plums). And as far as the hot and show cooking part is concerned this is what it offers : country sausages, frankfurts, beans with tomato, chistorra, bacon, fried eggs, omelette to taste, pancakes, hard-boiled eggs, grilled vegetables, white rice and pasta. With all this offer we cannot accept their claim that they live off fruit. Nor can we accept the adjective you use with our staff. From the restaurant Fortunately you can check the comments of the customers in other portals and you can see how our staff is one of the best assets we have. And finally, we cannot accept, not least because we lack modernity. Reception, Hall, Spa, Restaurant, Kitchen, Lifts and Rooms have been renovated in recent years giving an absolutely modern and current touch to all facilities.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Liz D wrote a review Sept 2023
3 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is not a 4 star Hotel, when we arrived our room was ready so they let us go on up the room was on the second floor the corridors are decorated In dark wood as are the floors which make them look very dated. The room had a small window and was painted a dark burgundy which made the room very dark, the paint was dirty furniture chipped and old, the balcony was small and overlooked every other balcony one queen size bed and a single bed that wasn’t needed if that was taken out of the room it would make it look bigger, I can’t agree with the other comments about cleanliness, beds were made and towels changed that was about it, the restaurant is like a free for all people pushing and shoving and leaning over you instead of politely saying excuse me, breakfast the usual ran out of fried eyes and omelettes and the chef that was cooking them was never in a hurry to cook some more so would be stood there waiting a while, unless they were freshly cooked all the food was warm at best, not much variety food wise and it was bland and boring. Desserts were 2 types of cake or a fruit pie, mousse or creme caramel I think as well as ice cream, the mist annoying thing is why is the fruit refrigerated apples, peaches, plums, grapes and kiwi should not be kept cold, they were to hard to eat, adult entertainment didn’t see any, reception staff were helpful. The beach is lovely and Calella itself is a beautiful place they have some really nice shops and cafes just beware of the beggars as they are very persistent they are nit homeless or hungry they are an organised group don’t be fooled. The other problem there are pigeons everywhere thousands of them if your caught feeding them you will be fined there are notices up warning you. All in all we were out and about Train to Barcelona €11 return standing room only on trains the journey is over an hour long and Barcelona has become very dirty, smelly and full of pickpockets and beggars. I personally found the locals very rude and ill mannered so this will be my last trip to Spain.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Beware the beggars
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Bernat II Calella, Marketing at Hotel Bernat II
Responded 27 Oct 2023
Dear Guest, We regret that your stay was not completely satisfactory. We would have liked to hear from you during your stay as we are sure that we would have been able to offer you an alternative that would have been to your liking. We are surprised by your assessment of our buffet since our guests usually rate it very favourably as can be seen in the more than 2,200 comments published on the various portals. Thank you. Best regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emily S wrote a review 8 Jun
Honiton, United Kingdom7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from our first family holiday abroad (having travelled alot pre kids) and stayed at the hotel bernat. It is an amazing hotel!
The whole hotel is spotless and modern. Our room was perfect with 2 x double beds and balcony overlooking the pool.
All the staff were friendly and helpful, especially the young male waiter who was there most days and one of the restaurant hosts (male, curly hair!). The cleaners do a great job freshening up the rooms everyday and the reception staff were always happy to help.
I used the spa once which was lovely.
This was our first holiday with food included so I have no base for comparison, but we thought it was fantastic! Lots of variety, fresh, yummy! All the restaurant staff work so hard and it's a lovely place to eat. They made us a free packed lunch and breakfast a few times during the week when we were out for the day/catching an early flight home which we really appreciated.
The swimming pool was perfect for us, the boys spent most of the time in the smaller kids pool.
Location is great, just a couple minutes walk from the beach and a short walk from the town centre, both of which were lovely!
Calella is well connected, and we took the train direct to both Barcelona and Girona for day trips which were brilliant.
There is a land train which goes around Calella and stops right outside the hotel which the boys loved.
We couldn't have asked for more for our first family holiday - thank you hotel bernat!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The restaurant is busiest when it opens at 730pm, so best to go after 8 to avoid queues.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Bernat II Calella, Marketing at Hotel Bernat II
Responded 1 week ago
Daer Emely S., Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that your first family holiday abroad was such a success and that you chose Hotel Bernat for your stay. We're delighted that you found our hotel spotless and modern, and that your room with double beds and a balcony overlooking the pool was perfect for your family. It's great to hear that our staff, especially the young male waiter and the restaurant host, made a positive impression on you with their friendliness and helpfulness. Our housekeeping team takes pride in maintaining the cleanliness of our rooms, and we're pleased that you appreciated their efforts. We're also glad to hear that our reception staff and the spa met your expectations. It's fantastic to know that you enjoyed the food variety and quality, and that our restaurant staff contributed to a pleasant dining experience. We're happy that the packed lunches and early breakfasts were helpful during your outings and early flights. We're glad the swimming pool was a hit with your boys and that the location of our hotel, being close to the beach and town center, added to your enjoyment. It's wonderful that you took advantage of Calella's connectivity for day trips to Barcelona and Girona, and that the land train was a fun experience for your family. Thank you for choosing Hotel Bernat for your first family holiday. We hope to welcome you back for many more stays in the future! Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lee C wrote a review Jul 2023
6 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We've just got back from a 10 day stay at the hotel. The weather was hot and it was a 1st time in Calella for us. Not knowing what to expect we assumed the area was on par with a Llorets de Mar etc and it was. The hotel was one of the best in area. It was clean, the staff were great, communal areas were great too. Air con was effective (we needed it).. The pool was small and used by the children and older kids and only a few beds are available but that didnt affect us, we went to the beach every day. The beach is a 5 min walk with shops on the way for supplies. The town centre was 5 mins in a different direction. The area is a typical coastal resort. Drinks and food are surprisingly very cheap. We went to Barcelona for a day on a bus that cost 5euros each way!!!! Be careful the sun beds on the beach are expensive, for a family of 3 with a parasol it was 29 euros per day! We quickly purchased a parasol and layed on the beach. The hotel does do a special rate too but we didnt see this til the last day! We were half board and the food was good. They tried to vary it up but did become slightly repetative. Avoid the dinner at opening time, was like feeding time at the zoo as all the children descended leaving their parents presumably to have a nice dinner later, couple this with the fact no one knows how to queue it becomes very chaotic. Overall was a very nice holiday, nice hotel and great weather! Happy family all round!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Small pool, ask the reception for offers, beach lovers should just buy a parasol (or ask...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Bernat II Calella, Marketing at Hotel Bernat II
Responded 12 Jul 2023
leecN5500KH, we are glad to read that you and your family had a happy holiday at our hotel and that you enjoyed the good weather and pleasant experiences such as visiting Barcelona. We take note of your comments about the variety of the food and the price of the sun loungers. Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. We hope you will choose us again in the future. Best regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lee D wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I would rate this hotel as 3 star based on a few relevant factors. We stayed full board and found the food to be repetitive and bland each evening to be honest. Cheap cuts of meat, god knows how many potato variations on offer? Even the soup was Potato. Lol
I found the breakfast trays were not changed frequently, so often eggs, sausages Etc luke warm at best. On the plus side, I will say that my partner enjoyed the salad selection on offer most evenings. I also thought the desserts were quite nice on occasion

The outdoor pool is very small, more of a garden pond. The indoor spa?? Has no gym, again a very small pool and the sauna and hammam were too cool to see any real benefit. Disappointing for me on the whole as the training facilities are important to me.

The website pic's give the impression that this hotel is right on the beach. It is not although only a short walk away.

The staff in the hotel are all friendly and helpful. The restaurant staff, bar staff all very pleasant.However, it is expensive. 30 Euros for a gin (double) and bailey's. 12 Euros for a 1 hour session at set times for the Spa (non inclusive) 57 Euros to extend the room for 6 hours on the final day Etc...

I guess the endorsement that counts is would we return to the hotel bernat II and sadly for us the answer would be no.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Bernat II Calella, Marketing at Hotel Bernat II
Responded 29 Apr 2024
Dear Lee and Gwen, we appreciate your evaluation of our staff (friendly and helpful) while regretting that your stay was not entirely satisfactory. We are surprised by your comments about the buffet since we usually receive compliments, especially regarding breakfast. As we always say, we would have liked if some issues had been brought to our attention during your stay, as we are confident that we could have addressed them. We thank you for your feedback as it will help us improve our services and facilities. Thank you. Best regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
barryA1 wrote a review Nov 2021
6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
good hotel food very good rooms cleaned every day king size beds very comfy .Only drawback was the price of spirits 10 euros for a brandy! Five minute walk to beach ten minute stroll to town centre. Would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: best rooms over pool
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Bernat II Calella, Marketing at Hotel Bernat II
Responded 17 Jan 2022
Thank you so much! Have a nice day and a great 2022 :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
corina g wrote a review Oct 2022
Western Ireland, Ireland62 contributions54 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had booked for four people to spend a week in this beautiful hotel. Unfortunately, due to a bereavement, I ended up travelling solo and having only a 5 night stay. The hotel was fantastic and provided us with a voucher in lieu of the cancelled room, despite us being well outside of the cancellation window, and crucially did so without us even having to ask!! Clearly, they treat their guests with fairness and kindness. We really appreciate this. Hotel itself is beautiful. I had a room on the 5th floor. Loved the modern décor; cream and beige tones, really conducive to rest and relaxation. Lighting in room is excellent. Very comfortable beds and bedding and the hotel is spotlessly clean. Great shower and toiletries provided. They even provide beach towels on request at reception which is fantastic. Food for breakfast, lunch and dinner was excellent; great quality food with large buffet selection, also live cooking for each meal. I honestly do not know how they do it for the price paid. Location is excellent, 2 mins walk to beach, 3 mins to the town centre. Felt like a very safe area, even after dark. Spa is fabulous! Staff are generally very friendly and customer orientated. In particular, Gerhard in reception is very sweet and funny! One negative experience with a staff member in the dining room who very rudely and abruptly moved me halfway through my lunch from the conservatory area of the dining room, despite me and several guests having sat there the previous day. But she was in no way reflective of the overall customer service orientation at the hotel. Thank you so much to everybody for looking after me on my solo holiday at the Bernat ii and look forward already to coming back next April/May.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Bernat II Calella, Marketing at Hotel Bernat II
Responded 18 Oct 2022
Thank you very much for your review Corina. Although we regret that you finally had to travel alone, and the incident with the restaurant staff member, we are very glad that we met your expectations of the hotel and that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for choosing us, and we hope to see you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
margaret a wrote a tip 11 Jun
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Tossa de mar is a good day trip out"
Read full review
Emily S wrote a tip 8 Jun
Honiton, United Kingdom7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The restaurant is busiest when it opens at 730pm, so best to go after 8 to avoid queues. "
Read full review
AX2100 wrote a tip May 2024
London, United Kingdom16 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for connecting rooms for families which have sliding doors between rooms, both rooms have separate TVs but one bath. "
Read full review
Liz D wrote a tip Sept 2023
3 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beware the beggars "
Read full review
Lee C wrote a tip Jul 2023
6 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Small pool, ask the reception for offers, beach lovers should just buy a parasol (or ask reception for any that have been left behind). "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Calella area.
PRICE RANGE
£59 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bernat ii hotel
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of BarcelonaCalella
NUMBER OF ROOMS
137
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL BERNAT II - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Bernat II
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Bernat II?
Nearby attractions include Bowling Golf (0.09 miles), BoB's Disco (0.1 miles), and Xiringuito 9 (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Bernat II?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Bernat II?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Bernat II?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Bernat II?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Bernat II?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bar Restaurant Tierra del fuego, The Taj, and Kurkuma Indian Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Bernat II?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hotel Bernat II located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Calella.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Bernat II?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Bernat II offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Bernat II?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Polish.
All Calella HotelsCalella Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CalellaHotels near Hotel Bernat II
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire