We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 137: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Back House for 4 nights. The staff who I had dealt with were very friendly and helpful and were very accommodating for my late arrival and early departure. The surrounds were great - Three Tables beach is pretty much at your door step and a short walk from Waimea Bay. There is a nearby supermarket and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jepjep92
Noosa, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

First up this place is unique and I believe the owner knows this so feels like they do not have to do a lot else with it. The mattress was brown. I'm not fussy but that was pretty bloody gross. The cleaner was great and I stayed in the back house and the whole concept and potential for this place...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jemma R
connerjwagner, Manager at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village, responded to this review

Thanks guys!!! Its was awesome hanging with you guys. Thank you for the kind and truthful words. Trust me we see the potential and slowly, but surely we are working on making this place what it should be. Mahalo, Conner, Swan, and Brad Oh and Sharlyn ;)

Reviewed 17 October 2016

Amazing staff, wonderful location within walking distance to many beaches, food trucks and grocery store. I stayed in one of the cabins that is shared between 6 people. shared bathroom, shared kitchen- both large and very clean. I was very impressed- I never felt over crowded, and I always felt safe. It would have been nice to have guaranteed Wi-Fi...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heather S
connerjwagner, Manager at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village, responded to this review

Mahalo for the kind words Heather! We are so glad that the you enjoyed our North Shore lifestyle. It seems that you were a perfect fit :) Hope you come back to see us again. Aloha and Mahalo

New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewed 26 September 2016

I went up to the North Shore with a couple of friends during my three weeks in Oahu. Stayed for two nights in a dorm room at this hostel. The location was good for us, because we had a car, but otherwise it is pretty far from everything except the beach :-) There's a store a few minutes away by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Malene K
connerjwagner, Manager at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village, responded to this review

Aloha and thanks for staying with us! Appreciate the review. Hope you come back to visit and we will get you in one of the private rooms ;) Mahalo

Carmel Valley, California
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Great location. Close to grocery and across from 3 tables beach. Front desk people were both really nice, Greg and a woman who was originally from Michigan. Common area was ok. A little dirty but fine. I wasn't expecting the Hyatt but the room was horrible. No AC and the fan was broken. No closet or place to set your...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank garysP755FL
connerjwagner, Manager at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village, responded to this review

Aloha Sorry for your bad experience. Yes it is true we don't have any AC in any of our rooms. Usually the fan is good enough. It's unfortunate yours was broken, please come to us next time with concerns and we will be happy to help fix them. Glad you enjoyed sharks cove :) Mahalo

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Reasons to stay here: - one of very few cheap options on Oahu's northern shore Reasons not to stay here - Yes, it is cheap ... but it is still very poor value for money (out of five hostels I visited in Hawaii this was by far the worst deal I got) - the dormitory can be found in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SchwarzwaldTraveller
connerjwagner, Manager at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village, responded to this review

Aloha We are sorry that you had a bad experience with us! We do clean the cabins every morning we apologize it wasn't up to par for you. Yes it is true there are no sound proof windows and sometimes people like to stay up and chat and enjoy some stories over a couple of drinks. However, quite hours are...

Raglan, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed for four nights. Its true the place could do with a deep clean. But during my time there the staff came through everyday and swept the floor, cleaned all the surfaces and the bathroom. It's an amazing location, across the road from the beach and only a couple of minutes to the food trucks and supermarket. The common...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chelle F
connerjwagner, Manager at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village, responded to this review

A big mahalo for the kind words! We are working on renovating the cabins and giving them a make over! So stoked that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope that you come back to visit us one day. :) Aloha

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We were supposed to stay there for 3 nights. We did not even stay for one. This place is really dirty and gross. The owner rarely comes over and the staff are too busy talking about sex to clean the dorms. Btw the staff dorms is probably the dirtiest of all. Except for the guy at the office (who was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank catherinebeaulieu
connerjwagner, Manager at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village, responded to this review

Hey Catherine! We are sorry you didn't enjoy your time here with us. We hope the North Shore was still a pleasant experience and you took advantage of the beauty Hawaii has to offer. How great are those lunch trucks?! So convenient to just stroll down and grab a bite. My favorite is elephant truck. About the lizards and the...

Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

The dorm rooms are great with good communal areas but the staff are rude, no respect for customers, possibly high all the time as the rude girl entered the building multiple times wearing sunglasses inside every time, waking everyone up at 9am to tell you your checking out which you already know. Would stay again but staff need to sort...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adam H
connerjwagner, Manager at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village, responded to this review

Hey Adam! Thanks for the review man. Stoked you had overall a good time. Yes Alexis isn't the best people person but she's a damn good cleaner. We will tell her to chill out. Mahalo

Suva, Fiji
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed on the beachside, and when you wake up to a million dollar view of the beach, amazing. It is a backpackers and it is what you expect, but a great location close to food tucks, supermarket and everything you need. Beach going gear of snorkels and body boards to loan with a deposit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suva T

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (71)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haleiwa
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
3,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
3,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Budget accommodation and hostel ... more   less 

Additional Information about Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village

Address: 59-788 Kamehameha Hwy, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712-9420
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Haleiwa
Price Range: £55 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village 1.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Vacation Inn And Plantation Village Hotel Haleiwa
Backpackers Vacation Inn And Plantation Village Hawaii/Oahu - Haleiwa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Smaller rooms seemed more nice”
 of 5 bubbles 824malenek, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go down the street to the Shark Rental. About the same price and much better maintained by a fellow name John and Natasha”
 of 5 bubbles garysP755FL, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Beach front is the way to go! Your eyes open to the beach each morning, you fall asleep to the ocean and your AC is the ocean breeze.”
 of 5 bubbles 456stephanim, 25 May 2016 | Read review
“They are all pretty much the same. I heard the dorms were horrible...”
 of 5 bubbles Canadiansunseaker, 11 Dec 2015 | Read review
“The second floor, furthest in has the best view of the beach”
 of 5 bubbles debbiesU9811WK, 13 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay