We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Geary Parkway Motel

4750 Geary Blvd, San Francisco, CA 94118-2909
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (92)
360
Panoramas (5)
Room & Suite (106)

View prices for your travel dates

£83
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#11 of 33 motels in San Francisco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Centrally located to all of San Francisco's major attractions, nearby Golden Gate Park - The Geary Parkway motel offers 20 unique guest rooms, with comfortable beds and a wide range of extra amenities such as In-Room Microwave/Refrigerator, In-Room Iron & Ironing Board In-Room Hairdryer, In-Room Coffee and Satellite Cable/HBO. Enjoy Free complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi internet access and Free parking. The Geary Parkway Motel AAA approved and a member of the San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Green
Languages Spoken
English
433Reviews16Q+A87Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 141
  • 186
  • 69
  • 10
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
darogo wrote a review Dec 2023
San Francisco, California39 contributions43 helpful votes
We booked a King room for three of us and when we showed up, the bed was a double and the rest of my family had to leave because we couldn’t all fit. The front desk said there were no other options. They totally bait and switched us. Furthermore I was woken up at 4 am by loud tweakers above me. This place stinks.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Try a different more honest hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Experience Team, Owner at Geary Parkway Motel
Responded 1 Jan 2024
Dear Darogo, we're genuinely sorry to hear about the multiple issues you encountered during your stay. It's unacceptable for our guests to experience a situation like this, and we deeply regret the inconvenience and frustration caused. The miscommunication regarding the bed size and the disturbance you experienced with the noise are both matters we take very seriously. We'll share these concerns with our team to ensure immediate improvements and prevent similar occurrences in the future. Your feedback is invaluable, and we hope to have the opportunity to make it right and regain your trust on a future visit. Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David R wrote a review Oct 2023
Henderson, North Carolina28 contributions5 helpful votes
I have stayed here before and as usual found it to be very comfortable and clean. The room has everything you need for a nice stay. Location is ideal for me because my granddaughter lives nearby. There is free parking right within the hotel space, which is a big plus, but it is very tight. Because of the importance of getting a room there, I made a reservation which is something I usually do not do. Apparently the hotel does not handle its own reservations, and I was concerned because the 3rd party sites were quoting rates way above my budget. Until I got to Booking.com, which I have used in Europe. They made my reservation at a very good reasonable rate along lines that I had expected. The reservation was honored, and all was well.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: There is parking on-site, but it is very tight and somewhat limited. Recommend that you get your...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Experience Team, Owner at Geary Parkway Motel
Responded 16 Oct 2023
Dear David, thank you for being a returning guest, and we're delighted to hear that you consistently find our hotel comfortable and clean. We appreciate your feedback on our location and the convenience of free parking. It's great to know that Booking.com helped you secure a reservation at a reasonable rate that met your budget. We look forward to hosting you on future visits, and please don't hesitate to reach out if you have any further comments or suggestions. Your feedback is valuable to us. Safe travels, and we'll be here when you return! Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bronx A wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
Incredible value for a centrally located motel in the Richmond area, but the service is really where this place shines. Vijay and his wife are incredible managers and attended to my every need. They even send something back to me after I left it in the room! Top notch service!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Experience Team, Owner at Geary Parkway Motel
Responded 19 Sept 2023
Dear guest, It's wonderful to hear that you had a positive experience during your stay at the motel in the Richmond area. Exceptional service can truly make a difference in any accommodation, and it sounds like Vijay and his wife went above and beyond to ensure your comfort and satisfaction. Their attention to detail, responsiveness, and willingness to assist with your needs, even after you left something behind, is a testament to their dedication to providing excellent customer service. We're glad you found incredible value in your stay, and it's clear that the management played a significant role in making your visit a memorable one. Should you ever return to the area, you'll likely feel confident in choosing this motel again for your accommodation needs. Thank you for sharing your positive experience, and we hope your future travels are just as enjoyable! Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul P wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions
A very clean and tidy, excellent sized room with a massive bed!! Comfy pillows, good shower and bathroom facilities. The pastries from reception were very nice with good coffee and tea as well as apple and orange juice. A good sized TV, fridge and microwave in the room added to the facilities as well as an iron. The cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful. Vijay the receptionist was extremely helpful and friendly too and happy to immediately resolve any problems with the room( there was a slightly broken light switch and he arranged for it to be fixed straight away)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Free coffee/tea and fresh juicemaking facilities are at reception. The coffee is better than in...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Experience Team, Owner at Geary Parkway Motel
Responded 22 Aug 2023
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found your room to be clean, spacious, and well-equipped. It's great to know that you appreciated the amenities such as the large bed, comfortable pillows, good shower, and additional facilities like the TV, fridge, microwave, and iron. We're glad that our staff, especially Vijay, were able to assist you promptly and that they contributed to making your stay enjoyable. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future! Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kristin W wrote a review Aug 2023
Selah, Washington1 contribution
This hotel was in such poor condition we had to leave and book another room at a different hotel. We left the first night due to uncleanliness and a foul odor. I understand I was out the money for the first night but they refused to refund my money for the remaining three nights!!! I see similar complaints on this hotel but there are some people that have it decent reviews and I am astonished! Please learn from my expensive mistake! I will be reporting them to the Better Business Bureau!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Experience Team, Owner at Geary Parkway Motel
Responded 15 Aug 2023
Dear guest, we apologize for the negative experience you had during your stay at our hotel. We take all guest feedback seriously and are truly sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide a clean and comfortable environment for all our guests, and we regret that we fell short in this instance. We understand the importance of a clean and odor-free room, and we're sorry that we were unable to address these issues to your satisfaction during your stay. We are continually working to improve our services and facilities, and we appreciate your feedback as it helps us identify areas for improvement. Regarding the refund, we understand your frustration. Our refund policies are in line with industry standards, and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We always aim to provide the best possible service, and we regret that we were not able to resolve this matter to your satisfaction. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we will use it to make necessary improvements to ensure a better experience for all our guests. We thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention and wish you the best in your future travels. Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
HeardItBothWays wrote a review Aug 2022
Easton, Pennsylvania2402 contributions494 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed at the Geary Parkway Motel during a quick stop in San Francisco while traveling down the coast. We didn't expect much of this place except a place to sleep and put our car, and it just barely fit that. We arrived in the late afternoon and the parking lot was already starting to fill up. We checked in quickly with the abrupt staff member who pointed at signs rather than telling us information. We asked about parking and if there was overflow parking, to which he shrugged to "get back soon" and "maybe we can park on the street if we need to." The room itself was dated but clean enough. It was sufficient to get an ok night's sleep. We lucked out that a spot was available after dinner and squeezed our car deep into the lot. This is definitely a "you get what you pay for" situation. For $125.24, I would say this place is about what you would imagine. We probably wouldn't stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Owner at Geary Parkway Motel
Responded 9 Aug 2022
Dear guest, thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to review us. While we are happy that you chose to stay with us, we are disappointed to hear about your unfortunate impression and experience with us. We apologize for any rudeness that was aimed at you, and we are sorry that you did not have a pleasant impression of our service. This is a serious issue highlighted by you, and we will take steps to ensure this does not reoccur. We will review your comments in detail and make changes wherever possible in improving and training our staff, to ensure a better experience for our future guests. We hope you will give us another opportunity of serving you. Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Randy C wrote a review Jun 2022
Fresno, California17 contributions6 helpful votes
Booked a King Room here for a week because it was close to hospital where a family member was having surgery. I needed something affordable and this fit the bill. I did my research so I knew the hotel was dated and the parking limited. Yes the furniture is old but functional. The refrigerator and microwave were very helpful to have. The bed was very comfortable. There were some updates to the room and the room was very clean. We had no issues during our stay and we would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking is definitely limited and the stalls narrow. Arrive at check in time to get a spot. We...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Owner at Geary Parkway Motel
Responded 14 Jun 2022
Dear guest, thank you so much for your valued response. We are delighted to know that you had a clean and comfortable stay with us. We as an organization have always strived to provide our guests with the best possible service along with a clean and comfortable stay, and we take all possible measures to ensure just that. We are glad to be acknowledged for the hard work that goes into ensuring it and we would be delighted to be able to host you the next time you are in the vicinity. Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lise ivar wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Fantastic place to stay. We have stayed there at least 8 times and each time we are very satisfied. Henry, the manager, is friendly and so are the staff. The motel are clean - the rooms good with both table and 2 chairs. The bathroom is spacious. There is a refrigerator which we are very fond of. We come again - soon - as our son lives in San Francisco. Best regards Ivar & Lise from Denmark 🇩🇰
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Fantastic motel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Owner at Geary Parkway Motel
Responded 29 May 2022
Dear guest, thank you for taking your time out to submit a review. We are happy that you chose to stay with us and enjoyed our hospitality. Also, we are happy that Henry left a great impression on you. We get that a lot about him and, we will make sure that your kind words reach him sooner. We are delighted with your feedback and we look forward to hosting you soon. Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
John Ho wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We booked this hotel based on previous reviews, much like a recent review from someone else said. We are certain that many of the reviews are fake. The man on the reception was incredibly rude to one of us and spoke to us in an appalling manor. The room we had was really run down, smelled musty and repairs were carried out to a poor standard. Holes were patched up in the walls and the doors bashed in. The bedroom window was smashed. The parking was tight and the owner was very quick to make us sign a disclaimer saying the car being broken into would be on us and that we can’t complain if there is no parking. We ended up rechecking the reviews in disbelief as we had expected much better, and looked to change our hotel. We note that you can’t cancel once checked in- we suspect as many people will have done the same as us; realise how horrible it is and want to leave. The street itself is terrible. Full of drug users and we did not feel safe. We’d planned to walk to places on our trip, but ended up driving everywhere and not getting a spot in the car park because not only was everything a long walk, we didn’t feel safe in this area. Overall the only positive thing I could say was the price wasn’t awful, but if we could have left and paid more to stay elsewhere, we would. I would say a higher price for a better motel is a better option than staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Owner at Geary Parkway Motel
Responded 18 Mar 2022
Dear guest, we care about every guests' experience, and we are always disappointed if one of our guests leaves with less than first rate experience. We aim to provide a clean, comfortable and pleasant place to stay, and we are pleased to say that this is the case the vast majority of the cases. We listen to our guests' constructive feedback to make improvements, and this reflects on our reviews across the board. As for your remarks about the 'drug users', we are in the city's residential area, and this is not such a neighborhood. We are located near iconic destinations of the city, and we get visitors all over the world who cherish the location and easy access to restaurants and the best of what our beautiful city has to offer. Having said that, unfortunately, just like many major cities, we do also suffer from the issues of homelessness, which is spread across the city. However, we assure you that our hotel is safe! We are sorry that you felt such strongly about your stay. This, however, isn't an accurate description of our hotel and the surroundings as depicted by guests' stays and experiences across major platforms. We are always here to help and address your concerns. Please feel free to connect if there is anything we can do to help. Warmest regards, Customer Care Team Geary Parkway Motel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jeannette M wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
We stayed at this motel because my partner was having surgery at UCSF and it was a little over 1 mile away. I spent 3 nights. I had booked 2 but I needed an additional day and the Manager was very accomodating and booked me for another night. The room was extremely clean. The location was very centralized able to walk to many restaurants, coffee places, grocery and Golden Gate Park. Although, it was on a busy street, it was very quiet. I felt safe walking in the neighborhood. There was no continental breakfast, however, coffee and danishes were available. If we need to go and stay in SF in the future this will be our go to place.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Owner at Geary Parkway Motel
Responded 12 Mar 2022
Dear Jeannette, we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our primary aim is to provide our guests with the best possible experience. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area. Thank you so much for your review! Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Francisco area.
PRICE RANGE
£69 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
geary parkway hotel san francisco, geary parkway motel, geary parkway san francisco
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoInner Richmond / Richmond District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GEARY PARKWAY MOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices (San Francisco, CA)

Frequently Asked Questions about Geary Parkway Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Geary Parkway Motel?
Nearby attractions include de Young Museum (0.7 miles), Conservatory of Flowers (0.6 miles), and Japanese Tea Garden (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Geary Parkway Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Geary Parkway Motel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Geary Parkway Motel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Geary Parkway Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Burma Superstar Restaurant, Chapeau!, and Mandalay.
Are there any historical sites close to Geary Parkway Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Golden Gate Bridge (2.7 miles), Alcatraz Island (4.1 miles), and City Lights Booksellers (3.7 miles).
Is Geary Parkway Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.