We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pacific Tradewinds Hostel

Save
Traveller (45)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (4)
Overview
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good13%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“common room”(32 reviews)
“pb j”(7 reviews)
“quiet hours”(6 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Concierge
Accessible rooms
Laundry Service
Free Parking
Breakfast included
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Special Offer: BOOK DIRECT & SAVE
Offers from Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Special Offer: BOOK DIRECT & SAVE
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
392
60
17
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
392
60
17
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roompb jquiet hoursflights of stairsbunk bedsother gueststhe financial districtlaundry servicefelt like homeawesome staydorm roomfourth floorno elevatorenjoyed my stayhome away from homeamazing locationbart station
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have been visiting my HD office at 600 California street many time. That’s the reason why I always staying this place. First, it’s a heart of Financial district walkable to my office and incredible restaurant! Second, the staff are super friendly! even they were...More

Thank chartzter
Property's Favourite Review
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Had this place recommended to my by a friend, and price was good so I thought I'd try it. The people here are so incredibly friendly and welcoming, facilities were good and atmosphere was relaxed and cheerful. Stayed in one of the quiet dorms (on...More

Thank Steph X
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hi all, just to say I had a fantastic few days in San Francisco, thanks to this lovely hostel. Very friendly, met some great people who gave me tips on what to do and see. I was there for a conference and hired a bike...More

Thank Line B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It’s small but has everything you want. Everyone is friendly, clean place and comfy beds. They kept my luggage for a few days till I come back from a trip to Yosemite and didn’t charge me anything. Even after checking out, they happily kept my...More

Thank Prasanka R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had such a good time staying at Pacific Tradewinds this week. Very friendly staff and really clean rooms, kitchen, common area, linens. Most guests hang out in the common room in the evening for socializing or games. I met so many wonderful travelers. Highly...More

Thank option917
View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Concierge
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room amenities
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$40 - US$126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$40 - US$126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (45)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Nearby
Financial District
The Financial District lies just east of Chinatown but
can seem a world apart given it’s San Francisco’s
version of Wall Street. The rush of business people
make up a hectic weekday and add to a frenetic pace of
life, but visitors who spend a few hours walking the
narrow streets will be rewarded with fine examples of
historic and contemporary architecture, including the
iconic Transamerica Pyramid. After business hours,
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
buddha474
25 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from sfhostel | Property representative |
Unfortunately, because we are in an old historic building is has been deemed technically infeasible and financially prohibitive to install an elevator. For guests unable to navigate our stairs we will arrange equivalent... More
0
Votes
PragatiSingh
4 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from sfhostel | Property representative |
Hi Pragati, I recognize your name so I know we have already answered this question for you personally, however I will answer it again here for the benefit of other readers. As a small hostel, it's necessary that all our... More
1
Vote
Lauren S
25 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ShelbyTucker | Property representative |
Hey Lauren. As we are right in downtown San Francisco, we do not offer parking. There are parking garages 1 block away for $28/24 hours. Alternatively, we know of some first come, first served free street parking across the... More
2
Votes
Room Tips
"It's a hostel, very comfortable bunks with linens supplied. They have a jar of earplugs, which I elected..."
Read review
"Floors other than the one on the same floor as the lobby would be quieter. The lobby floor is quiet during..."
Read review
"Try the free PB&J!"
Read review
"There is a no noise policy past 12am, so even if you book a "social" dorm, you will still get quiet..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing