We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HI San Francisco Downtown Hostel

Save
Share
Traveller (278)
Room & Suite (113)
Dining (30)
Overview
312 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1704 See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair access
Housekeeping
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
1.5 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (929)
Filter reviews
615 results
Traveller rating
198
279
97
22
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
198
279
97
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free earplugs free breakfast private ensuite room female dorm bottom bunk movie room great location bed dorm union square own bathroom homeless people powell station common areas street noise common room stayed here for nights tenderloin
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 615 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We aren’t usually “hostel people” but due to the price of this hostel in comparison to other hotels in the area we thought we would give it a go. I am so glad we did. We had a private double ensuite room on the 2nd...More

Thank nicflo1989
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is the worst hostel I've stayed in, the rooms smell and each floor that has around 120 beds and while the rooms aren't mixed sex the 3 showers and toilets each floor has to share are. The breakfast wasn't bad but the place is...More

1  Thank KatDeeKay
Response from HISFDowntown, Manager at HI San Francisco Downtown HostelResponded 1 week ago

I'm very sorry to hear that you left with such a negative perception of our hostel. I'm glad that you found the breakfast acceptable. Although we try to keep the breakfast we offer running smoothly (with long operating hours from 7am-10am), we can unfortunately experience...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was a good hostel to stay in,it did us well for two days but has room for improvements and the price began creeping towards that of a hotel, but with less comfort. It was nice having the lockers under beds and supplying sheets, douvets...More

Thank JordanA1708
Response from HISFDowntown, Manager at HI San Francisco Downtown HostelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your very helpful review. I am sorry about the issue concerning the peanut butter. During your next visit, please reach out to me - and I'll ensure you are able to enjoy a satisfying, peanut-free breakfast! Unfortunately, your visit coincided with the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at the Hostel early evening on a Friday having flown into Oakland. Powell street train station is a couple mins walk to the Hostel and is also the start of the famous Street carts/trams, so it was easy to navigate via these landmarks....More

Thank klebs88
Response from HISFDowntown, Manager at HI San Francisco Downtown HostelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and for highlighting our exceptional location. We hope to host you again soon! Best. Dave Piccolo, Assistant General Manager HI San Francisco Downtown Hostel

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in a private room. The room size was great and the bathroom ok but the carpet was filthy and very stained and there was a lot of mold on the bathroom window. Even though it is a very old building for the price I...More

Thank bluebelle1
Response from HISFDowntown, Manager at HI San Francisco Downtown HostelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a thorough review. Some of the issues you have mentioned here leave me deeply concerned as they certainly do not represent the standards we strive to meet and exceed for our guest's stay. Would...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Stay in the heart of the city, just one block from Union Square and steps from Chinatown and the cable cars! HI-San Francisco Downtown is close to the best cafes, clubs, theaters, and shopping. You'll love our More new look, low prices, and four-bed dorms (coed dorms range from 4-8 beds). Free continental breakfast, free WiFi, DSL Internet, guest kitchen, free linens and towels, daily housekeeping, free/low-cost daily activities and tours, 24-hour reception, and no curfews, chores, or lockouts. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair access
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
13
Price range
US$61 - US$202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown Hotel San Francisco
Location
United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
13
Price range
US$61 - US$202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown Hotel San Francisco
Location
United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Photos
Traveller (278)
Room & Suite (113)
Dining (30)
Family and Play Areas (6)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Union Square
Originally home to rallies supporting the Union Army
in the Civil War, this grand square has become the
city's premier shopping and entertainment district
containing the largest number of upscale department
stores, chic boutiques, art galleries and theatres in
the city. It's a large open area where tourists and
locals gather, watch cable cars and crowds go by,
enjoy a snack, or plan their day of shopping and
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 232 nearby hotels
King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
1,833 reviews
.02 miles away
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
4,022 reviews
.04 miles away
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Union Square
213 reviews
.05 miles away
Hotel G San Francisco
1,293 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 6,266 nearby restaurants
Ono Sushi
24 reviews
.04 miles away
Biscuits & Blues
198 reviews
.05 miles away
Chabaa Thai Cuisine
264 reviews
.06 miles away
Pinecrest Diner
1,577 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,887 nearby attractions
American Conservatory Theater
52 reviews
.04 miles away
SHN Curran Theatre
40 reviews
.05 miles away
San Francisco Art Exchange
9 reviews
.08 miles away
Martin Lawrence Galleries
6 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Maria Araceli R
26 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from lbiscuit | Reviewed this property |
It was fine, but as another person said, there are a lot of homeless people around and I was woken up by someone (poor guy) making a lot of noise in the morning when we stayed here. Obviously he was very unwell. Anyway, it... More
1
Vote
Kiwilover5000
9 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from donw540 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, there are washers and dryers.
0
Votes
hpavey
26 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Matt P | Reviewed this property |
No. you pay up front for the booking on arrival.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Choose the rooms with en-suite."
Riedwaan
29 Aug 2018
Read review
"521 quiet but stained!"
fibonbon
18 Aug 2018
Read review
"Book an ensuite room, as you can still use the hallway toilets anyway"
yumeilim
4 Jun 2018
Read review
"Definitely get a room with an ensuite!"
emmajexplores
22 Apr 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing