InterContinental San Francisco
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

InterContinental San Francisco

InterContinental King Bedroom on the 16th floor with a view towards AT&T Park through the floor-
Traveller (1383)
Room & Suite (748)
Luce Private Dining Space
Dining (62)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#72 of 234 hotels in San Francisco
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area's upscale landmark hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese, Dutch and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards

Location

888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
San Francisco Intl Airport
11.2 mi
See all flights
Metropolitan Oakland Intl Airport
10.9 mi
See all flights
Powell St
5 minMuni
3,555Reviews62Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,764
  • 1,175
  • 374
  • 132
  • 110
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Joseph C wrote a review Jun 2023
San Rafael, California46 contributions62 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
we had a wonderful staycation at the InterContintal. some people wrote about negative experiences recently so I was prepared for disappointment but that was not at all the case for us. clean, modern, updated room. soundproof walls (always a must). friendly service. the valet parking is like $100 - check out options in the area on Spothero, or if you're here on a Saturday night then street parking is very doable. meters end after 6pm on saturday and aren't enforced on Sunday - just don't leave anything in your car that could cause a break in. (unfortunately this area is now a bit sketchy so wouldn't walk around after dark.)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NORMZZ - Globe Traveler wrote a review Jan 2020
Chicago, Illinois202 contributions120 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this hotel for our anniversary trip and I think it was a good choice.

It was my first time in San Francisco and I
was shocked with the great number of homeless people around— the hotel area was not spared. The shopping district/downtown can be accessed by foot from this hotel so it was really convenient. Cabs here are few and not good. Uber also seem to be not that easy to get too— very frustrating. Frontdesk staffs were just okay but subpar compared to other five star hotels I’ve been at(and other Intercons I’ve stayed in).

I commend the management for the effort of making the stay special by preparing the wine(even though I don’t drink)— this special touch makes any person’s heart really warm.

Pros:
Good location
Clean room
Comfortable bed and pillows
Basic toiletry supply

Cons:
Small room(San Fran standard)
Unattentive frontdesk and cleaning staff/s ( housekeeping failed to clean our room in spite of the reminders we gave).

As a whole, I would give this a 3.75 star rate if I could so, I’ll just give it ‘4 stars that needs improvement ‘would be my score for this place. I can give it another try once I visit San Francisco again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David H wrote a review Jan 2020
Los Altos, California62 contributions63 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at InterContinental San Francisco for New Year's Eve. The overall experience was very good. My only complaint was the "complimentary breakfast" included with my stay. The breakfast was simply a partial credit for the breakfast buffet, not the actual full coverage required. Given that the hotel charges extremely high prices for parking, drinks and other small items, felt like i was not given an honest explanation of what was being provided.

Overall,the hotel was super clean, the staff was super nice and the location spectacular. I want to also highlight that the hotel concierge provided excellent guidance on how to view the New Year's Fireworks. Many hotel staffs are not very good at providing accurate directions, but this concierge really did a great job.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Voyager01920817173, General Manager at InterContinental San Francisco
Responded 2 Jan 2020
Dear davidhN4222MP, Thank you for sharing your recent experience; we appreciate your patronage and am delighted you had a pleasant stay. Wishing you all the best for 2020! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Raymond Vermolen General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lance Nguyen wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hi, this was my first time at the intercontinental hotel in San Francisco. I usually stay at the ritz Carlton in San Francisco, so I thought why not give this hotel a chance? First impressions were nice, but the staff needs to be more honest with their customers. I initially booked a junior suite room, when I arrived they told me it would take an hour to clean so they offered a ‘better’ room that had larger beds and a supposedly larger room area. I asked “are the rooms larger?” Answer: “yes” I then asked “is this an upgrade from junior suite” answer: yes. All in all they gave me a deluxe room which was a smaller room. I paid 60 dollars extra for a larger room and this is how you treat me. I’m going to stay with the ritz Carlton for now as they have an honest and efficient staff unlike this dump.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Other at InterContinental San Francisco
Responded 4 Aug 2020
Hello lanceynguyen, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave us feedback. I want us to be your hotel choice in the area, and I am sorry to learn about the issues with room allocation and the level of service received. I have alerted the hotel management regarding your comments, and I trust that the actions that will be taken will avoid similar issues from happening again. I have also sent you a private message regarding your experience. I hope you give our hotel another try! Best regards, Clayton G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AGermanOnTheRoad wrote a review Aug 2020
Oakland, California1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I live in the East Bay. Considering my boyfriend and I had not done any travel this year, we spontaneously decided to spend the weekend in the city after seeing the great rates that had been offered for that period.

We booked a standard room but the friendly girl at the desk convinced us to pay a little more for one of their spacious corner rooms on a higher floor. So glad we did because the view from the floor to ceiling windows was simply stunning!

Many of the usual perks of a hotel stay were not available, nor was SF in it's usual visitor frenzy, but I'm sure that's why the rate was so low and we kind of expected that going in. So glad that businesses are taking as many precautions as possible to keep everyone safe and just how difficult is it really to wear a mask in public?!?

We made good use of the fabulous room, walked about 20 min to the Ferry building and had drinks and food at one of the outdoor restaurants there. All in all a great day!

When we returned to the hotel we found out that they just had opened an outdoor bar on their terrace, I think it was on the 5th or 6th floor. Naturally we went for an early night cap. When it got a little chilly the staff offered cozy little blankets, but that was nothing compared to the HEATED lounge furniture we sat on. Say what?!? It made for one warm butt and a romantic ending to our day out and about.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Go for the corner rooms high up - super spacious and THE VIEWS!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Raymond Vermolen, General Manager at InterContinental San Francisco
Responded 2 Oct 2020
Dear AGermanOnTheRoad, We appreciate you choosing to stay with us. I am delighted that you and your boyfriend had a pleasant stay and an enjoyable time in San Francisco. We look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future. Best regards, Raymond Vermolen General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laurie wrote a review Aug 2020
San Francisco, California1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Made a last minute booking to stay with friends while they visited SF for the weekend. Made the decision to book after comparing the price and photos for SF hotels/motels. With extra $30 more I rather stay at a brand I trust that has clean rooms compared to other motels/ hotels that seems less clean base off the photos posted from past reviewers. Especially during this COVID period. There was a line at check in but the agent was friendly when assisting. Offer to provide list of open takeout places nearby and also provided info on what to do if I order delivery to hotel. They had a weekend bar setup in the outdoor Terrance but didn’t get a chance to visit. Unfortunately due to COVID, all shared facilities were closed (gym, LUCE restaurant, and pool). Markings for social distance was placed throughout lobby. Elevators wait time were fast considering every guest want there own elevator ride. Room was clean, request for additional amenities delivery was quick. The room was really quiet, apparently throughout the night there was thunder but I didn’t hear anything. Checkout was quick as well. Overall experience was really good and recommend to stay again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ted C wrote a review Sept 2020
San Carlos, California22 contributions18 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for what was supposed to be a little cooler weather city escape during the recent wildfires. Intercontinentals are usually very nice hotels, but this one was far below the usual standard. The IHG pledge of cleanliness was no where to be found in our “upgraded” club room. As a platinum ambassador, I don’t really see how this was an upgrade since the club is closed. But leaving that aside, the towels were stained, the sheets while not visibly stained were palpably crunchy in places, and several of the hand sanitizer dispensers were empty.

It was just gross to be honest. We left a night early (mostly because we could not face putting ourselves back in the crunchy sheets) and the manager on duty did discuss the situation and apologized and gave us a discount.

Still, they should just close this hotel if this is the best standard they can do right now. It was not acceptable for a Holdiay Inn Express, let alone an Intercontinental

The Grand Hyatt was closed this month, but I think that is a far better option in general if you need to stay near Union Square IMHO. Taj Campton was also closed. I think it’s just not a good time to be staying in SF right now. Let’s hope 2021 is better
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Other at InterContinental San Francisco
Responded 7 Oct 2020
Hi 870tedc, Thank you for staying at Intercontinental San Francisco. We enjoy hearing from our IHG Reward Platinum Elite. Our team strives to provide a comfortable and quiet stay. I reviewed your remarks and I'm sorry for the inconvenience with the sanitizer containers, the stained towels, and the condition of the bed sheets among other things. I understand that this is not what you expect from a quality chain like ours. I forwarded your comments to our managing team and have taken immediate action to prevent these issues from happening again. I hope to see you soon. Cordially, Oscar C. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jules T wrote a review Mar 2022
San Jose, California1,371 contribution257 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We live in the Bay Area, but enjoy a "staycation" about once a month as working from home makes the four walls close in quickly! We stayed at Intercontinental quite a few years ago so tried it again and we remembered such nice views. it was not inexpensive, but I did feel like it was a fair value for a great location. I booked the "premier king room w/view" to be sure we'd have a high floor; and were not disappointed. We were only a few floors from the top and the views of the city were fabulous! Rooms are a bit small, but was adequate size and the bed, bedding super comfy. Nice large TV but a SmartTV upgrade would be cool. Bathroom is pretty small and shower only but I did love the bath products so much (Lather) that I've already ordered them online for home use. We arrived in the city early and as they had rooms ready, I REALLY appreciate that we had an early check-in so we could leave our overnight bag safely locked in our room. The front desk was very fast, effective and friendly. The parking at the hotel is crazy expensive so we parked our car via SpotHero somewhere else for 75% less for the night in a locked secure garage. Other than Moscone Convention Center, there is not a lot right around the hotel but it's just a few blocks from Union Square. There is a fun pub across the street if you want a drink and some nibbles w/out "fine dining" experience that is offered at the hotel. I'd definitely stay here again. Being an IHG member may offer some benefits such as included wi-fi.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: High floor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica J wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I'm usually team Hilton/Conrad so this was my very first stay at an intercontinental property.

I drove 7 hours from Los Angeles to this hotel to be greeted by parking staff that told me that their parking lot was full and that I would have to park at a different lot in the back. When asked if I could first unload my luggage before having to make the full trek back to the hotel with all luggage in tow they said okay. A separate staff member came outside of the hotel just to alert me to not mess up their tiles close to the parking driveway.

The building itself looks nice and the service is okay. They accept your credit card and give you your room key and no other information. I'm use to the Hilton properties telling me how to reach my room and other information on hotel amenities. I asked if I could have water since I usually receive water at other Hilton properties but that's a separate $8 charge so I decided to forgo. No matter how rich I am I can't see myself spending $16 for two water bottles. The front desk staff told me I could get water from the dispenser in the lobby as an alternative. I walk around in the lobby for 5 minutes then proceed to ask a different staff member where the water dispenser is and they said it was removed due to being broken. I wish the staff members were all synced up on the state of their building. It was 1:30am and nobody told me where the elevators were so I could reach my room but I managed to find it myself.

The room itself was dusty in many areas. The headboards had dust and some of the glasses themselves felt dusty. It doesn't feel premium. It feels faux premium. I also hated how small the double beds were. I'd wish they used Queen size beds instead of doubles. They had enough square footage anyway. The bay view is so-so.

A family member recently started law school in the city so I will frequently come to SF but I will not stay at this property again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
robertv4 wrote a review Jan 2020
Markham, Canada31 contributions59 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Luxury hotel that won’t disappoint. Clean, stylish rooms with comfortable beds. Be sure to visit the tiny hotel gift shop near the entrance. Best collection of Russian Nesting Dolls (Matryoshka Dolls) ever seen and reasonably priced considering their uniqueness. Buy more than one for a special price. Restaurant is quite pricey. Would have given 5 stars except for the fact that the shower head in the room broke and took several hours to repair and front desk staff did not offer any compensation for the inconvenience, which would have been nice considering the cost of the room.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Hotel is strict about their check in times and are reluctant to accommodate early arrivals. May...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Voyager01920817173, General Manager at InterContinental San Francisco
Responded 28 Jan 2020
Dear robertv4, Thank you for the review; I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the shower head but am glad to read that you had a pleasant stay overall. We hope to be of service again. Best regards, Raymond Vermolen General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jerry J asked a question Mar 2022
Flower Mound, Texas
How far is Pier 35 or Pier 27 from Fisherman's Wharf?
Answer from La O
7 contributions2 helpful votes
About a 20 minute walk 5-10 minute trian ride
lanta22 asked a question Jan 2022
New Orleans, Louisiana103 contributions5 helpful votes
Which floors have the best views?
Answer from Love2Travel66
Toronto, Canada103 contributions48 helpful votes
I was on 18th and it was ok view of city
Annabelle wrote a tip Feb 2024
Cwmbran, United Kingdom76 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best order any taxis from the desk. They have the best prices to pier 27 if you're cruising. "
Read full review
CarolinaK wrote a tip Nov 2023
New York City, New York25 contributions48 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would not chose this hotel for a leisure trip. Moscone Center has lots and lots of drug addicted people wandering around at all hours. "
Read full review
temucin a wrote a tip Aug 2023
Washington DC, District of Columbia15 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid tenderloin area and you are gonna be fine."
Read full review
Priscilla J wrote a tip Jul 2023
5 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you’re African American, you might wanna consider another property. "
Read full review
JSB wrote a tip Jul 2023
4 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid on weekends due to the noise level in the neighborhood."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Francisco area.
PRICE RANGE
£159 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
intercontinental san francisco hotel san francisco, san francisco intercontinental
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoDowntown San Francisco / Downtown / SoMa / South Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
556
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

INTERCONTINENTAL SAN FRANCISCO - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about InterContinental San Francisco
Which popular attractions are close to InterContinental San Francisco?
Nearby attractions include San Francisco Urban Adventures (0.3 miles), Barbary Coast Dispensary (0.2 miles), and Powell and Market Cable Car Turnaround (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at InterContinental San Francisco?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at InterContinental San Francisco?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at InterContinental San Francisco?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at InterContinental San Francisco?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to InterContinental San Francisco?
Conveniently located restaurants include Montesacro Pinseria, Amber India Restaurant, and 54 Mint.
Are there opportunities to exercise at InterContinental San Francisco?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is InterContinental San Francisco located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of San Francisco.
Are any cleaning services offered at InterContinental San Francisco?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at InterContinental San Francisco?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does InterContinental San Francisco offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All San Francisco HotelsSan Francisco Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in San FranciscoHotels near InterContinental San Francisco
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire