We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Millstone at Mellor

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Millstone at Mellor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

398 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 393: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sorry to say that our weekend away was ruined due to a poorly maintained hotel suite. We stayed in the Midas Suite and the room smelled of damp, there was black mould on the walls and all over the tiles and the room was generally unclean. There was only one robe provided for us as a couple and no milk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lee G
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review. I am however disappointed that you have taken to TripAdvisor to write these comments, as I did speak to you about the issues that you had on the morning of your check out. After offering the discount you seemed more than happy, and have since had a full refund. I have looked at the... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for one night for a nearby wedding. Room was clean but very shabby - paint chipped and looked like it needed a bit of TLC. Small amounts of mildew on bathroom. Shower curtain had that pink tinge when it hasn't been cleaned in a while. Reception staff friendly. Breakfast dreadful - was shown to a dirty table that was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anna W
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was disappointed to read your that you didn't enjoy your stay, and I have only been made aware by reading your comments on Tripadvisor, as unfortunately nothing was mentioned at the time of your stay. I will certainly look into these issues as a matter of urgency. Kind Regards,... More 

Conwy County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely staff, spotlessly clean rooms with nice little touches, like fresh shortcake biscuits in the rooms, and real milk available any time on request - not those disgusting UHT thimbles. The food in the restaurant is superb, a real delight and beautifully prepared, some original takes on classic dishes. The kitchen staff obviously take a great deal of care and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Conwybeachcomber
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm delighted to read that you found our team to be lovely and you liked the little extra touches in the rooms. Your very kind comments are appreciated and we'd love to welcome you back again. Kind Regards, Tim Parker More 

Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice inn in the lovely Ribble Valley north of Blackburn, Lancashire. More than a B&B with a very nice and popular restaurant on site. The tiny village is charming with a beautiful 15th century church the bells of which could be heard from our room. Room was small but quite nice; everything (Wi-Fi included) worked great. Easy parking in front.... More 

Helpful?
Thank rfc_avalon
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked your room. I'm delighted that you found our team to be friendly and welcoming and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Tim Parker More 

Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Booked with friends for a show in Preston. We've been here a few times before. Its a proper gastro pub with a great atmosphere. Dinner choice is fabulous and we had meat and fish sharing boards, homemade scotch egg (amazing) and fish and chips. Service, food and value is top draw. Lovely room with comfy beds with an awesome breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tonywarwick
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Tony. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hearty Lancashire breakfast is very popular and I'm glad you enjoyed yours. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Tim Parker More 

Bolton lancs
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Our first visit here and what a lovely experience we had, very nice waitresses who helped us choose what to have, I had the roast beef dinner and I would say it was thee best roast that I have ever eaten cooked perfectly, my husband had the baked cod which he said was delicious and mum had the pork dinner... More 

Helpful?
Thank 124maureen
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Maureen. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your experience at the Millstone and you liked your recommended dish! Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we really appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Tim Parker More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely local establishment. The food is always of a high quality and with the friendly efficient service of the staff in comfortable surroundings makes for a pleasurable visit. Lucky to have this on our doorstep. The Scott family

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your kind comments regarding your recent visit. I'm delighted that you found the service to be excellent and you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Tim Parker More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here last night and it was lovely. Staff were helpful and friendly. The suite was lovely and clean. Breakfast was very tasty and we didn't have to wait long for the food to be cooked. Would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Rachael R
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, Rachael. I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We'd be delighted to welcome you back! Kind Regards, Tim Parker More 

Chichester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Fantastic and very reasonably priced food. Good size portions which are well presented and served by friendly staff. We stayed 2 nights and our room was compact to say the least, but it is an old building full of character so, if you want large rooms upgrade to a suite or stay in a travelodge. We really enjoyed our stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Buckshawhomes
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and you'll be returning! The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Tim Parker More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Fantastic bar, food and staff. Comfortable rooms and good facilities however the church bells rang every quarter of an hour, till 11pm and started again at 6am - complete nightmare! Sadly this would stop me staying again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona J
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, Fiona. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your meals with us and you found our staff to be fantastic. I'm sorry if you were disturbed by the church bells, unfortunately this is something that we have no control over. Kind Regards, Tim Parker More 

119 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (33)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackburn
0.6 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Samlesbury Hotel
Samlesbury Hotel
#1 of 2 in Samlesbury
594 reviews
4.2 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Good Night Inns Boddington Arms Hotel
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
5.5 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Millstone has retained all the charm of the coaching inn it once was - but added all the creature comforts of a modern hotel. It is one of the highest rated AA 2 star hotels in the country and has been awarded 2 AA food rosettes. The Millstone at Mellor, Blackburn is easy to reach from the M6 or M65. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Millstone at Mellor

Address: Church Lane, Blackburn BB2 7JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackburn
Price Range: £74 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Millstone at Mellor 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Millstone at Mellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstone At Mellor Hotel Blackburn
Millstone Hotel Mellor
Millstone At Mellor Blackburn, Lancashire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Millstone at Mellor staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Millstone at Mellor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If stairs present a difficulty ask for a room on the lowest floor”
 of 5 bubbles Davidcollinsheywood, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“choose another professionally run hotel”
 of 5 bubbles popelli69, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All good - the area is very quiet and no traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles Alain69190735, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for Ground floor if you struggle with steep/narrow stairs”
 of 5 bubbles YachtSuzannah, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“It is in the centre of the village, so not much to look at. Sit in the bar!!”
 of 5 bubbles 948grahamw, 8 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay