We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wingate by Wyndham Charleston

Save
Traveller (40)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (1)
Ratings and reviews
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good30%
  • Average12%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“front desk”(78 reviews)
“the holiday inn”(39 reviews)
“hot tub”(30 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Airport Transportation
Suites
Fitness centre
Kitchenette
Wheelchair access
Business Centre
Dry Cleaning
Self-Serve Laundry
Shuttle Bus Service
2 Star Hotel
Offers from Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Special Offer: Stay 2+ Nights, Save 20%
Hotel deals
View all hotel information
Location and contact
402 2nd Ave, South Charleston, WV 25303-1216
Hotel website
5.4 miles to Yeager Airport
22 restaurants are within a 1 mile radius
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,123)
Filter reviews
1,123 results
Traveller rating
553
347
144
50
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
553
347
144
50
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskthe holiday innhot tubwingate by wyndhamfree sodafree breakfasttrain tracksvery nice hotela great staybeds were comfortablenice breakfastwould definitely stay here againparking lotthe breakfast areanice roomone night staycookies
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1,123 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a great property. The rooms are being renovated and we were able to stay in one of the renovated rooms and they are gorgeous. Everything was perfect. I can't say enough about how accommodating the staff and front desk was.

Thank BURGESS-IN-VA
Response from WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham CharlestonResponded 1 week ago

Hello BURGESS-IN-VA, Thank you so much for such kind words about our staff. I'm happy you liked the newly renovated rooms and appreciate your stay with us!

Hotel's Favourite
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose this place as a one nighter on our way to Illinois. We were not disappointed. The staff was very helpful. The breakfast was better then most. Lots to chose from. The room was good size and up to date as it is being...More

Thank Teddyballgame999
Response from WingateCharlestonMGR, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham CharlestonResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Teddyballgame999, Thank you so much! We're very happy to see you liked it so much you returned on the way back home. Thank you for mentioning our staff and very glad you were not disappointed in your choice. I hope we'll see you again...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Great stay. Beautiful room. Breakfast was delicious. We were a little concerned with renovations going on we didn't know about but our stay turned out fine. Everyone was so nice to us during our stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dwilso788797
Response from WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham CharlestonResponded 1 week ago

Dear dwilso788797, I'm happy your stay was great and that our renovations were not disruptive to you. We hope you'll drop in again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

so we traveled from Wisconsin to Tennessee and then from there to Myrtle Beach and back to Wisconsin, this was our half way stop to sleep and by far, the best hotel on our whole trip! the lady at the front desk, as well as...More

Thank Shannon M
Response from WingateCharlestonMGR, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham CharlestonResponded 1 week ago

Dear Shannon, Thank you so much for the great comments, and I'm happy our FD staff were so welcoming to you. Traveling that far can be stressful, so we're glad we got to be your stop-over point for your trip! We hope to see you...More

Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Worst experience. There is no Wi-Fi in room except for lobby, and whole room stinks with weird smell. And when we asked for change in room , it was denied. It's strange that we were called in lobby to show Wi-Fi is working downstairs when...More

1  Thank Komal B
Response from WingateCharlestonMGR, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham CharlestonResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Traveler, We are sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations for this stay and while we always try to improve our guests experience, there were physically no other rooms as we were sold out. I'm sorry that it impacted your stay so...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wheelchair access
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Shuttle Bus Service
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Room amenities
Microwave
Things to do
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hot Tub
Details
Price range
US$110 - US$158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$110 - US$158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (40)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (4)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Missy B
11 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from amber111211 |
It is about 7 minutes away
1
Vote
Snapshot_Diner
13 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from WingateCharlestonMGR | Property representative |
Hello Snapshot_Diner, No, we are not a pet -friendly hotel. Sorry.
0
Votes
meldelmail
5 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ann m | Reviewed this property |
The two room suites have a small dining table for chairs, sofa and a door separating the bedroom from the living/dining room.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"stayed many times on different floors all good"
Read review
"quiet depends on how many people staying in hotel at the time."
Read review
"We were on the 5th floor."
Read review
"Room on top floor was quiet."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing