We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

951 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 932: English reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2015 via mobile

I stayed here with a family member for two nights. The hotel is lovely and located in beautiful grounds. The room was spacious and clean and I loved the modern bathroom. A visit to the spa for a treatment is a must especially if you can get an appointment with Sarah- she is so kind and fantastic at her job...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brandy022
NBeesGM, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your Spa Break here and will certainly make sure that Sarah and the team see your comments. The thermal area has just had a light refurbishment and I agree, it looks really good! Thanks once again, and we really hope that we see you back here in the near future. Kind regards Nicholas Bees...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2015

We recently had our Air Cadet Unit Dining In Night at the Mercure Norton Grange, considering we had never undertook this kind of event we were relying on the greater knowledge of the staff at the hotel to assist us, from minute one they have been absolutley superb, the event went off without a hitch and additionally the hotel staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alanjkt
NBeesGM, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review and I'm delighted that you chose us as your venue. We always try to exceed the expectations for our banqueting guests and it looks like we've achieved this - we look forward to welcoming back for your next dinner! Kindest regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

This is my second visit to this hotel and will not be my last! The rooms are nice, the food was lovely the service was a little slow but didn't mind as was having a few drinks whilst eating! The facilities are great worth a visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Whitney1988
NBeesGM, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments and I'm delighted that your second stay was as good as the first... hopefully your next stay will be even better! I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards icholas Bees General Manager

Petworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2015

I am generally a fan of Mecure hotels, but I am afraid he Grange has not been up to their normal high standard. the hotel works, the staff are effective, but the condition of the hotel is tired and the level of cleanliness, especially the toilets (in room and in public areas) is weak.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JKirke
NBeesGM, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review - I'm pleased to see that, on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us. We're currently working on a light refurbishment plan and I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future to see the positive improvements. In the meantime kind regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

Gloucestershire
Reviewed 6 June 2015

Have been staying here for over 20 years as it is near to family and convenient. This isn't one of the nicest parts of Britain but I know that because I was born here and so am not particularly interested in reviewing the area. Our first room was half cleaned, dirty glasses and food outside the room, un-hoovered carpet and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MimiGloucestershire
NBeesGM, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I'm really disappointed to read that we didn't meet your expectations on this visit, however thank you very much for the feedback. I shall get your details from Simone, the Front Office Manager, and make sure that one of us is in contact with you as soon as possible. In the meantime, kindest regards Nicholas...

Orlando
Reviewed 6 June 2015 via mobile

Stopped here as half way point on our way to Scotland. We met family here and had a spa afternoon package! Therapists were great and very friendly. The deal included lunch which included chocolate cake and clotted cream! It was delicious. We also had a nice evening meal, but we had to eat the al a carte menu in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lindsey T
NBeesGM, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay here at Norton Grange and I shall ensure that the team see your comments. We hope to welcome back in the future. Kind regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

Seaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2015

Bit like the curates egg... good in parts and bad. Spent 4 nights here on a Woods of Bognor coach tour. First evening dinner was served properly and was good, as was breakfast. Unfortunately the following night was chaotic: plenty of staff but not managed at all. Their system is for a waiter to take you desert order first then...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nasp12345
NBeesGM, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel. Please allow me to assure you that, as a new General Manager here, your feedback is very welcome. I have discussed your comments with the Managers here to prevent re-occurrence with any future groups. I'm glad to see that your comments are positive regarding the team - they are a real asset...

Reviewed 1 June 2015 via mobile

Had lovely time in very quiet swimming pool and jacuzzi. Especially liked the outdoor part. Real shame after that to be met with lacklustre service in the bar/restaurant. Nobody else in there apart from us, yet it took at least half an hour for our two wraps to arrive and we had to chase our food then! Food was nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladyoftaste80
NBeesGM, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your considered review. I was sorry to read the issues that you faced in the Bar whilst waiting for your food and I shall certainly investigate your comments with our Bar and Restaurant Manager to ensure that there is no re-occurrence for future guests. I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future and...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2015

I stayed here with my Wife, for one night on 24th May 2015. We were bought a voucher for here as a wedding anniversary gift. On arrival we were greeted very politely by the lady on reception and allocated room 314. The room was tidy enough and the bathroom was very nice, looked like it had been refurbished recently. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank paul b
NBeesGM, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I'm pleased to see that, on the whole, you enjoyed your stay however I'm sorry for the issues that you faced during your visit. As you alluded, we are currently refurbishing the Spa and are still to finish so I do hope that on your return visit you will see the positive changes we're making....

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2015

I have been to this hotel on 3 occasions to research it as a possible venue for my vow renewal/silver wedding. The place is really lovely and my husband and were more than happy to book it. The staff are lovely and the food is fabulous. I would also recommend this place for a short break. Lovely comfy rooms too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
NBeesGM, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of the hotel. It's really great when a regular visitor posts their feedback and I'm delighted that you've booked your event with us. I look forward to meeting you both soon! Kind regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

164 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (135)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochdale
1.2 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
408 reviews
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Smokies Park
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
197 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Broadfield Park Hotel
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in it's own beautiful grounds, the Mercure Norton Grange Hotel and Spa caters for the needs of each individual. Leisure facilities and car parking are complimentary to all of our guests. Please check with the hotel for dining availability as our restaurant can be closed at weekends for private functions. Please also note that child pool times apply. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa

Address: Norton Grange Hotel Manchester Road, Rochdale OL11 2XZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Price Range: £58 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Norton Grange Hotel Rochdale
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel And Spa Rochdale, Greater Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we have always took a privilege room on second floor always quiet but we have never heard any noises anytime we been there”
 of 5 bubbles Lozz2001, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 516ColinH, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Hotel being refurbished ,but no excuse for poor quality bed and uncleaned surfaces”
 of 5 bubbles 638keithr, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check if refurbishments complete, if not would avoid as not good value for money.”
 of 5 bubbles Lulu450, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try the goats cheese bon bons and the sea bass. Really really yummy x”
 of 5 bubbles Mukuma, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5