We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Volcano Village Lodge

Traveller (373)
Room & Suite (197)
Dining (31)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Heaven on Earth. Welcome to the paradox of fire and tranquility. We created the Hawaii Volcano Village Lodge for people who want more out of life than a whirlwind tour of the island. Located just a mile from the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, our lodges and retreat are where you will wake up in peace and beauty. Stroll through the sacred rainforest and rest in your deluxe lodge with every comfort, including the plushest bedding, a fireplace, DVD, CD, private telephone, wireless connection, tropical breakfasts and more.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hot Tub
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
HOTEL CLASS
741Reviews
444Photos
3Q+A
89Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 655
  • 61
  • 18
  • 6
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed in the Mauna Kea room, and it was perfect! The setting, views, furniture, decor, room design and materials combine for a peaceful, welcoming experience. An added thoughtful, but unexpected, bonus was the availability of neck support pillows! Pua was a charming host.
Read more
We stayed at the Volcano Village Lodge with our extended family of 10 people, ages 13 - 86. The lodge is absolutely magical. We had four separate freestanding suites in the rainforest, all connected by wooden walkways and well-lit paths. Each suite was beautifully decorated and
Read more
Such a lovely 1-2 night retreat from hustle & bustle of hawaii towns like Kona or Hilo -- Pua is a fabulous host . . . her french toast amazing . . . beautiful surroundings . . . well cared for . . . a truly special place, even if it is a bit pricey.
Read more
Probably this hotel is wonderful as the rest of the people comment, but unfortunately I’ve never stayed and here my reason of disappointment. I booked and paid really early in the year for a non-refundable reservation of several nights in May, 2018. The Halema‘uma‘u started its
Read more
Response from emmaspencerliving, General Manager at Volcano Village Lodge
Responded 19 Oct 2018
Hi Anagbl, Thank you for your comments, we are very sorry that you not able to visit Volcano, and were not treated with a little more sympathy by our team at the lodge. It is important to us that all guests receive the same respect if they stay or have to cancel. As you mentioned your reservation at the time of booking was non-refundable and we do have to pay the tax on any monies we collect. The lodge was open, the air was worse on the coast and did not affect us much, and we had no closures or area evacuations therefore our cancellation policy was enforced. We cannot stress to guests enough that it is always good to purchase travel insurance, with an active volcano and the risk of hurricanes we highly recommend travel insurance to the island. If you choose to come to Hawaii in the future, please contact our innkeeper directly and we will see what we can do to help with your booking. With regards Emma Spencer Living
Read more
My wife and I had a great time here on our honeymoon! Though we were bummed that the Volcanoes National Park was closed--we visited in August--I could see that this would be the perfect place to stay to explore the park thanks to its close proximity, having breakfast provided
Read more
Response from emmaspencerliving, General Manager at Volcano Village Lodge
Responded 19 Oct 2018
Thank you for your wonderful review, I am glad that our team was accommodating with your change in plans and were able to assist you, we look forward to seeing you on a future anniversary!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementVolcano Village Lodge
Haleakala, Sleeps 3 guests, 1 Queen, 1 Sofa bed, luxury linens, TV, fridge, microwave
Dining Area of Mauna Loa Suite
PreviousNext
12345640
Aloha, Mahalo for sending us your question! The Mauna Kea and Haleakala rooms are very similar in size and layout. The big difference between the two is the view! The Mauna Kea room is nicknamed our "Tree House" room because the room sits a bit higher off the ground than our other units and has wonderful views of the tops of the tree ferns. The Haleakala room sits below the fern tops and has a spectacular view of the rainforest floor, including a naturally-formed lava rock structure. If you have any additional questions, feel free to reach out to us directly! The Staff at Volcano Village Lodge
0 votes
Show all answers
Aloha Lisa, You can contact our office at (808) 985-9500 from 9am-6pm HST. Mahalo
0 votes
Show all answers
What activities has the lodge??
"We enjoyed the Mauna Kea because it was at the end of the collection of rooms, and it was extremely private."
"Mauna Loa Suite is good for families."
"We stayed in Hale Manaluna which had the added advantage of giving us the solo use of the library and access to snacks after hours."
"Stayed in Mauna Loa which had plenty of space, nice furnishings, loved it!"
"Larger rooms have a kitchenette and tub. My small room however was quite adequate."
PreviousNext
12345618
PRICE RANGE
US$310 - US$466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
volcano village hotel volcano
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiVolcano
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing