We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

235 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 230: English reviews
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Reviewed 6 December 2014

Working in the Portage area I was in need of a room with a good bed, pleasant and responsive staff and an early complimentary breakfast for a reasonable price. The Best Western was a good fit for all three for the right price. The WiFi and business services more than matched what I needed. I will be staying here again...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BILL B
BW_Manager20, Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area.

La Crosse, United States
Reviewed 5 November 2014

The staff are very friendly, and assist with all questions. The room has neat, and cleaned appropriately. I was able to work, from the high-speed internet that was provided. Breakfast is always supplied, from 6a-9am, although it is the same every morning.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kayla P
BW_Manager20, Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We do try and switch breakfast up every other day, to give different options. Hope to see you again if you are in the area.

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 4 November 2014

We booked this room to go to the Dells. I thought that it was a good value, and is about 15 min or so from the dells....nice and quiet. The hotel could use some updates, but all in all it was a good value. The Wi-Fi in the room was a little up and down (inconsistent). The breakfast was free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HeavyDB
BW_Manager20, Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us a review of your recent stay. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again if you are in the area.

Reviewed 27 October 2014

Unfortunately there aren't alot of choices in Portage. This hotel needs remodeling badly, and I believe this is in the process of happening here. I looked at two rooms, before I committed to staying at this hotel. The first room was on the 4th floor but the whole floor smelled bad. I asked to see another room on the first...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barbara K
BW_Manager20, Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. You are correct, we are in the process of remodeling the hotel.

Manitou Beach, United States
Reviewed 16 October 2014

My wife and I spent two nights....the hotel was kept very clean,the staff very friendly. We would stay here again if ever in the area. Also, eat at Susie's,next to hotel. The food was great and the staff so helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank William P
BW_Manager20, Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be back, when you are in our area. I do agree that Suzy's is a great place to eat, the steaks are excellent!!

Osseo, Wisconsin
Reviewed 8 October 2014

Unfortunately I was only here one night on business, this room would have been nice for a couples stay, with the huge whirlpool tub in the room. The room was nice and quiet, and comfortable. I didn't sleep as well as I usually do in a BW, and I think it was because the bed was a little softer and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
BW_Manager20, Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again if you are in our area!

Missouri City, Texas
Reviewed 30 September 2014

Reserved a 1 bedroom suite for my wife and I and granddaughter. We had a separate bedroom with a door and our own TV. A shared bathe between it and living room with sofa bed and TV for her. All for less than $100. Their suites are all at end of hall - very quiet. Indoor pool. A very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TomTexan
BW_Manager20, Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am happy that you still decided to judge us for yourself and not go by some of the reviews, we appreciate all reviews that are done, it does give us a chance to improve in these areas. We hope to see you again if you are...

Lisle, Illinois
Reviewed 30 September 2014

I was nervous after reading a few of the more recent reviews. Yes, slight musk. But slight, and I would not have noticed if I wasn't looking out for it. Yes, there were a couple stains on sheets... but in this particular room they just looking like light pen marks in just a few places. The room was comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaGal91
BW_Manager20, Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the honest review of your stay. I am glad that you didn't listen to some of the other reviews and decided to judge for yourself. Hope to see you again if you are in our area!

mosinee, United States
Reviewed 22 September 2014

very nice with a few minor exceptions overall I loved it. will definatly stay here again, nice 2 room sweet quiet and restfull and my love says very romantic, she was surprised, and showed her happy face all night long

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David T
BW_Manager20, Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

I am happy to know that you enjoyed the 2 room suite and you will be stopping again if you are in our area. Thank you for staying with us!!

Reviewed 17 September 2014

Much more than we expected. From the great welcoming greeting to the last good byes, it was all great. Rooms large clean and quiet. The breakfast hot and very tasty.( great sausage and bisquits ) Michelle was great, took the time and effort to make sure we had a great stay. Thanks to all the staff. don't hesitate to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StormyIllinois
BW_Manager20, Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review of your stay with us. I appreciate all of the kind words and I will make sure to pass them onto the staff! Hope to see you again, if you are in our area!!

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
6.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 6 in Portage
200 reviews
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Portage
Days Inn Portage
#4 of 6 in Portage
407 reviews
16.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ridge Motor Inn
Ridge Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Portage
54 reviews
13.0 mi away
Devils Head Resort
Devils Head Resort
#1 of 1 in Merrimac
151 reviews
16.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Baraboo Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 2701 County Road CX, Portage, WI 53901-9268
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Portage
Price Range: £61 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portage Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
Villa Park, Illinois
8 months ago
Wausau, Wisconsin
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“call ahead if you want joining rooms”
 of 5 bubbles ISEI3, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“book on 5th floor for pleasant view”
 of 5 bubbles Manny965, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Be Careful Parking Your Car Due to the Swallows Making Mud Nests on the Walls of the Hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles chibearbob, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I took the ground floor and probably got a handicapped bath. This made it harder to wash my hair and face.”
 of 5 bubbles I7714UTwilliamc, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Always checks under the sheet and between the mattress and box spring for bed bugs”
 of 5 bubbles Asyngin, 29 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5