We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

467 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 448: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 11 November 2014

Charming, perfectly-appointed mini room in back yard, lovely & comfortable fire pit area, tiny gem of a pool (more for illumination & looks; too cold to swim), walk to beach, easy parking access thru back gate, smart & kind folks available at any time to help. Not traditional B&B, no home-cooking, but small fridge full of fixin's from Trader Joe's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrebois
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It takes time and effort to post, and we are appreciative. It makes our day to hear that our guests had 'a pleasant weekend stay'. Thank you also for mentioning some of our many amenities. Warm Regards, Linda

Reviewed 10 November 2014

Beach Hut is one of the nicest B&Bs we've ever experienced - quiet, private, beautifully appointed, immaculate, adjacent to the beach, convenient to other area attractions.We found it practically perfect in every respect.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeanne L
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice, concise review. We are happy to read that it was a 'Perfectly Pleasant' experience for you and we hope you will choose us again in the future. Warm Regards, Linda

Sacramento
Reviewed 7 November 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to stay. Beach access for mission bay is across the street. Ocean access is a short drive. The host are very knowledgeable of the area. Places to eat, see etc. This isn't your typical B&B for breakfast. Host provides the food in a fully stocked refrigerator in the room. The room is set up like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank homerepair
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We look forward to your return and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we so enjoy hearing about our guests' stay.

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2014

My husband and I chose The Beach Hut B&B for the last leg of our September honeymoon after reading glowing reviews online. We certainly weren’t disappointed when we arrived, after a long drive down the coast, to Linda’s warm and cheerful greeting. She showed us to the beautiful Tuscan Room with its rich colours and inviting interior, and explained how...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathryn B
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We are so delighted to hear that you have such wonderful memories of your honeymoon stay at the Beach Hut. Thank you for taking the time write such a lovely and thorough review of your experience. We wis you a lifetime of love and happiness!!

Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Reviewed 2 November 2014

This was my first time anywhere more west than Iowa! What an amazing experience, mostly due to all that was at our fingertips by staying at Beach Hut! Linda and Norm make you feel at home and if is your first time out to the area, they have you covered. They put together this amazing book full of what to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PolishNinjaz
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I am so pleased to hear that we were so helpful in getting you oriented and comfortable with the area. It makes us happy to know that your week spent here was "So Amazing! So Relaxing" for you. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Portland, Maine, United States
Reviewed 27 October 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two days on the front end of a recent 6-day visit to San Diego. While the location is very convenient to many amenities in and around the San Diego area, and the weather was wonderfully sunny and warmer than average for this time of year, and the Tuscan Room that we stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandy B
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay here. We are always pleased to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and that we did a good job of hosting them. You made our day!

Portland, Oregon, United States
Reviewed 26 October 2014

We are just back from our 5th stay at the Beach Hut and each time it is like we have a home away from home. The quiet, the privacy, the pool, the outdoor gas fireplace, the beach a few steps away and Norm and Linda make it the perfect spot to stay in San Diego. It is an 15 easy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie C
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear that you continue to have a wonderful experience here - you are now the expert reviewer with five trips under your belt! We feel the same as you - when you come it is like 'family' visiting. We have enjoyed each and every one of your stays too and we are already looking forward...

Crofton, Maryland
Reviewed 25 October 2014 via mobile

The Beach Hut feels like home. It is in a perfect location. Everything in San Diego worth seeing is less than 20 minutes away. Cabrillo, Mission Bay, the Zoo, Mt Soledad, La Jolla, downtown, even Coronado. Norm and Linda take care of your needs. It is build your own breakfast but they have something for everyone on that front. Beach...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathy O
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for mentioning our great location between La Jolla and Downtown with a quick drive to all the San Diego attractions. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and our self prepared breakfast - things that make us unique! Hope to see you again in the future.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 22 October 2014

What a gorgeous and central location for our two night visit to San Diego. Norm and Linda were so helpful, even to the point of printing and faxing documents for my husband who had to deal with a work issue immediately. Linda provided us with so many different things to do in San Diego, even where to park for free...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joanne b
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We thank you for your review and we are so happy that you left with the thought of the 'Best Place Ever!'. We appreciate your mentioning our location is not only at the lovely beaches here but also the fact the we are so nicely located between La Jolla and Downtown. We look forward to welcoming you again in the...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 13 October 2014

This B & B was absolutely fabulous. Every review I had read before I went could not have prepared me for how wonderful this place is. Norm and Linda are wonderful. Linda greeted us and showed us the beautiful property. Norm was just getting back with fresh fruit and stocked our refrigerator. Linda gave us a 30 minute talk about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spotts01
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Most guests do not realize how wonderful it is to have a free reserved onsite parking space until they get here and realize what a challenge it is to find a parking at the beach! And the resorts in the area are charging guests $35 per night to park! We...

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,954 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
864 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
1,021 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sleep in luxurious linens in a deluxe Queen Bed, go for a jog/walk on the 6 mile Boardwalk around the Bay, frolic in the Ocean waves, see all the major San Diego attractions, all within 1 to 10 miles, and then relax and enjoy the ambiance at our Pool/Patio/Fire Table! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3761 Riviera Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Price Range: £163 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Beach Hut b&b
Beach Hut Hotel San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet, clean, easily accessible”
nortontom66, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The Garden room is detached from the main house. Very quiet and private.”
Red2830, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Norm let me peek in the Tuscany room and it was more spacious than the Garden room. Both rooms have private off street parking.”
lmhowerter, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The back rom is peaceful and private.”
ricksI5181LA, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We enjoyed our stay in the Tuscan room, even though it was on the street side. We were not bothered by any noise whatsoever.”
BroadwayFanForever, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5