We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hale Ko'olau

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hauula
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hale Ko\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 160: English reviews
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding last summer. The wedding was held at the big house and was very nice... The owners were very kind and helpful. We loved the view from our condo. You can't beat the price and it was very peaceful. We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed combing the beach on low tide. This beach is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mshelle13
Coupeville, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2016

First I will start with the positives. We did love the location of the property, right on the water. There really isn't a beach in front of the property, there is a rock wall to the water.Beautiful view of the ocean! We rented two separate spaces, the Molokai studio for my husband and I and the Ehu Kai studio for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetravelin2016
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & Mahalo for your review. We are aware of the ceiling issue. Unfortunately the company that installed our solar system caused a small leak and we've had to go through their damage resolution process. I am happy to say, however, that the roof and interior ceilings are scheduled to be fixed this month from January 23 to 26. As... More 

Bakersfield, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Just returned home from staying 7 days with a group of 13 extended family members in two separate properties, the Pukana La and the Nani Kai Hale. I had previously stayed at this property in June of 2014 and everything was great. The primary issue this year was poor customer service with Dave (all other staff were great). I contacted... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

I wasn't really surprised to find this 1 star review. It really is a shame since I went out of my way to accommodate her, including providing complimentary snorkel and beach equipment to her entire group of 13 travelers which of course, she doesn't mention. Also, her reservation was only paid for 12 guests however by her own admission she... More 

Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2015

As a family of four we traveled to Hawaii for a vacation on the calm North Shore. We decided to try a different location rather than Haleiwa and ended up choosing Hale Ko'olau. We rented a divided home that was right on the water front which was very nice, but if you don't like your floors or bedding being salty... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan692183
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed at Ko'olani Kai 2 bedroom 1 bath, oceanfront the view was beautiful, however the customer service was sub par. Dave the owner needs to have better customer service. I checked in on a late Friday night and the moment I opened the home it was a overwhelming smell of lemon pinesol cleaner I needed to air out the home... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jamespW4253KS
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & mahalo for your review. Our rentals are literally 10-20 feet from the ocean and when they care closed during the day they take on the odor of the ocean. For those of us used to living by the ocean we probably don't notice, but the vast majority of our guests travel from places where they are not near... More 

Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2015

Stayed in a two bedroom, 1st floor unit. It was adequately supplied and in good shape. The unit has two big windows that look out onto the ocean....fantastic view....problem is one of them is a bedroom up front where you can sleep looking out at the ocean but they have stuck a big light right in front of the window... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for your response. The exterior lights can be turned off and the lights you mention are actually controlled by the switch on the ocean-facing wall of the bedroom you were staying in. We use a PBX call management system which traces all calls and records all messages and we have none from you asking about the light. We... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2015 via mobile

Great place to relax and enjoy the real Hawaii!! Enjoyed the all inclusive rentals for the beach they offer. Loved that all units have full kitchens which saved to cook our own food rather that going out every night!

Helpful?
2 Thank Reasunshine88
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2015 via mobile

We enjoyed staying at this location as it was out of waikiki, close to the beach and could fit a family of 7 under one roof. We found it easily as we had a GPS but did go past it once as it was hard to spot. The property met our expectations having a kitchen was great as we had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie O
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Our family of four just returned home from a one week stay at this property. We chose this property for its proximity to the beach, views, price, and number of bedrooms. The location is about 45 minutes from the airport, and not marked clearly from the road, so be sure to keep your eyes peeled when you are in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica D
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed as a party of 15 using 3 units here. Units are old but maintained. It served its purposes for us with 9 children in the party. The weather was the kicker for us but the accommodation was good and the price was spot on. We will be back in one of our annual visits to Hawaii. Dave was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & Mahalo for your review. We're happy that our property was comfortable for your family and friends. We work hard each day to provide affordable and family-friendly oceanfront accommodations. More 

148 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hauula
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
3,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
3,222 reviews
Tiki Moon Villas
#1 of 2 in Laie
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hale Ko'olau Hawaii Vacation Rentals on the North Shore of Oahu is a family owned & operated business rated "excellent" on TripAdvisor and ranked the #1 specialty lodging in our area. Our oceanfront & beachfront vacation rental homes are located next door to one another in Honolulu, Hawaii in the small fishing town of Hauula on Oahu's North Shore near the Polynesian Cultural Center, Turtle Bay, Sacred Falls, Sunset Beach, Pipeline, Kualoa Ranch and many other wonderful Oahu attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hale Ko'olau

Address: 54-223 Kamehameha Hwy, PO Box 223, Hauula, Oahu, HI 96717-9522
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Hauula
Price Range: £79 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Hale Ko`Olau Hotel Hauula
Hale Ko Olau Hauula
Hale Ko'Olau Hawaii/Hauula
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hale Ko'olau staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hale Ko'olau staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rent a smaller car because parking is tight.”
  • Unbeatable view
  • Master  bedroom
  • Kitchen with plenty of counterspace
  • Smaller bedroom
  • Small but adequate bathroom
 of 5 bubbles JessicaD346, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ocean front is worth it!”
  • High Tide at the
 of 5 bubbles 42waynet, 6 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Oceanfront rooms are worth the extra money, especially since they get you away from the road, and are much quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 121bobo, 31 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Ask the staff when making your reservation. I did and Dave gave me honest and great recommendations for which unit to rent.”
  • Kuai Kai
  • Kuai Kai
 of 5 bubbles raelyni, 22 May 2015 | Read review
“If you have enough people and can afford it, get the 3 bedroom cottage as it is by far the nicest and most private”
 of 5 bubbles ebonyrempel, 15 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5