We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Gorse Hill Hook Heath Road, Woking GU22 0QF England
Expedia.com
Official Hotel Site
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (170)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (20)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
Updated 11/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 11/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 8 hotels in Woking
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make Gorse Hill their hotel of choice when visiting Woking. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a charming setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV and a desk, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the hotel.

Gorse Hill Hotel features 24 hour front desk, room service, and baggage storage, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts a fitness center and an on-site restaurant. If you are driving to Gorse Hill Hotel, free parking is available.

Nearby landmarks such as Church of St Mary the Virgin Horsell (1.9 mi) and The Living Planet Centre (2.1 mi) make Gorse Hill a great place to stay when visiting Woking.

While in Woking, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Gorse Hill, including Bird in Hand (1.1 mi), Bellini Italian Restaurant (0.8 mi), and Tiang Restaurant (0.8 mi).

Best of all, Gorse Hill Hotel makes it easy to experience some great Woking attractions like The Lightbox, which is a popular art gallery.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Gorse Hill as you experience all of the things Woking has to offer.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English
190Reviews7Q+A24Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 90
  • 32
  • 33
  • 18
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
lwarden wrote a review Yesterday
Bournemouth, United Kingdom185 contributions74 helpful votes
Upon approach this hotel is impressive, grand and Georgian. Inside nice decor, very spacious, almost stately, as you'd expect of an old historic building. For us the minor details were the let down. A couple of minor repairs were needed in our room, the glasses and spoons for tea were unclean and a brass ornament in the bathroom hadn't seen a duster in weeks. Such a shame as could be a really Special place with more attention to detail.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Allison C wrote a review 16 Jun
11 contributions6 helpful votes
Stay on the 11th June in a lodge was really impressed with the hotel and food but disappointed with my room as indicated in my pics a bit grubby and damaged to the bath the bathroom only had plain glass and a thin blind so when I had a shower before bed had to turn the light off as you could see inside from outside when dark wanted to stay again on the 25 but not to sure !!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Seaman, Guest Services / Front Office at Gorse Hill
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Alison, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay on the 11th June. We will take your feedback and images on board and review this in our next operational review to address the issues that you have raised. Our bedrooms are undergoing a rolling refurbishment plan and our maintenance team are hard at work to finish this as soon as possible. We are however pleased to see that you were impressed with the food and the public areas of the hotel and hope that we can welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Tom
Read more
RJT06 wrote a review 13 Jun
East Midlands, United Kingdom58 contributions45 helpful votes
We had a two night stay recently at this lovely looking hotel and wonderful gardens. However we had several issues which were satisfactorily dealt with. The only point we would like to make therefore is that if you are a couple alone wanting a quiet few days away then this is probably not the place for you.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Seaman, Guest Services / Front Office at Gorse Hill
Responded 1 week ago
Hi RJT, Thank you for leaving feedback from your stay with us at Gorse Hill. We will review your feedback amongst the management team and address any issues accordingly following from your visit. Kind Regards, Tom
Read more
Loveholidays201129 wrote a review 6 Jun
London, United Kingdom17 contributions20 helpful votes
Please be aware if there is a wedding on during your stay your cannot use the main lounge or terrace near hotel from about 1200-330pm. They use the main lounge for the wedding ceremony and the terrace after for photos/ drinks. This was not made aware to us on booking, only that there would be a wedding on. We did not want to go out of the hotel due to my mother not walking very far. So this did impact on our stay. I would also like to say the waiting staff and bar staff are so friendly and helpful , you are lucky to have them. We enjoyed the delicious food cooked to a good standard.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Seaman, Guest Services / Front Office at Gorse Hill
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Loveholidays, Thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave feedback following on from your stay with us. Whilst we do have weddings take place in our Mansion Lounge, our Garden Suite is open for guests of our hotel to still enjoy a drink and the service that you have described in your email. We are sorry that you were not aware of this prior to your booking, however we are delighted to read your feedback regarding our front of house team who took care of you during your stay with us - we do agree that we are lucky to have them. Kind Regards, Tom
Read more
mike wrote a review May 2022
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom1 contribution
There was a mix up and the manager and staff couldn't have been more helpful in sorting it out. All went well in the end and we had really nice stay. We were so impressed with the buildings. Thanks you Mr Manager for all your efforts. We really appreciated your help and will be coming to stay again soon
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Seaman, Guest Services / Front Office at Gorse Hill
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Mike, Thank you ever so much for your feedback after staying at Gorse Hill. We're delighted to read that the duty manager on shift was able to attend to your needs and that you then enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you to Gorse Hill again in the future. Kind Regards, Tom
Read more
Barbara H wrote a review May 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed here for a couple of nights as a treat for my birthday. The hotel is in a lovely setting and is a beautiful old building. The staff, in our experience were all friendly and helpful. When we arrived there was a wedding in progress but to be fair it didn't impinge on us at all. One of the highlights of the time at the hotel was a enjoying a drink on the terrace in the sun. There are a few points that were disappointing. Our room was tiny, very clean everything worked but you couldn't fully open the windows so you couldn't see out and it felt a bit unsafe. As older people we weren't delighted about being up lots of stairs but this was not annoying enough to complain about. We ate in the lounge on our arrival night and our food was fine but served on a silly little slate so it actually quite hard to eat. We didn't eat in the main restaurant as we found the menu to be limited and a tad pricey for what it was. I was disappointed that none of the floral displays were real, it just feels a bit underwhelming. Another little irritant was that when the room was made up refreshments weren't replenished so there was no milk etc. So all in all a pleasant place to stay but some attention to small details would immensely improve people's experience. Special mention for the blonde pony tailed waitress who was a lovely smily helpful presence.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Seaman, Guest Services / Front Office at Gorse Hill
Responded 10 May 2022
Hi Barbara, Thank you for leaving feedback from your visit to us at Gorse Hill. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments and will pass your constructive criticism amongst the team where necessary to highlight where we can make improvements. We hope this would not deter you from staying again and hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, Tom Deputy General Manager
Read more
popeadventure wrote a review May 2022
Surrey, United Kingdom481 contributions161 helpful votes
I was treated to an afternoon tea here for my birthday and was pleasantly surprised. I didn't realize they did afternoon tea here and I live locally. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient and the afternoon tea was amazing. Plenty of sandwiches, cakes and replenished tea or coffee. Delicious!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Seaman, Guest Services / Front Office at Gorse Hill
Responded 10 May 2022
Hi Popeadventure, Thank you for your lovely comments after your visit to us for afternoon tea. We really do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Gorse Hill and we do hope to welcome you back again soon as you live locally! Kind Regards, Tom Seaman Deputy General Manager
Read more
Liv F wrote a review May 2022
United Kingdom2 contributions4 helpful votes
My partner and I were gifted an overnight stay for 2 with a dinner allowance and chose to redeem it for our anniversary. From the moment of booking it wasn’t an easy experience. The reception telephone line doesn’t go through to anyone so i had to email back and forth, the first person i got through to told me they didn’t work there anymore… so why is their email attached to the booking? Once arrived we followed the signs to reception where we walked into the middle of a wedding reception? Bride and groom walking down the isle… we left and tried to find another reception but realised we did go where we were meant to, so why on earth would you host that sort of event in the middle of reception? after we had checked in we were pointed in the wrong direction for our room and were told to ‘go to the building with the fairy lights’, this was where the wedding party was goi to take place and there are no rooms in that part of the building. Thankfully someone setting up the wedding buffet pointed us in the right direction. The room was so dated and I’d believe it if you told me someone was killed in there. suspicious stains in the hallway on the floor and a ‘keep door looked’ cupboard was swinging open exposing all of the clean linen and spare soap. We went down to the bar for a drink, no staff to be seen, they were all too busy cleaning up from the wedding. We eventually asked someone if we could get a drink and we’re told ‘no i cannot serve you’. we already felt like we weren’t welcome here and this just added to it. By this point we were upset so went to reception where the receptionist got up and told the bar man he needed to serve us… eventually we got a drink. We went for dinner and were 1 of 3 tables. The waiter, Philip, was very rude and short. No level of hospitality and we felt rushed. The food options were scarce and the ‘artisan bread’ consisted of 4 bread rolls sliced in half and seared so all you get are nubs of dry bread rolls, probably left off the breakfast buffet! I had a tomato pasta which was tasteless and i didn’t barely touch. My partner had the fish in pastry which he said was alright but not worth the £27 they were trying to charge for it. Nothing of our anniversary was mentioned or made special. They assumed we were part of the wedding party and i had to ask to sign my bill to my room! so apologies to whoever was getting married as i’m sure they were just putting whatever on your tab and not checking! We didn’t even bother going down for breakfast as we didn’t want to experience this lack of hospitality and ruin another day. upon checking out there were bills closed to my room with no signature that weren’t us. I always make sure to sign my checks as i work in a hotel myself so told them to remove any bill without a signature and for them to brush up their standards. Just don’t waste your money going there. Such a shame as the building is beautiful they could do so much more with it.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Seaman, Guest Services / Front Office at Gorse Hill
Responded 11 May 2022
Dear Livvylouf, Thank you for taking the time to write such detailed feedback from your stay with us at Gorse Hill. We will take your feedback on board and we will discuss internally in our next operational review to see how we can best improve on the areas that you have highlighted. I'm disappointed to read that you felt our service in particular was not up to standard - as you can see from so many other reviews, our staff are usually the highlight of guest's stays here at Gorse Hill. Once again thank you for your comprehensive review, we understand that things can never be perfect and will look to improve where we can. Kind Regards, Tom Seaman Deputy General Manager
Read more
Eloise3104 wrote a review May 2022
Hampshire35 contributions18 helpful votes
We stayed in the lodge n75 and sadly it was dated, noisy and I’d say the bathroom was dangerous with a poor quality Luke warm shower. We complained and have been told the lodge is up for renovations but are sad to think we were still put in there. The staff were lovely as was the food. The overall hotel lovely but our recommendation would be stop putting people in these tired old and dated lodges because the reviews will only get worse. We’ve been offered a complimentary eve back as a gesture of good will and are really looking forward to experiencing this as the staff and food lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Seaman, Guest Services / Front Office at Gorse Hill
Responded 10 May 2022
Hi Eloise, Thank you for your feedback from your stay with Gorse Hill. We will take your comments onboard review this amongst our heads of departments to improve where necessary. Our bedrooms are constantly undergoing a rolling refurbishment programme so any of your comments raised in regards to our bedrooms may be corrected reasonably soon. Kind Regards, Tom Seaman Deputy General Manager
Read more
ArthurBear1 wrote a review Mar 2022
Guildford, United Kingdom8 contributions16 helpful votes
Had Sunday lunch for 32 people, food was pre ordered. Staff very accommodating and the food and service first class. Have lived in the area for 48 years, didn’t know the hotel was there! Definitely going back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Seaman, Guest Services / Front Office at Gorse Hill
Responded 10 Apr 2022
Hi Arthur, Thank you for your feedback regarding your group lunch at Gorse Hill. We're delighted that you're planning to come back in the future and look forward to seeing you then. Kind Regards, Tom Seaman Deputy General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$109 - US$161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gorse hill woking, gorse hill hotel woking
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
De Vere Gorse Hill
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSurreyWoking
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gorse Hill
Which popular attractions are close to Gorse Hill?
Nearby attractions include Paradox Parlours - Guildford (4.6 miles), Containment (2.1 miles), and Spike Heritage Centre (4.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Gorse Hill?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Gorse Hill?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Gorse Hill?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gorse Hill?
Conveniently located restaurants include Beit Beirut, Bacaro, and Pasha.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gorse Hill?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Gorse Hill offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Gorse Hill?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Guildford Castle (4.7 miles), Clandon Park (5.0 miles), and Tunsgate Arch (4.7 miles).
Is Gorse Hill accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.