We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elkins
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Showing 109: English reviews
Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Worked out well for us! Understand this is very rustic and it's been around awhile, it's not a Hilton Garden Inn if that's your level of comparison. It's in the woods, and across from a beautiful stream, so there's bugs and critters around, we had none in our room, but I wouldn't totally freak if I did. I had a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Craig K
Washington dc
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We discovered Cheat River when our son was about 4...he's now 23!!! We loved this place from the get-go because it is so peaceful and relaxing.We just recently stayed here again in August (17,18) and were with another couple who had never been. The weather was picture perfect and we enjoyed fishing, playing cards and relaxing. We stayed at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lisawashington50
Lunadawg2004, Manager at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, responded to this review

We couldn't have said it better ourselves!

NY
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I stayed at the Rhododendron at the end of June and I had a strikingly similiar experience to "Bats at the Rhododenron Cabin". It's both disappointing and disturbing to know that the owners knew about the bat infestation and chose not to do anything about it. We also had other problems with this establishment. When we attempted to check in...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank CheatedattheCheat
search&rescue, Manager at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, responded to this review

We actually did do something. We called the West Virginia Dept of Natural Resources because this is a naturally occurring event involving wildlife for which we have no control over. Bats, fall under their jurisdiction. It is against the law for me to attempt to destroy a native species, but we did cover the chimney opening to the stone fireplace,...

Belmont, Ohio
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I read several of the reviews of this establishment and felt it might be a nice overnight for my wife and I. We called and the lady that answered the phone was so sweet and nice. She did her best to get us a room but she didn't have the space for us on two days notice. I was impressed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank davidpaula
search&rescue, Owner at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, responded to this review

We are an unusual find. Accommodations where you have private baths & entrances (ie: NOT a B&B), and you have a view (ie: NOT four walls off of a corridor). There are not many of us out there, where you call and a human answers (ie: NOT a machine that says "press 1 if....", or "press 2 if ...." )....

Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My husband and I were getting away for our anniversary, and found this place online. After reading some reviews, we decided it sounded like a nice place to visit. The people I spoke with on the phone were friendly and there were no problems getting the reservation. They called to verify what time we would be arriving and left us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank love2laff
search&rescue, Owner at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, responded to this review

Anniversary ? and considering the Holiday Inn ? If you were willing to pay their fees, our riverside cabins which have 'private' hot tubs' could have been an option. I'm glad you brought up the subject of our hot tubs. We've been managing these hot tubs for over 28 yrs now, with the same personel for 25 years !!! We...

Maryland
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Yes, that's plural. The number one thing to ask management before you agree to staying here is - if I find bats in my cabin can I get a refund? In June our family stayed at the Rhododendron cabin and we booked for five nights. On our second days morning my wife spotted what she thought was a bird fly...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank MdRngr
search&rescue, Owner at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, responded to this review

Bats, snakes, and bear, are product of our environment. A fuzzy bunny, and Bambi aren't our only visitors. This is a National Forest, awesome big trees, beautiful clean & clear streams with fish that are safe to eat ! We're West Virgina....WILD & WONDERFUL !!! This lady had a mind set to leave, and refused to move to another cabin...

Oil City, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at Cheat River Lodge. The lodge is located across a road from the Cheat River. The rooms are very reasonably priced and the screened-in porch with rockers is a great place for relaxing. The owner is not on-site; she lives out of state, but this did not present a problem. She was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ZZMorgan
search&rescue, Owner at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, responded to this review

FYI: This is a 'family' operated business with members living just 1/4 mile away. The property manager lives only 1 mile away. We answer the telephone 24/7. You will speak to a human, not a machine. A courtesy phone is available (at all times) on the porch of the store. The quilts mentioned are not the stiff, slick, and shiney...

Elizabeth, Wv
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Was very impressed with our stay. My husband and I wanted a getaway for our 10th Anniversary and was extremely pleased with the hospitality and our cabin. Very relaxing and even had a grill on the back deck for use. My husband was also able to fish and caught Rainbow, Brook, and a Golden trout all within 45 minutes. We...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CabinFever2012
Morgantown, West Virginia
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This charming, rustic lodge is situated across the street from the Cheat River just a few miles from Elkins, WV and 30 to 45 minutes to Dolly Sods, Canaan Valley, and many other fabulous outdoor activities. I called short notice (3 days) wanting a room for a Saturday. The lady was so helpful, calling me back when she was able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mountainmama79
Newark, Delaware, United States
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed there one night because we had business the next day in Elkins. It was like a mini vacation. We woke up the next day and it was snowing. There was a guy fly fishing in the river, in the snow. It was a freak storm in April and it was very beautiful. The room was very nice, with...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bob B

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkins
4.7 mi away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#2 of 8 in Elkins
260 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkins
Hampton Inn Elkins
#1 of 8 in Elkins
520 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
4.0 mi away
Super 8 Elkins
Super 8 Elkins
#4 of 8 in Elkins
285 reviews
19.9 mi away
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For the true nature lover”
 of 5 bubbles jimkettren, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“This was a cabin - not a hotel - it had one bedroom with a queen bed and bunks to accommodate two more people”
 of 5 bubbles 756marylua, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“View of the river”
 of 5 bubbles Jennifer052275, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Not a good value for the money spent. Look elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles Lyne_23, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Bring fire starter for the wood burning stove.”
  • Another bedroom with cozy atmosphere and bed.
  • Bed rooms with comfortable beds.
 of 5 bubbles theresal735, 27 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5