We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Clarion Hotel Historic District

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Clarion Hotel Historic District
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

323 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 322: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Came to Williamsburg to shop and enjoy the festivities. Hotel is older, tired... Meet on the first floor with housekeepers complaining and cursing a monster themselves. Room is small and tight. Old! Pool area OK. Hottest looks like a science project. Needs cleaning! Paper thin walls. Loud! LOUD IN THE HALL! Parking lot is poorly light. It will take a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tweetyishe
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

I am sory we did not meet your needs - the hotel is currently under renovations and will be completed in Spring. Right now thinks are a little messy due to construction. I will talk with housekeeping and get that straight right away - I am sorry for their actions and will correct. Thanks Neal

Deal Island, Maryland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I like the hotel overall, but there were negatives. 1, Pets are permitted, which means loud dogs barked every time the elevator dinged. The pool was a great size, but the hot tub needed a good scrubbing. There's no microwave in the room, which was a bummer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kari_Alice
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We are pet friendly and I am sorry the dog kept bothering you. Next visit if you let front desk know we will notify the guest and require them to keep dog quite and that usually cures the situation. We have Microwaves on the list to do during the remodel stage in Spring to Summer. I...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The lobby staff was friendly and inviting. The bar attached to the hotel their staff was very nice as well. The location was great. Our room was ok, the bed was comfortable and looked clean. The bathroom was dated, the water in the tub did not drain which was pretty gross. We were in our room about 15 minutes when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank justjamie215
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

Sorry we could not meet your standards. I have called pest control which is a monthly service and they examined the room. They treated the room and there have been no signs of any troubles. WE treat rooms monthly and do not have them but when they appear we take very serious. Bathrooms are being remodeled this month - hotel...

Littleton, Colorado
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice hotel. An older hotel but the room was clean, bed comfortable and plenty of towels and pillows. The pool area was big and very nice. Also the desk staff was very helpful. The location to historic Williamsburg was fantastic. We stayed here one night waiting for our time share. Although our time share was quite nice, the location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie V
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

Thanks you for the great comments. We are in the process of a complete remodel and the entire hotel will be remodeled during this wintet. Thanks for the stay and please return in Spring when hotel will have a complete new look. Thanks, Neal

Reviewed 3 November 2016

Rooms have just been remodeled and are very comfortable. The location is right in the middle of everything you can do in Williamsburg and very affordable. There is a very nice man that cooks breakfast in the restaurant attached to the hotel but it is not free but delious and cooked to order. They are pet friendly which I love.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stephanie L
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

Thanks for the visit and I am glad we could exceed expectations. Please return soon and ask for Neal - I will be happy to help with any need. Thanks, Neal

New Market, Virginia
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Clean room with satisfactory mattress, bathroom a bit small. Pillows small and all the same size, shape and thickness offering no choice for preference. No tea in room only coffee and no continental breakfast. Easy to find from interstate.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shvc50
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I will get with housekeeping to ensure Tea is in all rooms and I am sorry for not having in yours. Restaurant does not belong to us but we are planning to change that and have the breakfast included starting next July 2017. Thanks, Neal

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed for two nights on a weekend and truly enjoyed our stay. Natasha checked us in and was so welcoming. She upgraded us to a king room for the same price because it was our anniversary. The room was remodeled, clean, comfy and spacious. The bed was super comfortable. The pool and hot tub are inside and open till...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pepsimommi
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

Thanks you for the visit and I will personally thank Natasha for you and me. It is good to be surrounded by good people. I look forward to your next visit. We are still remodeling and the hotel should be complete by April of 2017 - this will include the lobby and restaurant. Thanks, Neal

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

I do need to give credit to the staff and location of this hotel, but that is as good as it gets. The room was on the 1st floor with a large sliding window which didn't lock. Whilst we were trying to figure out how to secure the room we spotted a trail of ants. We spoke to Reception and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shanklypuss
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for the visit and comments. I am glad we responded to ant and sorry for loud music. I do not own the restaurant but have passed on your comments and will ensure he reacts. WE are the closest hotel to the historic area and only minutes from Busch Gardens. Thanks again and look forward to your next visit....

Wasatch Range, Utah
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel is being updated but there were no inconveniences during my stay. I was there for two nights and the service was wonderful. If you are a walker, it isn't to far of a walk to one end of Colonial Williamsburg. The rooms were clean, the accommodations were comfortable, and the service wonderful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chumleygirls
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

We are the closest hotel to the Colonial area and only minutes from the Busch Gardeb and Water Country USA> I thank you for the stay and look forward to your next visit. Thanks, Neal

Reviewed 10 September 2016

I did try to contact Clarion via email, but could not find an email address on their site, and I did notify staff there of the smell and lighting issues. Worst problem was the room smell. I thought I could deal with it, but I woke up at 1 am with headache and could not stop coughing. I went outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cosmobuster
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

I am sorry we could not fulfill your needs. If you ever try us again please contact me , Neal, and I will ensure we do not disappoint you for a second stay. Thanks, Neal

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#38 of 79 in Williamsburg
67 reviews
0.8 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#46 of 79 in Williamsburg
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
1.2 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
0.0 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations Patrick Henry Sqr, Ascend Resort Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clarion Hotel Historic District is located just steps away from where it all began. The hotel is within walking distance of Colonial Williamsburg; two miles to Busch Gardens Europe and Water Country USA; only minutes to Jamestown and other area attractions. The College of William and Mary is less than two miles. Williamsburg Premium Outlet is less than five miles. Whether visiting the colonial capital for sightseeing, golfing, or shopping, the Clarion Hotel Historic District is the perfect choice for your accommodations. Guest rooms have coffee makers, spacious work desks, hairdryers, irons, ironing boards, voice mail, cable television and include free local calls. Select rooms also have microwaves and refrigerators. Guest amenities include an indoor heated pool, hot tub, exercise facility, free wireless high-speed Internet, free parking, free coffee, free daily newspaper and onsite security. We are pet-friendly and a non-smoking hotel. Daddyo's is our full-service restaurant and lounge. In addition, we have 3000 square feet of flexible meeting/banquet facilities and a dedicated catering staff to ensure your meeting or banquet is destined to make history! Just choose from one of our pre-planned meeting or banquet packages and we will take care of all the details! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Historic District

Address: 351 York St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4516 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Williamsburg Historic District)
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Price Range: £43 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Historic District
Clarion Hotel Williamsburg
Sheraton Williamsburg
Williamsburg Sheraton
Williamsburg Four Points
Four Points Williamsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarion Hotel Historic District staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Hotel Historic District staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The loudness was only related to the dogs, it would be fine otherwise.”
 of 5 bubbles Kari_Alice, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms on higher floors are quitter.”
 of 5 bubbles 378stephs, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't get a ground room, sounded like a party in the parking lot in the middle of the night.”
 of 5 bubbles dstutelberg2016, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“there is only one elevator. Ask for one near it.”
 of 5 bubbles AlienSong8, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 450 was a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles Ally209, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay