We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

South Branch Inn Romney

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Romney
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
South Branch Inn Romney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 44: English reviews
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2016

This was a return stay at this hotel for me. The last time I was here for business and we made use of the conference rooms as well as the guest rooms. Remembering my stay as quiet, clean, and comfortable, I chose it for this pleasure trip. I booked the king suite for access to a HUGE jacuzzi tub for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda N
wvtraveler1968, Owner at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We hope you were able to ride the Potomac Eagle Train. If not, come back again to ride it, especially in the fall. The colors are amazing! More 

Shippenville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Our photography club went to an event at Potomac Eagles Trains. Since the event went until around 10pm, a bunch of us decided to stay overnight. The two of us picked this one with two beds. A couple went to a more luxurious hotel out of town since it was his birthday and they wanted to be special. Another man... More 

Helpful?
Thank DCE2000
wvtraveler1968, Owner at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We enjoyed having your group. I will pass on your kind words to the staff. Hope to see you again. More 

WV
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We we very disappointed in our stay here. The exterior is really nice. The location is convenient and feels safe. The front desk was friendly. For $91/night I just expected more. Beds are doubles, not queens. To get a room with a king bed we would have had to pay an extra $45. My experience has been that a king... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1BJ1987
wvtraveler1968, Owner at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Our facility was built in 2005 and we tried to follow the traditional look of historic Romney. We used more colonial colors of navy blue, burgundy and forest green. The Suites in our hotel have king beds; that is why there is an increase in price. The cost of a... More 

Marion, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I spent the night to ride the train nice clean motel with pretty good continental breakfast. My only complaint the bed was uncomfortable. Other than that a nice place. Not many other options in this area.Very conveniently located near good restaraunt and grocery store

Helpful?
Thank larry h
wvtraveler1968, Owner at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. In your review you mention the bed is not comfortable. If you get a change and can call us and let us know what room you were in, we can check the bed asap. We always want our guests to have a good night's sleep. Hope to see you again and thank you for... More 

Auburn, IL
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We spent a weekend here for a mini family reunion and train ride. A quiet place with friendly people. the staff could not have been better. lots of information about the local area. There are also beautiful paintings on the wall that are for sale. Our only complaint was about the wifi. It wasn't the hotel's wifi either, because we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
wvtraveler1968, Owner at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and thank you for letting us know about your Wi-Fi issue. We will look into it and see if there were any other issues. Hope to see you again on your next trip to Romney. More 

Lander, Wyoming
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

I was in Romney for a business meeting and researched the only two hotels in Romney to stay in, by the photos on the website and a ride by the other hotel I chose the South Branch Inn. The staff was friendly and the room was nice and clean, my only concern was the price being just on the high... More 

Helpful?
Thank Blewis44
wvtraveler1968, Owner at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Romney. More 

Lake Elmo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
611 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2016

We had a comfortable night here in Romney. This hotel has been recently renovated and is now in fine condition. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was very spacious and clean. The exercise room was the best equipped that we've seen. The morning breakfast however was very slim. Basically coffee and donuts and maybe cereal.

Helpful?
Thank OneAddictedTraveler
wvtraveler1968, General Manager at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Romney. We do offer fresh fruit, yogurt, hot and cold cereals, bagels, juice, milk, jimmy dean breakfast sandwiches, danish, and muffins. The only time we may not have a single item is if we run out before our next delivery. We are sorry... More 

Huntington, WV
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

Great place in the heart of Romney. Wonderful staff are welcoming and treat you like family. Rooms are clean and quiet for your comfort and relaxation. Close to down town Romney with easy access to restaurants. Community is friendly and welcoming to all.

Helpful?
Thank KCBilly
wvtraveler1968, General Manager at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! I will pass along your kind words to the staff. More 

Romney, West Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2015

This is a really nice facility with friendly staff and comfortable rooms. The rooms are spacious, beds are comfortable and the breakfast is good. They have meeting facilities and guest laundry. The internet works well and plenty of parking. The only negative aspect is that it is a bit pricey for this small community.

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
wvtraveler1968, Owner at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! Hope you are able to visit the area again soon. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

Had my doubts on the drive in its kinda back in the wood but that's what I like this hotel is great. So clean they have to come in and clean every 3 days even if you don't need it no pool big conference room and breakfast at 5am. If you have to stay in Romney come to the south... More 

Helpful?
Thank motoman81888
wvtraveler1968, General Manager at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us! More 

5 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romney
17.0 mi away
Keyser Inn
Keyser Inn
#2 of 2 in Keyser
43 reviews
21.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 5 in LaVale
78 reviews
22.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
416 reviews
22.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Braddock Inn
22.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The South Branch Inn Romney is located in historic Romney West Virginia. We have 61 rooms, including suites with Jacuzzis. Our conference facilities are perfect for meetings or receptions. All rooms come with a free continental breakfast and free internet. We have an exercise facility within 5 feet of our hotel! We have a guest laundry on site for you to use when you are traveling with a ball team. We have a small gift shop in the lobby. All rooms are given 1 free movie pass per night to the local movie theater so that you can see the new block buster release movies. We are open 24 hours a day. We have hosted many events with local, state and federal agencies as well as important dignitaries. We have a great AAA and health department rating! We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about South Branch Inn Romney

Address: 64 Heritage Cir, Romney, WV 26757-6341
Region: United States > West Virginia > Romney
Price Range: £67 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 61
Also Known As:
South Branch Hotel Romney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from South Branch Inn Romney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I believe there is only one king suite, so advance booking for it is recommended.”
 of 5 bubbles lindan708, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“First floor room was very convenient # 109 or lower is close to lobby. Bushes stop passers-by from getting too close to windows.”
 of 5 bubbles NJ-Surfcrab, 17 May 2015 | Read review
“A room at the end of the hall or an upper floor will minimize noise from neighboring rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Ancient_Mountaineer, 1 Jun 2013 | Read review
“stay away. I should have realized there was a problem, when I discovered no one else was there.”
 of 5 bubbles ebparks_12, 24 Oct 2012 | Read review
“Stay at the Koolwink which is closer to town and cheaper”
 of 5 bubbles rickw413, 30 Jul 2012 | Read review
5 of 5