We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Town Inn

Show Prices
#19 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old Town Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,790 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,646: English reviews
Start your review of Old Town Inn
 Click to rate
Buena Vista, Colorado
Reviewed yesterday NEW

My family and I just got back from 5 nights. This quaint hotel was clean, friendly helpful staff, heated pool, breakfast and parking, not to mention reasonable pricing. We would definitely stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappyFamily030506
Thetis Island, Canada
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Very Clean, large room, excellent customer service, close to everything. Real value for the dollar. Read many reviews on this property, and decided to stay. The homeless sleeping under the overpass is NOT an issue.We walked to and from old town in the evening, did not come with in 2 hundred yards of their location, we are both seniors and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patrick M
About Hotel's Favourite Review
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review

Dear Patrick M, Thank you for the time taken to review the Old Town Inn San Diego and to let us know how you found our accommodations and the surrounding area. Awesome to read all the positive reviews you read made you choose the Old Town Inn. it’s a delight to know you and your husband found our outstanding services,...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I just got back from staying 6 nights at this place. It was perfect in every regard. The reason for four stars was because on check out our USD Visa prepaid cards did not work. We had loaded these cards with the intent of paying for our hotel and car rental with them. The car rental had no issues with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petuniatokkie
Antioch, California
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is a quaint hotel located 3 blocks from old town. It is a independent owned hotel with a lot of charm. Grounds are beautiful and maintained daily. Free parking. Free breakfast. Dining area kept fully stocked of breakfast items from waffles and pancakes to egg quiche. Area is keep immaculately clean. Rooms are nice size and maintained well....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rickhellrung
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review

Dear Rickhellrung, Thank you for the awesome five star review, and for your loyalty to the Old Town Inn San Diego, very much appreciated. It’s always a pleasure to have you back as our returning guest and we are delighted to know you always enjoy our staff service, cleanliness and the amenities we offer. On behalf of the Old Town...

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If you are interested in Old Town, this is the hotel for you. It is also central to many San Diego attractions. However, the location is strange -- in an almost industrial area. That being said, the rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, the staff was great, breakfast was very good, and the wifi worked well. My only complaint...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimmmiemaz
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Picture and reviews looked great. Sadly surprised when we arrived and Inn was surrounded by homeless people in shady area. Staff were nice but our only thought is "can we call to get bars put on windows" and "will all my tires be on our car in the morning". Sometimes cheap and close is not a good idea.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alltravelgirl
HotelGuySanDiego, Owner at Old Town Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I was sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is sometimes a challenge to set the right expectations for our guests. We strive to educate our guests on TripAdvisor, our website, and on the phone, so they have the right expectations about who we are. Our hotel is a modest, AAA...

Kearney, Nebraska
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for a week and absolutely loved it! It is within walking distance to Old Town and even though it's by the interstate it doesn't feel like it. The heated pool and daily breakfast was great! Large selection of food and 2 different kinds of waffles. The crustless quiche and steel cut oats were a pleasant surprise. People...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krystal r
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed at Old Town Inn for three nights. Room was clean and quiet. Hotel staff very pleasant and the morning breakfast was good and an upgrade to the usual complimentary breakfast. The location is great for seeing the sights of San Diego. Parking is tight but that is to be expected in the area. Would highly recommend this hotel for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
vancouver
Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose the Old Town Inn after reading reviews and were glad we did. The value for what you get can't be beat in this town. The room and grounds were clean and the breakfast was more than adequate. The location is also very convenient being a half block from the transit hub and Old Town San Diego. Downtown SD...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saint974
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review

Dear Saint974: From all of us here at The Old Town Inn San Diego; we greatly appreciate guests like ‘YOU’ taking a few moments of time to write a tripadvisor review and for choosing the Old Town Inn based on all the positive reviews you read. We are happy to read the Old Town Inn stood out during your search...

Orinda, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

I chose this hotel based on the price and the excellent reviews. The service was great and the room was clean and of adequate size. The bath was well laid out with 2 sinks- one inside the bath and one outside the bath. The breakfast was similar to the chain hotels- however the food was of much higher quality- bagels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nancy m
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review

Dear Nancy M: Thank you for the awesome five star review, and we are delighted to read you choose the Old Town Inn based on all the positive reviews you read. The Old Town Inn is all about providing the budget smart traveler with an affordable and memorable stay, and we appreciate your feedback. We are delighted to know you...

762 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (333)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (92)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (34)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
0:16
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (110)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (401)
Viewed
Accessible Deluxe Queen Room (50)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Queen Room (48)
Viewed
Deluxe Efficiency Double Queen Room (49)
Viewed
Deluxe Efficiency Queen Room (55)
Viewed
Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite (60)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (48)
Viewed
Economy Double Room (33)
Viewed
Economy Queen Room (31)
Viewed
Pool Area (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#38 of 279 in San Diego
1,913 reviews
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
The Pearl Hotel
#15 of 279 in San Diego
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Town Inn staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
over a year ago
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Old Town Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms towards the back have less traffic noise but at night you really can't hear any. Just morning due to commute time.”
 of 5 bubbles rickhellrung, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room that is not next to a large group as walls are thin between rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles frefel, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for 2 bed queen upgrade”
 of 5 bubbles Jonathon_Jill, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Easy access to amenities, lovely room with king bed, sitting area, fridge and microwave.”
 of 5 bubbles loreleig240, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room was just fine but we looked across at what looked like bungalow-type rooms and I'd love one of those next time.”
 of 5 bubbles Q9061STlisaa, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5