We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Point Loma

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Point Loma
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 185: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Point Loma
 Click to rate
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 18 January 2017

located on a very busy 6-lane street, so sleep quality is very poor. there are very few parking places and little parking on the side street- you might have to park blocks away. there was no housekeeping 3 of the 4 days i stayed here and office person did not explain or apologize for it. so don't expect any housekeeping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whomever
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Point Loma, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to share your insightful review with us. We always are grateful for any feedback that will help us improve for future guests. We are glad that upon arrival, your room was clean and in good condition. However, we do apologize that our housekeeper did not come by every day. We aim to be an...

Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Hotel Point Loma was an okay experience. The hotel room was a little smaller than I was expecting and the bed was a bit too hard for me personally. However, the room was clean and the staff was very nice. There wasn't a lot of space for parking so if you go out in the evening you might have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alicia M
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Point Loma, responded to this review

Dear Alicia, We thank you for taking a moment to provide your valuable feedback. We are excited to hear you were pleased with our cleanliness and customer service. We are happy you appreciated our ideal location as much as we do! However, we apologize the room felt a bit small and the mattress was too firm for your liking. We...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 21 December 2016

My husband, brother, and I stayed there for 4 nights. We went to San Diego to see my brother graduate from Marines and bring him back home to Houston with us. The hotel is in a decent location not too far away from downtown. Parking is horrible, very small lot, so if you go out at night most likely you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Macrina G
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Point Loma, responded to this review

Firstly, we congratulate your brother on his recent graduation and we thank him for his service. We appreciate your thorough feedback of your recent stay with us. You have given us a lot to consider, for which we are grateful as we are always striving to improve our guest experience. It's great to hear you found the rooms to be...

Augusta, Maine
Reviewed 15 December 2016

The room was definitely cozy, with a fridge and microwave and a closet with a safe. The prices were reasonable and the service was great. The Inn is conveniently located to local attractions,it is clean and has good furniture and comfortable beds. The staff is wonderful and the hospitality is just amazing!! When we go down to San Diego we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brun0miyabara
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Point Loma, responded to this review

We love our staff, and we are always happy to hear that our guests love them too. Thank you for your kind words and positive recommendation for our property. We are glad to see that you found your accommodations to be cozy and the location to fit your traveling needs. It is also great to hear that you found your...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

I am not one to leave bad reviews, but honestly this place warrants one. I arrived to find no one in the office, which was locked, so I called the number on the door which promised someone would come "immediately", and had to leave a message. I received no call back. After 1/2 hour of waiting in the cold with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juliet W
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Point Loma, responded to this review

Juliet, We welcome all guest feedback as we consider it an opportunity to continually improve our services for our guests. We sincerely apologize for your experience regarding the check-in process. We are happy to hear that during your stay, our staff was able to provide good friendly service. We will make sure to review your feedback with our entire staff...

Lawrence, Kansas
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It met our criteria for being a clean and inexpensive hotel that was close to the water. The staff was friendly and receptive. We had a kitchenette, which was nice. But there were NO kitchen pans, or pots, or glasses, or silverware, or bowls, or anything one would need to actually prepare anything....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mfirecarb
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Point Loma, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking a few moments to provide your constructive feedback. We always love to hear that we are able to pleasantly surprise our guests with a great value. We are delighted that you enjoyed your room and found our hard working staff to be friendly and receptive. We do apologize for the few unwanted guests that...

Avondale, Arizona
Reviewed 8 October 2016

THE WORST hell hole in town .Condom's backed up in tub drain.THE Bates Motel better than the 3 star Yea right nightmare!!!!!! The bed was a hard double not queen.Had to call credit card company to get weekly stay.One night or say nightmare was enough hated it!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dpresho
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Point Loma, responded to this review

Wow! After reading your review, I was anxious to find out more about your unpleasant experience. I learned that during your stay you had reported a slow draining bathtub. We responded by sending our maintenance man to your room to open up the drain. He snaked the tub drain and found the “debris” that was the source of the clog....

Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Went to San Diego to visit colleges. All we needed was a bed in a clean room and no bugs. We would be gone all during the day. This no frills motel was perfect. Rooms were clean, no bugs and staff friendly. Not enough towels at first but they they brought us more. Hotel was a pleasant surprise for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spagori1
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Point Loma, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We strive to provide a clean and comfortable place for our guests to stay as well as exceptional customer service. Our friendly staff looks forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to San Diego!

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 3 August 2016

For a first time visitor I was impressed. The only minor issue I had was the bath tub plug would not seal so giving my toddler a bath was quite difficult. :) Highly recommend anyone to come here to stay :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank awOKC
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Point Loma, responded to this review

Dear awOKC, Thank you for your kind words! We are so happy we were able to provide you with such an epic experience. We look forward to seeing you again! Warm Regards, Guest Relations

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Gina at the front desk provided me with the worst hotel check in experience I have ever had. She could barely be disturbed from s texting conversation on her phone to check us in. She almost sent us away because the hotel was booked under my husband's name and he wasn't with us. I asked if there was anything she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashleywood822
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Point Loma, responded to this review

Dear ashleywood822, I assure you this is not how our staff is trained to treat customers. We pride ourselves on providing the ultimate guest service experience to each one of our travelers. Gina’s manager has been informed and we have addressed this issue. It is unfortunate our room was not to your liking and I promise if you returned, these...

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.2 mi away
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
#185 of 278 in San Diego
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aqua Mar
Hotel Aqua Mar
#173 of 278 in San Diego
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#136 of 278 in San Diego
1,278 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Yacht Harbor Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#105 of 278 in San Diego
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy beautiful southern California while staying at Point Loma Inn and Suites. Just steps away from Harbor Drive and Shelter Island, bay-side near the landings and marina boardwalk. You will be minutes from the lush beaches and bays of San Diego's coast, filled with the world's most exotic yachts. Point Loma Inn is only a few short minutes from the San Diego Int'l Airport, near the Gaslamp Quarter and local tourist attractions. For those looking to enjoy a night out on the town Gaslamp provides restaurants, nightclubs, winery, shopping museums, and more. The world renowned Sea World is located just ten minutes away, as well as the Liberty Station, which also includes restaurants, shops, a historic golf course, and is home to over 48 museums. Point Loma Inn offers a high standard of service and facilities to meet the individual needs of each guest. Call today! Southern California await you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Point Loma

Address: 2933 Fenelon St, San Diego, CA 92106-2718
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: £62 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Point Loma 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Point Loma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Loma Hotel San Diego
Point Loma Motel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Point Loma staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Beverly Hills, California
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Point Loma staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are noisy- 206 might be best”
 of 5 bubbles whomever, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go any where but this hotel .Others can not be a dump like this joke of a hotel”
 of 5 bubbles dpresho, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Socks helps keep feet not turning black and making your sheets dirty. ”
 of 5 bubbles awOKC, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Check Booking.com for current promotions!”
 of 5 bubbles caejed, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“109 was good!”
 of 5 bubbles flyermontana, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5