We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Super 8 Richlands\/Claypool Hill Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 144: English reviews
Wylie
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Positive Trip Advisor reviews of this hotel were correct: this is a clean, quiet, secure hotel. I am so allergic to cigarette smoke that we usually travel in an RV but that was not practical for this hasty trip. I went to Trip Advisor to attempt to find places to stay that really did maintain “non-smoking rooms” and this whole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BethanyLeah
White Haven, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this location for four nights. Our room was very clean. Everything was great. The staff was very courteous and attentive to any of our needs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
-GMLegacyMGMT1, Manager at Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at our Super 8 hotel in Claypool Hill, VA. We couldn't have done any better with an advertisement. It is the goal of the staff to provide guests with a clean and comfortable room while giving top notch customer service and with your comments it definetily shows they...

TN/NC
Reviewed 1 week ago

First floor room very clean and well equipped for a budget hotel. Front desk staff courteous and efficient. Room was cleaned thoroughly and promptly refreshed every morning. Breakfast area in front lobby smallish but good quality and stocked well. Boys football team enjoyed the various offerings.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GODEACONS
-GMLegacyMGMT1, Manager at Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words in your review of our Super 8 hotel in Claypool Hill, VA. We certainly enjoyed having your group and hope to see you back here for another tournament. It is our goal to provide our guests with a clean and comfortable room while giving helpful and friendly service. Thank you for staying...

Richlands, Virginia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had to stay due to a house fire, they went above and beyond to make sure we were taken care of, even bringing items to give to us. They made an awful ordeal bearable. I àm very thanful to the entire staff.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 657kristinec
-GMLegacyMGMT1, Manager at Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area, responded to this review

So very sorry that you had a house fire. Certainly hope things are getting better for you. Thank you so much for your kind words for the staff. Glad to hear that they took good care of you during such a difficult time. Best wishes being sent to you.

Kingsport, Tennessee
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here during a little league football tournament. The room was very clean and roomy. We stayed in a queen suite. Although the hotel was booked for the weekend, the continental breakfast was very well stocked. Front desk staff were very friendly. The only complaint I have is that several kids could be heard stomping through the hallways late...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 335AngelaL335
-GMLegacyMGMT1, Manager at Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to review your stay with us at the Claypool Hill, VA Super 8. Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your weekend. I do apologize for the disturbance from the kids making noise. We look forward to seeing you again if your travels bring you to the area. Thank you for being our...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Very clean,helpful associates, breakfast bar that hit the spot. Will definitely stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank S2599ZJsandrar
-GMLegacyMGMT1, Manager at Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area, responded to this review

We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again when you're in the area. We strive to provide clean and comfortable rooms with helpful and friendly service. Also glad to hear you enjoyed the breakfast served. Thank you for being our guest!

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 29 October 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MeAnd M
-GMLegacyMGMT1, Manager at Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area, responded to this review

Loris, South Carolina
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We read other reviews, later ones were positive; older ones not so much. We booked here at the last minute. Marie was extremely helpful, got us two adjoining rooms that we needed for our family. The beds are comfortable, the shower is hot with great pressure (even on the 2nd floor). The hotel wifi is very good and there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
-GMLegacyMGMT1, Manager at Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to write such wonderful comments about your stay at our Claypool Hill Super 8. We will past your praise of Marie on to her. We strive to provide our guest with helpful and friendly service and sounds like Marie did just that. We look forward to serving you again if you're back in...

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Hotel employee offered to cancel prior online reservations because I got confused with multiple bookings. Got charged for the 6 rooms I used over three nights but also got charged for 3 No Show rooms. Employee only cancelled one room each night associated with my original reservations. Manager Vivian Shelar laughed at me when I notified her of the overcharges....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HoosierTraveler16
-GMLegacyMGMT1, Manager at Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area, responded to this review

We're so sorry that you had a difficult time making reservations with Expedia and Hotels.com. Please call us direct for any future reservations so they can be handled with more ease and accuracy. We only charge for a no show when hotel is full and we hold those reservation until next day when held on a credit card for late...

Brooklet
Reviewed 7 October 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitzi P
-GMLegacyMGMT1, Manager at Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area, responded to this review

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pounding Mill
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill
24.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Grundy
Comfort Inn Grundy
#1 of 1 in Grundy
50 reviews
21.2 mi away
Super 8 Lebanon
Super 8 Lebanon
#1 of 2 in Lebanon
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
General Francis Marion Hotel
14.2 mi away
Fincastle Motor Inn
Fincastle Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Tazewell
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area

Address: 12367 Governor G C Peery Hwy, 1.5 Mi E Insct US Rt460 and 19, Pounding Mill, VA 24637-4105
Region: United States > Virginia > Pounding Mill
Price Range: £50 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Hotel Pounding Mill
Pounding Mill Super 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try a room on the fifth floor for a great view. 😉”
 of 5 bubbles GODEACONS, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Queen suite was very roomy, but don't expect a sleeper sofa.”
 of 5 bubbles 335AngelaL335, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Very good value for the money!”
 of 5 bubbles E4064IDlaurah, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No elevator, but minimal luggage so no matter to us.”
 of 5 bubbles FootballFanVA, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“no elevator so if unable to take stairs ask for 1st floor”
 of 5 bubbles rhudson003, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay