We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Constitution Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Constitution Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

689 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 571: English reviews
Nassau, New York
Reviewed yesterday NEW

As one previous subscriber stated, The Constitution Inn is a good choice if you’re looking for an economy hotel in the Boston area. The hotel is located in the Navy Yard area, which is bustling during the workday, as the area is comprised of renovated large shipping buildings. Many businesses occupy these buildings, and there even is a branch of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duffer091
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

I cannot tell you enough not to stay there. Yes it is cheap, but very dirty. No parking on property. You need to park in public parking and walk. Very, Very dirty. Hassle to get any money back. DO NOT STAY

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
Laredo, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

We selected this location because of the proximity to downtown and it offered a shuttle to the train station. Actually the hospital furnishes the shuttle and we can all use it. That part was really great. The hotel is old and in desperate need of an update. We stayed the first few days of November and our room was on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DA7161
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for staying with us! We appologise for the inconvenience of not having AC. Happy Holidays! -Operations Director

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago

My family has been there twice now. The rooms are clean and as advertised. Kitchenette worked great since we are on a budget. Staff very helpful on parking and using public transportation. We'll be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan R
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for staying with us! We look forward to your next trip to Boston! -Operations Director

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the room needs painting and update, bed need update. the room was not as clean as it should have been. there was a a smell in hallways. I would not stay there again. the front desk staff not friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robert c
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for staying with us! I am very sorry our property did not meet you needs. If you wish to discuss this further, please let us know amason@constitutioninn.org. Happy Holidays!

Barre, Vermont
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose this hotel because of the price and location. We attended an event at TDGarden and we could walk there from this hotel. The accommodations were okay, nothing special. My only two complaints are the outlets in our room were loose, so they wouldn't hold the plug in so I could charge my electronics and the pool was closed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to give us feedback. We're working on extending the pool hours. If you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me amason@constitutioninn.org. Happy Holidays!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

When we first checked in to our room at the Constitution Inn, I thought "this is ok." For the price, I wasn't expecting too much. We got a room with two double beds and a very small bathroom. It also had a microwave, small coffee maker, and a mini fridge, which was nice. The first thing I noticed was something...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joy B
Wellington, Florida
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Inexpensive for the location, clean but run down on many ways. Has a Y on premises with a gym and pool. Friendly helpful staff. No ability to control the temperature, one of the beds was broken. A lot of broken outlets. It is right nex to the Martinos center (MGH), which is convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arontendler
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We have stayed here twice. It is the YMCA and hotel. Does have all the excersise equip. and pool. close to Old Ironsides and Shuttle to long pier in down to Boston. It is much cheaper than water taxi. only downside is there is not many resturant's close by but we were able to find enough to eat. We ate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
San Marcos, Texas, United States
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I read the negative reviews online but decided that we wouldn't let a few review sway us. Big mistake, it was not a good experience. First of all it is pretty far away from everything. They advertise that they have a free shuttle to take you downtown. The shuttle is run by some other company and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie W
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, I am sorry your experience did not meet your expectations. The free neighborhood shuttle bus runs on a schedule but due to traffic, at times, it arrives late to destination. We did not expect to reach 80F in October. Our system only allows for either heat or AC and at the time you arrived, the AC was already...

348 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (129)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (48)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (219)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
King Bed Room (47)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
Suite (58)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)
Viewed
Two Bed Room (46)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#75 of 82 in Boston
239 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#77 of 82 in Boston
342 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#67 of 82 in Boston
3,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#63 of 82 in Boston
1,090 reviews
Allston / Brighton
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#76 of 82 in Boston
543 reviews
Charlestown
Residence Inn Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Charlestown

Neighbourhood Profile
Charlestown
Charlestown’s hilly roads, narrow streets and gaslight lamps, make it an enticing neighborhood to visit. Follow the Freedom Trail over the Washington St bridge from the North End or take the scenic water locks to Paul Revere Park. Walk through City Square and stroll down cute Main street, wandering up the windy residential streets to Monument Square, where you can learn about the city’s history along with a great view of Boston at the Bunker Hill Monument. While it’s not a huge area, there are some excellent restaurants. Find your way to the Charlestown Navy Yard, which is a developing area with lots of condos and an additional site for Massachusetts General Hospital research centers. Here you will also find the USS Constitution Museum. After you’re done, hop on an MBTA ferry at the dock on Baxter street and zip on over to Long Wharf and the New England Aquarium.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Constitution Inn offers the best hotel value in downtown Boston - great accommodations, great location, and a great low price! We are located in the famous Charlestown Navy Yard on the downtown Boston Waterfront, centrally located close to Boston’s great restaurants and lively pubs. We are just steps away from The USS Constitution, The North End, Faneuil Hall, and many of Boston’s historic, cultural,and entertainment attractions. The hotel is located just a few blocks from TD Banknorth Garden where The Celtics and The Bruins play. The Constitution Inn isthe perfect place to gather with family and friends. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Constitution Inn

Address: 150 3rd Ave, Charlestown Navy Yard, Boston, MA 02129-2016
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Charlestown
Price Range: £79 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Constitution Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Constitution Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constitution Hotel Boston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Constitution Inn staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question
San Diego, California
Sydney, Australia
Dublin, Ireland
3 months ago

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Constitution Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in 423 - very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles cazzij5, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles shortbreaker2012, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't go there unless you have to”
 of 5 bubbles 948emada, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“It has 6 floors. There are 2 elevators. Only 1 of them goes to all floors.”
 of 5 bubbles egails, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay off the 6th floor if possible”
 of 5 bubbles M4780SEtomm, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay