We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Poipu Plantation Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Poipu Plantation Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 228: English reviews
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Thank you to Poipu Plantation Resort! Your team was very pleasant and helpful. We found the unit well equipped for our needs of making breakfast and lunch. Flowers in our room upon arrival with coffee and mac nut cookies. We visited at the end of October into November and it was about 35c or 88F so our upper unit with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank jods1000
United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our fourth stay at the beautiful Poipu Plantation B&B : this wonderful place is our “home away from home”. It is Hawai’i as we dream of it and … even better. The Ali'i suite was so welcoming, sparkling clean and well appointed as usual, the common areas always inviting and relaxing , with bright and cheerful decor. We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LauraDiItaly
Newcastle , UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights and from making the booking to checking out nothing more could have been done to make our stay more memorable. The Inn is located close to the beach within it's own grounds, rooms immaculate with nice touches such as fresh flowers. Maile Suite was big with a separate dressing area , bed was so comfortable ,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Treemag
PPR1792, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo nui for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the Inn and your room features. Guests like yourselves are what make our time and efforts so worthwhile. We really enjoy hosing guests like yourselves that know how to enjoy themselves. Have a wonderful year with lots of Aloha! A hui... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

My first negative response ever, we just felt we had to warn people considering this place for a vacation. To summarize it all: there as not only an internal thief on the property but also the owner, Chris, demonstrates inadequate behaviour. To make a long story short, we vacationed in Poipu Plantation in January 2016 and wrote a great review... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Elena K
PPR1792, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

The guest little girl lost her mini ipad and blame by the family was immediately placed on our staff. It was found 6 months later. Who has misplaced something and were absolutely sure where it was left? All of us. It was heart wrenching that a guest would think this of our staff and myself. We did a full "investigation".... More 

Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We were back to Poipu Plantation after many years from our previous trip. We had excellent memories of our previous stay and we were not disappointed by our present vacation: Poipu Plantation is still as it used to be, which is very good news. It is located in the Poipu area, which to us is the best region in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Giorgio M
PPR1792, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Giorgio M and thank you very much for your review of our property and for returning as you do. It is so helpful that you share information about our property, staff and location to the beach. As much as we provide photos and descriptions, there is nothing more valuable than hearing it from someone that visits here with fresh... More 

ubud
Level Contributor
155 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Spent a really enjoyable five nights here in a ground floor apartment without b&b. Condo was clean, spacious with a well equipped kitchen, lounge and comfy bed. Cool breeze without the air con but there if you need it. Communal laundry and free beach gear available even cool boxes. Javed (sorry if spelling is wrong) was super friendly and helpful... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jan497
PPR1792, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Aloha jan947 and thank you, mahalo nui for taking the time to review our property. We are so happy that you enjoyed our place and made use of what we have to offer. Javed (you are right) is yes, Mr. Hospitality. We all love our island and want to be sure our guests get the full enjoyment of such a... More 

Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

This report offers quite a good value in Poipu. This review does not apply to the B&B portion of the development as we stayed in one of the large rental apartments. The unit was large and very clean - just as the pictures in their marketing materials indicate. The location is excellent and in walking distance to the beach but... More 

Helpful?
Thank 758Paul423
PPR1792, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Aloha 758Paul423 and thank you for your review. We appreciate hearing what we might do to improve our services. General cleaning products for guests are in the laundry hut, but we too have been considering these for each suite. We will look into options for keeping the afternoon sun more muted at the west facing upper suites. Thank you for... More 

Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We had the loveliest honeymoon/anniversary here. We waited a year to take our trip, but it was worth it! This property is small, and we stayed in the condos, so there were no hotel amenities. However, it was peaceful, beautiful, and affordable. When we arrived, the staff had put plumeria flowers everywhere, along with a box of chocolate covered macademia... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wazula
PPR1792, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Aloha wazula and thank you for being our guests and taking the time to share your thoughts. We are so happy you enjoyed our place and your wonderful Honeymoon and Anniversary. We try to provide the best beds for all, but with the newest cushy ones, it really depends on what someone is accustomed to. We are using a Hilton... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2016

The apartment had plenty of space and a full kitchen. It was a short drive to Poipu sites and restaurants. The office staff was wonderful. They helped us plan our days and gave advice on local farmers markets, scenic drives, uncrowded beaches, and helped us buy a boat tour at a discounted price. My only complaint was the old, flat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beth B
PPR1792, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Beth B and thank you for your nice review of our place here in Poipu Beach. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are so happy you had a great trip. I would like to say though that we don't have "old pillows"; flat, perhaps. I admit our green pillow could be considered "flat"... More 

Dunnellon, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2016

We stayed 14 nights at Poipu Plantation Resort. It is a block from the Ocean and a short walk to 2 beaches, one with green sea turtles and big waves for belly boarding and one with different areas for swimming, snorkeling, picnicking or wading. Poipu is a great central location to stay for visiting most parts of Kauai within driving... More 

Helpful?
Thank Connie H
PPR1792, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Connie H, thank you for taking the time to review your experience staying with us here in Poipu Beach. We feel very fortunate to have so many guests that enjoy our area and the magic island of Kauai. We hope to see you here again, A hui hou! Chris More 

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (142)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wonderful value and quality accommodations at Poipu Beach. Never an extra fee, pay room and tax only! Poipu Beach neighborhood resort includes ten Vacation Rentals with kitchen (non B&B) and four Plantation House bed and breakfast suites with daily breakfast(no kitchens),all in air conditioned comfort. Situated on spacious gardens an easy walk to Brennecke's and Poipu beaches and the surrounding coastline. This is Poipu's best value. **Breakfast included for Inn guests only (no kitchens). Rental guests with full kitchen, breakfast is not offered. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Poipu Plantation Resort

Address: 1792 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9535
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Price Range: £131 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Poipu Plantation Hotel Poipu
Poipu Plantation Resort Kauai, Hawaii
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Poipu Plantation Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Tauranga, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Poipu Plantation Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2nd Floor for best views”
 of 5 bubbles jods1000, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Condo is fabulous - B&B rooms looked very nice as well, but no views.”
 of 5 bubbles Opera_lover054, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“Poipu owns condo 204. This is a small building with about 30 units.”
 of 5 bubbles JoanneandWallace, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“The Ali room with a King Bed and beautiful furnishings”
  • Sitting Area In Ali Room
  • King Bed in Ali room
 of 5 bubbles BKL33458, 10 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Second floor rooms have the views.”
 of 5 bubbles EAZELIFF, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5