Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center

Dodgy Area
Traveller (148)
View form the roof at night
Room & Suite (115)
Dining Area
Dining (33)

View prices for your travel dates

Save with Hilton Honours Rewards
£140
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#127 of 234 hotels in San Francisco
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Set in the heart of San Francisco's stylish South of Market district, Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown/Convention Center is just moments from the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square and the Financial District. Just two blocks away, you can catch a cable car or a BART train, making it easy to explore Chinatown or visit Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. Our downtown San Francisco hotel is within walking distance of many lively bars, popular restaurants, movie theaters and museums. Catch a Broadway show in the nearby Theater District and discover shopping and dining options at the upscale Westfield Shopping Centre. Settle into a comfortable and modern guest room, where you can stay connected with free WiFi at the ergonomic desk and watch movies on the flat-screen TV. After a busy day, sleep soundly in the clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Start your day with an energizing workout in the free, 24-hour fitness center, which features the latest equipment and personal viewing screens.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Vending machine
Convenience store
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

942 Mission St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2911
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
San Francisco Intl Airport
11.2 mi
See all flights
Metropolitan Oakland Intl Airport
11.1 mi
See all flights
Powell St
4 minBART
1,025Review14Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 299
  • 327
  • 199
  • 84
  • 116
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mrsoftbretzel wrote a review Nov 2023
Chapel Hill, North Carolina100 contributions31 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel has pluses and minuses but was a good experience overall. It borders a sketchy neighborhood with homeless and drug activity but the hotel itself is very secure, with keyed entry at all doors, keyed elevator access, and security at the main entrance. The rooms are small (at least mine was) and there isn't much furniture as a result. Don't plan on getting any work done because there is no chair or desk to work on. But there is a space in the lobby to work with excellent internet. The rooftop has benches and tables with chairs and has fantastic view of the city and water. The inside is fairly newly renovated, rooms, hallways, and lobby. The free hot breakfast in the basement is terrific. If you need to be in the convention area, it's very convenient 10-minute walk to Moscone. The front desk staff are extremely helpful and nice. Every other day housekeeping service is standard and you can get everyday service if you want it. I booked at the conference rate 5 months in advance and the rate was #359/night, which is too expensive for the room size and location in my opinion. As long as you know what you're getting, you will enjoy your stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nati-K wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is located in a very convinient location. I stayed for 10 days last october. The rooms are staff are ok except one who followed me around. I am HH dimond and still followed by a hotel staff was bizare. I spoke to another person who said he was a manager but not even a formal appology.
My last visit was Last week January 6 to January 10, 2020. I stayed there because of the convinience. I actually enjoyed the rooms this time. the roof top was great and ofcourse the area is scatchy.
As a person who travels every week for work, I like the places i stat treat you fairly and although I am in SF for the next 3 weeks I decided not to stay at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Higher floors and not facing the mission street is your choice to have a good night sleep.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John-HiltonHelp, on behalf of management at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Responded 17 Jan 2020
Dear Nati-Vegas, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It truly disappoints us to hear your stay did not go as smoothly as we had intended. We only want the best for our valued guests and members, and clearly we missed the mark this time. We've shared the key points you highlighted with our team to use as training tools and step up our service delivery. We will continue to focus our efforts, and we hope the next time you are in the area you will allow us a second chance to deliver the stay you deserve.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mariahpadilla68 wrote a review Nov 2021
Fresno, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I would recommend using Valet parking even though it’s $60 everyday parking is so bad by yourself. Don’t wait til checkout to call your valet or else it’ll take an hour to get your car. The area is kinda sketchy but it’s the city what do you expect
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ron wrote a review Jul 2022
Jasper, Alabama32 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel looks new. Rooms are very clean and the staff is very friendly. Breakfast was very good. You will have to valet park. This is typical of most downtown hotels. You are a short drive from the Golden Gate Bridge and Pier 39. I would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Alcatraz Landing was sold out for the next two weeks when I checked on tickets. Buy the tickets...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Erick B, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Responded 4 Aug 2022
Were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Coastal442616 wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Although friendly and attentive, staff showed no concern and was unable to resolve several problems with accommodation. Specifically room (entire hotel) had no TV service for several days and free internet service would regularly disconnect after several minutes of use making it almost unusable. This was especially inconvenient because hotel has very poor cell service. I was ill during my stay and so having a comfortable room with reliable access to these services was especially important.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: January 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John-HiltonHelp, on behalf of management at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Responded 9 Jan 2020
Dear Coastal442616, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It truly disappoints us to hear your stay did not go as smoothly as we had intended. We only want the best for our valued guests and members, and clearly we missed the mark this time. We've shared the key points you highlighted with our team to use as training tools and step up our service delivery. We will continue to focus our efforts, and we hope the next time you are in the area you will allow us a second chance to deliver the stay you deserve.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kira E wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Was not pleased with this Hilton property. Clearly an old building that has been renovated. Dust was everywhere, staff was rather rude and not very friendly or helpful. When we arrived they had canceled one of our reservations but the front desk agent made a new reservation at a higher rate and refused to honor my discount despite having our original reservation and confirmation number. Was told to take it up with the GM and only received an email to "take it up with whoever had made my reservation"...the reservation was made by myself and although Hilton stated the front desk was at fault I never received a refund or any admittance of any wrong-doing from the front desk or management. We also asked for dinner suggestions and the front desk staff member couldn't tell us a single restaurant in the area. Breakfast was OK however, was missing many of the required Hilton buffet items. The location is very dodgy - there were many homeless people directly outside of all doors after dark and there was fecal matter directly at the entrance for days before it was taken care of. Forced to use valet parking service but took agents more than 45 minutes to get vehicle...not pleased with this hotel. Very poorly managed and cared for.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Erick B, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Responded 4 Aug 2022
 Thank you for choosing to stay with us. This will be shared to the team and remind staff that our service is our business and there is no room on our staff for anyone who is rude to guest. In behalf of my team, we would like to apologize for the behaviour. Hope you would give us another opportunity to demonstrate our true level of service.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SugarMags18 wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
No complaints about the hotel or the staff HOWEVER the location is horrible. The homeless people are everywhere, the stench is unbearable, and we did not feel safe using one of the two entrances to the hotel which is the one most Uber/Lyft drivers navigated to. The closest restaurants are 3 blocks away and it is a gauntlet of homeless people to pass to get to them. We ordered pizza for dinner to avoid having to go out at night. Also, the TV was not working most of the 4 days we were at the hotel. We would never stay at this hotel again. Do NOT let the promise of Mission being a historic or trendy district lure you into staying at this Hampton Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
May-Lynn L wrote a review Feb 2020
West Sacramento, California2 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Upcoming convention at Moscone or Metreon? Or just traveling to the city? Stay here! It’s great location is within walking distance of a ton of San Francisco’s best! Valet was super convenient and the young men were professional, prompt and personable. The breakfast had surprisingly more varieties than most Hampton Inn’s than we have stayed in - especially the 3 kinds of freshly pressed juices and 2 freshly blended fruit smoothies, 2 different kinds of waffle batter. Delish!! Rooftop views are awesome. Very happy to find this little gem.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle J wrote a review Sept 2022
Roseville, California10 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We needed a place to stay for a Duran Duran concert at Chase Center and this one ticked all the boxes. Not far from the venue, decent reviews and good price.

I will say the street this is on is not impressive, to put it nicely (think trash, closed businesses and a lot of unhoused people), but you go a block over and it's fine. Don't be deterred. The front door is always locked and you'll get buzzed in. It's valet parking. Once you get inside, it's a very modern, bright hotel. All staff we encountered were very friendly and I even got a text checking in on how we liked our room shortly after we got in.

The room is small, but so are rooms throughout the city. I remember staying at the pricey Palace Hotel for a business conference and barely being able to get into the room, it was so tiny. This was much better as far as space. But no one really goes to SF to sit in a hotel room. The room was new, modern and very clean. It was surprisingly quiet for being in a city.

Just a couple miles to our parking spot for Chase (Giants lot C is great for Chase, BTW. Short walk and easy in/out. Be sure to book a spot in advance.) We had dinner at 54 Mint on the adjoining street and it was amazing! Can't recommend it enough, but be sure to have reservations, as they book up. People were being turned away at 5 pm. The hotel is also located near Union Square.

A tip: If your door doesn't seem to open with either key, you really need to push hard on the door to get it to open. We thought our keys didn't work, but second time around my husband pushed hard and got the door to finally open.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Erick B, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Responded 12 Sept 2022
Thank you for your kind review. Our sincerest apologies that our location made you very uneasy which we truly understand. We are currently in contact with the city of San Francisco to raise concerns with the ongoing issue here in the city.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jed1023 wrote a review Feb 2020
Quezon City, Philippines8 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were there a couple of days before Christmas. The room wasn't much but we were very happy with the service! The staff, especially the front desk staff, were very attentive and understanding of our needs. They even went out of their way to make sure our tour was trouble free. The location of the hotel is great also, within walking distance from the shopping district. But what bothered us was the number of homeless people in the area... with the local authorities would do something to help them.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
conkers2331 asked a question Nov 2019
Merseyside, United Kingdom46 contributions7 helpful votes
Hi We are staying here for 4 nights, is there parking that doesn't cost a fortune? Thanks in advance
Answer from AHM
California198 contributions152 helpful votes
Best not to have a car in SF. if u want to drive around, rent a car for a day from a city rental location or ZipCar and return it same day. Walk/tram/Uber.
Answer from cecilsea
Fredericksburg, Texas17 contributions5 helpful votes
Shouldn’t be a problem. Unpack and nest your luggage if possible. Wise space management is key. Good luck.
Matt W asked a question Oct 2017
United Kingdom579 contributions109 helpful votes
Advice on walking with luggage from BART to hotel at night? Is it safe or should I get a cab? Thanks
Answer from florence12016
Portland, Maine10 contributions
Hi, We got into SanFrancisco late around 10:00 PM. We checked into the hotel and then walked to nearby bar/pizza. We didn't have any problems..... the streets are dirty and lots of homeless people but didn't feel in any danger.
S G asked a question Sept 2016
New Brunswick, New Jersey, United States2 helpful votes
Does this hotel offer an airport shuttle?
Answer from Chris C
Charlotte, North Carolina28 contributions4 helpful votes
There is no airport shuttle here. The Bart is great and only 9 per person. Just get off on Mission
Answer from Jeroen B
San Francisco, California
Hello Sam_Cork, Almost all our rooms have closet spaces build-in and we only have a few 2 Queen rooms without closets although we are working on a resolution for that. We are located in the SoMa district which is one of the hippest neighborhoods in town with the highest density of tech-startups and the highest rents in the entire country. On the flip-side the area has a large homeless presence and although these people do not bother our guests it may be a concern to some people who are not used to this on a daily basis. When reading through our reviews you probably noticed that many guests really like our location while others do not and the difference is defined by how comfortable people are with homeless people. If you are looking for a hotel as a base camp to explore our beautiful city than we are in the perfect spot because of the many options for public transportation. In addition we are the newest hotel in town in a brand new building and opened up less than one year ago! For more information please give us a call at (415) 546-3110 as we will be able to answer all your questions in detail!
ROY wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"just make sure that you pay your "refundable" deposit in cash!"
Read full review
Filamcalifornication wrote a tip Jun 2023
18 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not walk out of the hotel after dark. Or bring pepper spray."
Read full review
whoopinag wrote a tip Dec 2022
New York City, New York9 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The back entrance to the hotel feels safer than the front entrance. Lots of homeless people around."
Read full review
Ron wrote a tip Jul 2022
Jasper, Alabama32 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Alcatraz Landing was sold out for the next two weeks when I checked on tickets. Buy the tickets way in advance."
Read full review
Steve E wrote a tip Jul 2022
San Diego, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Unless you got a great deal, find another property"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Francisco area.
PRICE RANGE
£131 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoDowntown San Francisco / Downtown / SoMa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
174
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HAMPTON INN SAN FRANCISCO DOWNTOWN / CONVENTION CENTER - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Which popular attractions are close to Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center?
Nearby attractions include San Francisco Urban Adventures (0.1 miles), Barbary Coast Dispensary (0.01 miles), and Powell and Market Cable Car Turnaround (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center?
Conveniently located restaurants include Montesacro Pinseria, John's Grill, and 54 Mint.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of San Francisco.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Golden Gate Bridge (4.7 miles), Alcatraz Island (3.2 miles), and Fort Point National Historic Site (4.3 miles).
All San Francisco HotelsSan Francisco Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in San FranciscoHotels near Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire