KAKTUS Hotel Volga
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

KAKTUS Hotel Volga

Traveller (576)
Panorama of the Privilege Room at the Hotel Volga
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (266)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 39 hotels in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Hotel Volga is located in the city center, about 50km from Barcelona and Girona. It is at 100m from the beach and 2 minutes from downtown, with shops, restaurants, bars and many tourist attractions. It's also near the train station, at only 50m, which connects with Barcelona city , the airport and around the coastal area, is the perfect place to relax and explore the area. The hotel has a pool and terrace with sun loungers, sun umbrellas and bar service, WIFI throughout the building, air conditioning, heating and parking (on request). We also have a spacious restaurant, you will find a Free buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as our famous Theme Nights. The hotel also offers a Beach Club on the Beach with special offers and promotions for hotel guests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Evening entertainment
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Concierge
Wifi
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Telephone
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, Catalan

Location

Carrer de Jovara 350, 08370 Calella Spain
Name/address in local language
779Reviews65Q+A95Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 458
  • 221
  • 70
  • 19
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Wendy J wrote a review Mar 2020
Monmouthshire, United Kingdom182 contributions137 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were holidaying with Leger and our drivers Kate and Gary gave us a taste of the Spanish Coast, we stayed at the Volga Hotel a lovely hotel situated on the corner of some very narrow streets, the coach could drop off on arrival and pick up on departure only as the hotel was near two Schools, a hotel minibus was available to take those with walking difficulty to the main coach for trips out daily, I was very grateful to the hotel to provide this service and the drivers were very helpful, the shops and cafes etc were very close to the hotel.
We had a lovely modern room with balcony overlooking the pool area with TV, tea and coffee making facilities, comfortable beds, bathroom with walk in shower with everything you needed, very good housekeeping. Lift to all floors.
The restaurant was on a lower floor via lift or stairs, we had wine and water with our evening meal and the service was buffet style the choice of foods was tremendous such a selection of hot and cold food and cakes every evening and breakfast the same all cooked perfectly.
We had entertainment in the bar and all the staff throughout the hotel was very helpful and friendly.
Kate and Gary took us out every day for some lovely trips we visited Tossa De Mar, Lloret De Mar, Blanes, a full day in Barcelona with an optional guided sightseeing tour with a very knowledgeable guide, and an optional excursion to Montserrat and the famous Benedictine monastery surrounded by spectacular scenery. The hotel provided us with a packed lunch every day, the optional excursions are well worth doing, we thoughrly enjoyed our Spanish Highlights, and had a lovely holiday at the Volga Hotel 😊😊
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lovebeachholidays wrote a review Oct 2023
uk8 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just spent a week at this hotel as we wanted a central hotel near to the Ironman event as we were out there supporting our son and his tri club, we booked this following reviews on this site for location. it was perfect , practically opposite the bike transition, there were plenty of the athletes staying in the hotel , who provided a very early breakfast from 5 am on race day. We booked a week as we wanted to make the most of the last of the sun, the hotel was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was excellent, great choice of cooked and cold everyday, the staff were friendly and welcoming. Our room was spacious and clean , the shower was large with plenty of hot water and towels. The hotel wasn’t busy as it’s near the end of the season , the pool area was well kept and access to the bar for snacks and drinks. The train station was a short walk away with easy frequent trains to Barcelona, very cheap and efficient.If you are supporting or competing in Ironman 2024 perfect central hotel
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ana Ruiz, Other at KAKTUS Hotel Volga
Responded 1 Nov 2023
Hello lovebeachholidays, Thank you very much for your excellent evaluation. We are very happy to know that we have met your expectations during your stay at the Volga Hotel. Our main objective is to make our guests' experience unique and unforgettable and to this end we put all our commitment and dedication on our part. Especially for this event in which our clients not only enjoy their stay but also must give their best in the competition. Thank you very much again and we hope to see you very soon, Ana Ruiz Quality Manager, Kaktus Hotels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ms-savvy wrote a review Jul 2022
United Kingdom30 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First, I wanted to thank the excellent reception staff who were all so helpful and concerned when my sons suitcase didnt turn up for 3 days (cant say the same for easyjet!!!). Also for changing my sons room so it was next to mine (another easyjet fail…). Our rooms had brilliant views over the sea (516 and 517) and on the balconies we enjoyed playing connect 4, looking at the sea and the amazing red moon rise then glisten over the water. All the staff we came across at the hotel were brillant. Even when i wanted an early espresso one morning, someone was summoned to get me one. Thanks. The breakfasts were very good, and even though we only ate twice at the evening buffet, it was also excellent. An added bonus was the included bottle of wine - which ended up in my room fridge lasting a few days. Nui beach was a lovely place to spend the day. All in all, if i ever come back to Calella (i have a friend who lives nearby who i met up with) - i would definitely stay at hotel volga again. Literally got home about an hour ago and am sitting in my garden in the hot sun wishing i could go into the sea…
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: All pool view rooms get sea view except maybe lower 2 floors. If evening sun is yr thing - get...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lovetotravel8894 wrote a review Jun 2023
Worcestershire, United Kingdom79 contributions102 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Really good hotel . On the seafront, conveniently located near to the railway station. Spacious bedroom and balcony with excellent shower . Maid service could not be faulted and the staff on reception were very helpful organising trips. Special mention to Brigitte who helped when trying to book a trip in Barcelona. Very happy with our stay and happy to recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ana Ruiz, Other at KAKTUS Hotel Volga
Responded 6 Aug 2023
Hello Lovetotravel8894, We really appreciate that you have dedicated a few minutes of your time to share your opinion with us. We are very happy to know that your stay with us has been perfect and very proud to know that thanks to the services provided by Brigitte you felt at home. Thank you for recommending us. We will be delighted to welcome you again on your next visit to Hotel Volga. All the best, Ana Ruiz. Quality Manager, Kaktus Hotels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bam4d wrote a review Jun 2023
Barcelona, Spain276 contributions134 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I think my review would have been 5 stars if the price had been a little less expensive and the service at the beach bar had been better. All the staff are very friendly, although we would have appreciated more information at check-in. We bought a 2-day pass to the beach club which was nice even though you have to walk a little way from the hotel. It included a glass of cava, which we were only given on the 2nd day. The rest of the time, the staff seemed too busy to take drink orders and clear things away.

The hotel bar is good although it was a shame it was a little quiet when there was a DJ on. They gave us free cava on 2 of the nights. We had half-board and thought the service, variety and quality at the buffet both at breakfast and dinner were very good. The pool area is small but clean. The rooms are partially modernised and clean with good aircon. Near railway station and the centre of the town. I would return and recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ana Ruiz, Other at KAKTUS Hotel Volga
Responded 6 Aug 2023
Hello bam4d: Thank you very much for visiting us and sharing your experience. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Our goal is for our guests to feel at home and we are very happy that thanks to the work of our team they felt so comfortable. Thank you very much for your feedback, which will undoubtedly help us improve our service and that of Nui Beach. Come back whenever you want to Hotel Volga, we are waiting for you again. Sincerely, Ana Ruiz Quality Manager, Kaktus Hotels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
edgar p wrote a review Oct 2023
Tallinn, Estonia2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel had a bad smell, the noise cancellation in my room was terrible, the door to my room didn't work properly, and a random person stepped into my room while I was asleep.

The bad smell was noticeable as soon as I walked into the hotel. It was a kind of musty, mildew smell that made me feel sick. I tried to ignore it, but it was hard to do.

The noise cancellation in my room was also very bad. I could hear everything that was happening in the hallway, and the traffic outside was very loud. I tried to use earplugs, but they didn't help much.

The door to my room didn't work properly either. It was difficult to close and lock, and I felt like it wasn't very secure.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ana Ruiz, Other at KAKTUS Hotel Volga
Responded 1 Nov 2023
Hello Edgar, We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused by the problems you describe. We inform you that we have taken note of this and have shared it with the respective department (housekeeping and maintenance department) in order to implement the necessary measures to prevent this from happening again. We always advise our guests to inform us of any incident that occurs during their stay so we can attend to it immediately and make their experience perfect. We could have changed rooms. Thank you very much again for your comment and above all for helping us improve. Greetings, Ana Ruiz. Quality Manager, Kaktus Hotels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
psvi wrote a review Oct 2022
Galway, Ireland91 contributions61 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for a week at this hotel and all i can say is Excellent. Service, Food, Room, Location, Staff. The only issues I have with this hotel was when we arrived on a Friday Evening we had expected some form of evening entertainment but the only entertainment was on the Thursday night before we were going home the next day. The other issue was the carpet in our room on the top floor was regarded as VIP but the carpet was rough and uncomfortable to walk on in bare feet. However loved our stay.. Thank You
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Torquemada wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Unfriendly desk office personnel, this is not the quality for a 4 stars hotel, maybe 3 at the most. Food ok. Pool is small. You expect more and receive less, you have to insist in everything, no information is provided.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ana Ruiz, Other at KAKTUS Hotel Volga
Responded 6 Aug 2023
Hi Torquemada, Thank you for letting us know your feedback, it is very important. We always want our clients to enjoy their stay at our hotel, however, we are sorry that your experience was not up to your expectations. Of course, I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team so that we can keep improving our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon. Best regards, Ana Ruiz Quality Manager, Kaktus Hotels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
diane wrote a review Aug 2023
England, United Kingdom7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a lovely hotel. The air conditioning was a welcome relief when we returned out of the sun. There was lots of different areas to sit downstairs.
There was a room to put your cases in if your room wasn’t ready.
The rooms were really good. Upgraded with an amazing shower, good bathroom. And toiletries supplied.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ana Ruiz, Other at KAKTUS Hotel Volga
Responded 24 Aug 2023
Hello Diane, On behalf of the entire team, we want to thank you for evaluating your experience with us so positively. It is a pleasure to know that we have met your expectations and comments like this provide extra motivation to continue working and improving every day. We pay close attention to all the opinions of our guests and we are very happy to read that we are working in the right direction. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Volga soon, Ana Ruiz Quality Manager Kaktus hotels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul-uit-eten wrote a review Aug 2023
Riezlern, Austria42 contributions19 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is pleasant to stay, very helpful staff and great breakfast. But the wifi sucks, it’s really terrible. it’s probably the last hotel in the world with blankets on the bed (pls. change it to comforters it’s really before 2nd world war that people used blankets). very annoying that people claim one of the too less relax beds at the pool with their towels before breakfast and then don’t show up for a while and the hotel staff should act against this but nothing is being done against this.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ana Ruiz, Other at KAKTUS Hotel Volga
Responded 4 Sept 2023
Hello Paul-uit-eten, It was great having you with us and we really appreciate your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we are very pleased that you felt so comfortable in our cozy and spacious rooms. However, we regret that you did not like the power of our Wi-Fi or the blankets, they are quite common to use today, although we will take your contribution into account for future improvements. As for reserving the sunbed with a towel, it isn´t allowed, it is an inconsiderate attitude of some clients. Thank you for your contributions to improve. Please come back to Hotel Volga, we look forward to welcoming you again. Sincerely, Ana Ruiz. Kaktus hotels Quality Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cazzalfc asked a question Apr 2019
St Helens, United Kingdom259 contributions56 helpful votes
I need to contact the hotel regarding my booking has anyone got an email address for them please
cazzalfc asked a question Apr 2019
St Helens, United Kingdom259 contributions56 helpful votes
Hi I have booked 2 rooms and need a double and a twin room. Can you please send me your details Thanks
Answer from EmJ09
United Kingdom52 contributions20 helpful votes
Hi. There was a kettle and complimentary tea/coffee selection in the room (I was part of a coach tour group so do not know if this is standard for all rooms). They are €7 if you require another.
paulinebisset66 asked a question Jan 2018
Chatham, United Kingdom22 contributions14 helpful votes
Is this an adult only hotel?
Answer from awittenberg67
Oss, The Netherlands218 contributions25 helpful votes
no everyone is welcome childeren, adults. The question you have to ask if the hotel has plenty oppurtunities for childeren. Only a swimmingpool seems to be marginal
Sasha C wrote a tip Apr 2023
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom3 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Helpful front desk especially Brigitte on Reception. Restaurant staff and chefs give very good service as do the cleaning staff."
Read full review
ms-savvy wrote a tip Jul 2022
United Kingdom30 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All pool view rooms get sea view except maybe lower 2 floors. If evening sun is yr thing - get room on side overlooking pool/sea."
Read full review
ann g wrote a tip Nov 2019
Ripley Derbyshire44 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms a5 front overlook sea but also railway line"
Read full review
748traveller wrote a tip Nov 2019
Monaco29 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our room faced swimming pool but this means you also faced railway line.Trains(local) dont run through night so no problem."
Read full review
Geraldine F wrote a tip Oct 2019
31 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good view from the 5th floor looking out to the coast"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Calella area.
PRICE RANGE
£56 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
plus volga hotel
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of BarcelonaCalella
NUMBER OF ROOMS
164
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KAKTUS HOTEL VOLGA - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about KAKTUS Hotel Volga
Which popular attractions are close to KAKTUS Hotel Volga?
Nearby attractions include Los Extremeños (0.3 miles), Rock & Apples (0.1 miles), and Monument a Rafael Casanoves (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at KAKTUS Hotel Volga?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at KAKTUS Hotel Volga?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at KAKTUS Hotel Volga?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to KAKTUS Hotel Volga?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nui Beach, El Cielo Calella - Los Extremeños, and La Llar de Foc.
Are there opportunities to exercise at KAKTUS Hotel Volga?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does KAKTUS Hotel Volga have airport transportation?
Yes, KAKTUS Hotel Volga offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is KAKTUS Hotel Volga located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Calella.
Are any cleaning services offered at KAKTUS Hotel Volga?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at KAKTUS Hotel Volga?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Russian, and Catalan.
Are there any historical sites close to KAKTUS Hotel Volga?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Guard Towers Las Torretas (1.4 miles), Refugio Antiaereo (0.4 miles), and La Caseta del Motor (2.4 miles).
All Calella HotelsCalella Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CalellaHotels near KAKTUS Hotel Volga
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire