We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Overcliffe Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Overcliffe Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 54: English reviews
Whitstable, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2016

My wife and I stayed there on a Saterday in August having traveled from Bexhill the same day. We had been invited at short notice to a friends 70th birthday party and chose the Overclife Hotel due to its location and finding most of the other hotels in the area fully booked although we thought at the time of booking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judy C
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The overcliffe hotel is run by only what I can call a family feel. They made us very welcome although we did not have food there the breakfast by all means is huge. Well worth the money which is only £10 each. The only thing I would say if you stay on the top floor you are in the eaves... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suelee1969
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016

this hotel seems to polarise opinion. One thing I can agree on with those who love it is that the staff are very pleasant and attentive. The hotel itself is, sadly, something of a different matter. The overall impression is quite cozy in some ways but a bit tired and saggy. In need of a refurb and a paint job.... More 

Helpful?
Thank MsLox
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Had a wonderful evening meal in Bloomers restaurant. The ambience was lovely, service was excellent and food was divine. What a gem, tucked away in Gravesend. An excellent wine list and the house wine is highly recommended. We came for a special occasion and this certainly fit the bill. All seems like excellent value for money.

Helpful?
Thank claire p
Bath
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2016

This imposing building is located just outside the centre of Gravesend. It's a busy road and an indifferent location opposite the Asda supermarket, but all pretty convenient if you need to be close to the town centre. It’s pretty well maintained and comfortable, if a little in need of some TLC. All in all it was fine. The strangest thing... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank hoiplanetoi
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2016

I arrived at the hotel with a lovely warm welcome. I found my room ever so cosy and clean. The staff were very attentive and the location is perfect to commute into London, while also having Bluewater down the road! The restaurant is beautifully lit at night, it really was the perfect setting for an evening meal, along with spectacular... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha C
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2015

We travelled from East London to Gravesend by bike along the river Thames - an interesting ride. We found the hotel easily and received a warm welcome. The landlady said we could tie our bikes up at the back of ththe hotel where they would have 24 hour CCTV security😃😃. Rooms were well proportioned, clean and comfortable. The staff were... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Colette S
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2015

I needed to book two rooms for when my mum and dad stayed for the wkd. It was my mums birthday and we were looked after really well. The staff couldn't do enough for us and the food was superb 5* standard and the rooms were very clean and the beds were really comfy, we slept like logs ha ha.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah W
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Having arrived by coach at another hotel, we found we were not booked in !!! The owner of the Overcliffe Hotel was contacted and he took us in (twelve of us) despite it being ten o'clock at night. He made us very welcome. We had a good night's sleep and a hearty breakfast, before continuing on our way. The hotel... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Albert C
Gravesend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2015

If its a clean friendly hotel you are seeking steer well away from this hotel. As I waited for my room key the reception lady asked me very aggressively "what do you want!". Poor service over priced no bins in bathroom no breakfast for such a high price. I will never return.

Helpful?
Thank soniakaur1979
Benita T, Front Office Manager at The Overcliffe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sonia,we have investigated your complaints and can find no justification for your comments.We are however pleased to note that you've had a change of heart re our Hotel, as the following week you tried to book a two night stay. We are sorry we were unable to take your reservation that evening as we were full.Best regards .Thomas....... More 

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravesend
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Gravesend Central Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Granby Hotel
The Granby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northfleet
130 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Singlewell
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#4 of 5 in Gravesend
415 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Gravesend (A2/Singlewell) Hotel
7.6 mi away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Food & drink at the hotel
Bloomers Restaurant
Bloomers Restaurant
Cuisines: British, French
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Overcliffe Hotel

Address: 15-16 Overcliffe, Gravesend DA11 0EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Gravesend
Price Range: £87 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Overcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Overcliffe Hotel Gravesend, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Overcliffe Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“One at the back if you want a quiet nights sleep”
 of 5 bubbles judyc287, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not top floor as no lift and low ceilings”
 of 5 bubbles Suelee1969, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back”
 of 5 bubbles hoiplanetoi, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“our rooms overlooked the garden and car park which was pleasant enough (and we could see our bikes!)”
 of 5 bubbles ColetteS693, 1 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Room at the back will be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles tvrpieman, 21 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay