We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 123: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location is about the only up side to this place. Old squeaky floors, you can hear people walking at all hours of the night, paper thin walls, no microwave, internet never works, you'll be lucky if a page loads in 10 minutes (not exaggerating). Shower was like a water blaster with no pressure control. Key card stopped working twice during... More 

Helpful?
Thank sealdogfish
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 2 days at this location on our recent trip. The Hotel is clean, rooms are relatively small but no sharing bathroom (many places in SF don't have private bathrooms) and the location is good. Now the things that were not so great is (of course) no parking so be prepared to pay for the valet depending on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank WarmCoffeeHub
West Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Room must have been upgraded from previous reviews. Had refridge, flat screen tv, working complimentary wifi and comfortable bed. Liked the room very much - try to get on the 4th floor as it allows u to see SF skyline. Great low price for room in a convenient location south of market. No complaints just that parking charges were excessive... More 

Helpful?
Thank EazyEDob
haspa, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to provide us positive feedback. We have done renovations to the property and glad you enjoyed the upgrades. We try to keep our parking charges to a minimum and I am sorry to hear you felt they were still excessive. We appreciate all your comments and hope... More 

Bluefield, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Do not recommend Price to high Location not in good part of town Breakfast coffee and sweet rolls Sun closed early No room service one day No wash cloths one day No A/C Pillows terrible Lots of other reasons not to stay there Have water cooler in lobby But said no water available To far away from many things

Helpful?
1 Thank Bagboy42
haspa, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am very sorry about any issues that caused your stay to be less than what you expected. Our hotel is located downtown close to many nearby attractions, the safety of each of our guests is our top priority and we always make sure that all of our security measures are followed closely by our staff. Thank you... More 

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Lenoir, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2016

This hotel is fine if you're low maintenance. Dated and hallways are scuffed up but room and bathroom were clean. The staff were nice and helpful. Feels like a European hostel and we were fine as we knew we were saving money. There is a heating unit in the room but no AC. We walked to the fishermans wharf which... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Travelforlife1989
haspa, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - SoMa. We strive to provide excellent service and clean accommodations to each and every guest and glad we did not fail you. I truly apologize for anything that was less than satisfactory with your stay. Thank you for your feedback and... More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

I booked this place for location and price . In actually there now , leaving tomorrow . Whilst I always gauge a place by both price and location , what I haven't considered in waking up covered in flea bites . Yes - flea bites from head to damn toe . This place looks ok from the outside . The... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank camster66
haspa, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We strive to be very diligent when it comes to pest control, so information like this is critical in order to win the battle against these pests. Please contact... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Very simple, there is not neither a vending/soda machine. The parking lot is $35 per night and the front desk personal... using headphones connected to a mobile phone... It sounded strange for me. The floor is made of wood and you can hear clearly what the guests in the upper apartment are doing. The water temperature of the shower was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mario G
haspa, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear about the issues that you mentioned regarding the hotel amenities, staff, and your room. Please know that I will address these issues with the appropriate staff members and will work to address the issues that you mentioned. We hope you'll consider giving us another try in the future. Sincerely, Hasu, GM Americas Best Value... More 

Totowa, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We stayed there from July 22th to the 23rd and had bed bugs in our room! The first one we saw was in my friend's hair after she was laying in her bed for a while!!! After looking closer, we found a couple more on the beds. It was so disgusting and we went straight to the front desk. They... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank louisaheinisch
haspa, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

I deeply apologize for the issues you had during your stay. I have personally inspected your room and our pest control specialist has also inspected your room in order to keep us pest free. We have regular inspections and take this situation very seriously. We are always working to give our guests a great experience in a clean comfortable room... More 

Enid, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

I was nervous about this stay since there were mixed reviews. Overall, the Inn met our needs and I have no complaints. The room and hotel were clean, but a little worn. There is no A/C but this wasn't a problem with the cool bay breezes. As mentioned by others, there is some noise from the bar downstairs, but not... More 

Helpful?
Thank James G
haspa, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

I am pleased that you enjoyed our location at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - SoMa. We strive to provide excellent service and clean accommodations to each and every guest and glad we did not fail you. As you mentioned, it’s walk-able to several restaurants and public transportation is nearby. Thank you for your feedback and I hope to... More 

Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2016

No Parking!!!!! Really? We did managed by parking on the street, but it means circling a bit to find a free parking at evening and watching the signs to see if it's a free night or a cleaning night. The room was small, had a smell, the bathroom is dated, well, you get the picture. Wroth it for less than... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shai D
haspa, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

I'm very sorry that your experience wasn't quite what you were expecting. I'm glad to have your feedback and I am addressing all of your comments so that we can improve for all of our guests. I have made our housekeeping supervisor aware of your concerns so that we can make sure that everything is fresh and ready for the... More 

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Francisco
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#137 of 233 in San Francisco
132 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#162 of 233 in San Francisco
154 reviews
SoMa
Civic Center Motor Inn
Civic Center Motor Inn
#199 of 233 in San Francisco
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites...
#2 of 28 in South San Francisco
291 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#131 of 233 in San Francisco
280 reviews
Encore Express Hotel
#127 of 233 in San Francisco
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in SoMa

Neighbourhood Profile
SoMa
South of Market (SoMa), has an urban and sophisticated vibe, but you're more likely to find big nightclubs and lots of industrial loft residences than you are to find boutique shopping. Although it’s the epicenter for tech startups in the city, visitors will be able to do more than just business - museums, top quality restaurants, and the San Francisco Giants now call this neighbourhood home. Most of its freeway-sized streets may not capture the same character as other neighbourhoods in the city, but pockets of charm, like South Park, can still be found throughout its side streets.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - SoMa is newly renovated summer of 2007 with 33 rooms and suites. A boutique style hotel, located off famous Folsom Street in a small, quaint alley Hallam Place, when you enter you feel you are in a charming small European town, yet still in SoMa/Downtown San Francisco. Most rooms with city skyline views. We are a 100% smoke-free hotel, public areas and lobby are all non-smoking and the designated smoking area is outside 50 ft right of the lobby entrance door. Valet parking ONLY. Free daily breakfast (muffin, coffee, and Juice). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA

Address: 10 Hallam St, San Francisco, CA 94103-3907 (Formerly Globe Hostel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Price Range: £67 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Soma Hotel San Francisco
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites-Soma
Americas Best Value Inn Soma
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Lake Tahoe (California), California
4 months ago
Montreal, Canada

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“private bathroom, downtown”
 of 5 bubbles WarmCoffeeHub, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The best rooms are in another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 499shaid, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Stay at the Four Seasons”
 of 5 bubbles cmswartz, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Our room was at the end of the building, apparently this may be why the wifi didn't work?”
 of 5 bubbles spursfan45, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Top floor so you don't hear creaking above you.”
 of 5 bubbles dianekY4771XF, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay