We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Camp Aloha Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Camp Aloha Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

12 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 12: English reviews
kent
Reviewed 29 April 2015

Camp Aloha offered us peace and tranquillity after a hectic sight seeing tour. Joan welcomed us to her home and made us very welcome. The accommodation was spacious and the open air kitchen fantastic. Joan provided breakfast and advise on places to go of interest and snorkelling! The pool and hot tub offers a wonderful view of the sunset -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sajokilv
Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My girfriend and I stayed at Camp Aloha for a week, and had an extremely good experience. Being situated a little way from Kona itself, the place is niely secluded from all the very touristy places. If you want ocean front boardwalks and souvenir shopping, you should find somewhere else. Camp Aloha feels more like staying in the jungle, with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JonasJensen
Stockholm Nj
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I travel a lot and never review anything but I had to make an exception for Camp Aloha. We spent a wonderful 10 days here in Sept. on our honeymoon and we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Joan and Casey were our hosts and they were fantastic, just very friendly people with even friendlier dogs. Everyday...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dennis T
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The grounds and views are very Hawaiian, relaxing and away from the busy life, my wife and I loved it. The accommodations are comfortable and you get to enjoy the sounds of the farm and rain forest. We stayed 3 nights and used the B&B as a base for the seeing the west side. Wished we had planned more days...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bob N
Reviewed 8 June 2012

If you want 5 star accommodation then this place isn't for you, but if you want a gorgeous location, generous and friendly hosts and the facilities to have not only breakfast but also lunch and tea if you want, then this is the place for you. The accomodation is basic but has everything you could ask for, lovely comfy bed,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RemusHowl
Reviewed 17 February 2012

If your looking for a resort style vacation, this is not the place for you. But if you're looking for the feeling of a home away from home in the lush warm climate of Hawaii..then this is the spot. Camp Aloha provides great value for the price. I loved packing up the rental car at the beginning of our vacation...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EastSooketravellers
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewed 4 December 2011

A friend asked me what the highlight of our trip to Hawaii was and I said that it was our stay at Camp Aloha! Very comfortable and relaxed, helpful and super friendly hosts, lovely surroundings... My husband and I will be very relunctant to stay in "resort-y" places from now on. As Casey liked to say, "It's not for everyone",...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KristnNDave
West Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We had a wonderful time with great hosts, sweet pooch, & lots of laughs. The room was clean, nice & airy - our own private suite. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B to my friends, as long as they were going at a different time than me. This is one of the better B&B's I've ever stayed in.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kac8703
Santa Cruz, CA
Reviewed 20 October 2010

I really didn't need to hear about how "lazy the local Hawaiians are", that the host "really doesn't like people" or that "I don't like living here because the **** traffic is so bad". Had a very odd experience with the grouch of a host in a rather moldy room.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JohninSantaCruz
DuckyToo, Owner at Camp Aloha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We've decided this rather disappointing review is a mistake by JohninSantaCruz. The two visitors we had in December of 2009 have both re-booked at Camp Aloha as do over half of our visitors and none were named John. We knew something was wrong because I simply don't talk about my neighbors and future nephew in this way. Please be extra...

San Francisco
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Last month our family of four returned to Camp Aloha B & B for the third time and had another great experience at an untouchable price! Casey, Joan and Lani-the-dog are the perfect hosts because they provide a space and lifestyle that is the antithesis to the snooty fake resorts and fancy frufru bed and breakfast places. An alternative to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaptainSpooneye

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
9.5 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
221 reviews
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
15.7 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 17 in Captain Cook
375 reviews
10.1 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#6 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
781 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dragonfly Ranch - Healing Arts Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Camp Aloha is located 700 feet off Painted Church Road a few miles South of Captain Cook . The entrance drive passes through forty foot Mango and Avocado Trees. Small patches of Timber Bamboo separate Macadamia orchards and different species of Banana patches. Our Home and B&B is at the top of the drive with a view that looks out over Honaunau Bay and miles of Pacific Ocean shoreline from an elevation of 1000 feet (cool evenings). We only have one set of visitors at a time. It is private. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Camp Aloha Bed & Breakfast

Address: 84-5210 Painted Church Rd, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8410
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Price Range: £59 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Camp Aloha Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Captain Cook
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Camp Aloha Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“only one room so made it very special and romantic”
 of 5 bubbles sajokilv, 29 Apr 2015 | Read review
1 of 1