We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hana Maui Botanical Gardens

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hana
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hana Maui Botanical Gardens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 45: English reviews
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2016

This is an oasis that a must be approached from an island style perspective - this lady offers something that no one else offers: a slice of Maui that can't be known unless you love what's really important about the jewel of our nation. Please don't miss this little Hana spot - where old school meets earnest organic tourism and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jefkjp
Manitoba
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2015

This property is very run down. The gardens are not cared for. The room we stayed in was very weary. There was dirt and dead bugs under the bed and old dusty spider webs in the walks. The beds and linens are old and weary. The breakfast was a chocolate muffin that we were told to warm in a frying... More 

Helpful?
Thank qhfemme
Rainbow44, Owner at Hana Maui Botanical Gardens, responded to this review

I am sorry for your experience. I had knee replacement and had to stay in rehab for 2 months. I depended on people staying there to manage it well. Sadly, however, it wasn't. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2015

I didn't experience the B&B, but the gardens were a beautiful place to stroll around and eat lunch from the food truck. I'm not sure it was an investment I'd make again given there's a lot see and do on this road, but fees support the garden's maintenance.

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda T
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2015

Expectations are the root of disappointment. The key here is to have no expectations. You also must know yourself and your companion(s) very well. What is your threshold for accommodations? A luxury hotel? A budget hotel? A mountain cabin? A tent? Hana Maui Botanical Gardens is somewhere between a mountain cabin and a tent. The property is decrepit, reached by... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank James G
Rainbow44, Owner at Hana Maui Botanical Gardens, responded to this review

Aloha, Sorry you were not comfortable. I did try to address the sound between the studios. Both side of the wall has 2" thick cedar with insulation in between. However, it is so quiet here that sound does travel easily. Yes, we do have cane spiders visit occasionally. They actually are quite beneficial as they eat other bugs, so most... More 

Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2015

While applauding the sustainable approach to her facility, we found the Marine Home troubling to say the least. First thing we saw was a large tropical cockroach which we killed. Mosquitoes were vicious and both were "allowed" entry via a sliding screen door which did not close properly. This spot was decorated w/a fish/marine theme everywhere--fish imbedded in flooring, hanging... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank S C
Rainbow44, Owner at Hana Maui Botanical Gardens, responded to this review

Sorry, you were not comfortable. I do try to explain carefully that is the rain forest with all that entails. One is insects. I do what I can without poison spraying. I leave box poisons and box traps. I just had fun decorating what I called the Marine Studio. So that is what the decorations were all about. Just for... More 

Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2015

We stayed one night. It was a fine little space but the beds had plastic sheets and were very loud and crunchy to sleep on. We left the place very clean and the woman threatened to charge an extra for the cleaning. Not much to the gardens.

Helpful?
Thank BobSeegs
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2015

We stayed here January 2015 and loved the place. It's in the middle of a huge garden, there are geckos on the wall, left over books to read and games to use. We aren't bug phobic, so I guess if you cringe a the first site of anything with 6 or 8 legs moving you might not be as happy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lolo0777
Rainbow44, Owner at Hana Maui Botanical Gardens, responded to this review

Aloha, thank you so much for your kind review. It is so nice when people are happy to post that because usually it is only the unhappy people. Smile. More 

Level Contributor
60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2014

We LOVED this out of the way, off the grid, very basic location. No cell phone or internet service and solar power supplying the electricity. It is one duplex (2 rooms) and we stayed in the larger "Marine Room." Sink, stove and refridgerator with a comfortable bed and small bathroom. Nothing fancy in ANY way, but the gardens are WONDERFUL!.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bill D
Rainbow44, Owner at Hana Maui Botanical Gardens, responded to this review

So kind of you to write a review. Most that are happy at all, don't take the time to do that. Usually, only the unhappy people write reviews. Smile. More 

Fritz Creek, Alaska
Level Contributor
298 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

If you are looking for luxury and amenities, this is not your place. If you are into nature and basics stay here. We spent 2 nights in the Marine Suite. It was clean and comfortable. If you are from the city and don't understand 'Off The Grid' you might not get it. We are from Alaska so in a lot... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank DCody
Rainbow44, Owner at Hana Maui Botanical Gardens, responded to this review

Mahalo to you, too. More 

Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We were very disappointed in the Hana Maui Botanical Gardens B&B. It's not a B&B in my book. The "continental" breakfast consists of one frozen Cosco muffin per day per person. You have to take it out of the fridge and heat it yourself (and the oven doesn't work, there's a note saying it's broken). There's a note on the... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank FurtherAway

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
4.0 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
3.8 mi away
Hana Kai Maui
Hana Kai Maui
#2 of 2 in Hana
625 reviews
43.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.7 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
6.0 mi away
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
20.0 mi away
Peace Of Maui
Peace Of Maui
#1 of 2 in Makawao
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A large easy to walk garden with semi tropical fruits and flowers. A fee of $3 per person is requested. Area is approximately 10 acres and takes about 15 minutes unless you want to relax more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hana Maui Botanical Gardens

Address: 470 Ulaino Rd, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Price Range: £213 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Hana Maui Botanical Gardens Bed And Breakfast
Hana Maui Botanical Gardens Hotel Hana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hana Maui Botanical Gardens staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hana Maui Botanical Gardens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“would not recommend”
 of 5 bubbles SC821, 25 Apr 2015 | Read review
“There are only 2 choices for rooms. The Marine Room was nice and large.”
 of 5 bubbles 224williamd, 18 Nov 2014 | Read review
“If you don't need a fridge, does not neet to cook, chose the Flower Studio.”
 of 5 bubbles lelecabral, 28 Apr 2012 | Read review
3 of 3