We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Consulate Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Consulate Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 140: English reviews
Rochester, New York, United States
Reviewed 29 September 2016

I was impressed at how clean my rooms were and the excellent geographical location of hotel. Very quiet noise level in room and comfortable bed. People who work here, front desk to maids, very professional and friendly! Nothing bad at all like previous reviews were trying to emphasize. I could of saved money paying for a whole week in advance,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
jatin935, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RICHARD Thanks for your time to write review and your valuable comments i will share your review with my staff. please come to San Diego so we can serve you better in your next visit. Hope to see you soon.THANKS Sincerly jatin manager

Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Full of cockroaches and bed bugs, I left the lights on up to morning to avoid bugs on me (as soon as you turn off the light roaches were everywhere, walls, curtain, floor,....)and I could not sleep at all and get out of that hell 6 a.m. AVOID this place and do not waste your money.. they even did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gelareh G
jatin935, Front Office Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gelarsh G we are extremely sorry to read your experience .i will share with my staff to make sure to satisfy your expectation level in your next visit and allow us to serve best possible way to make you happy and good memorable experience.Again let me assure you we are taking your complaints seriously to handle in best professional...

Canton, Michigan
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel was dirty, there was a charge for parking, it smelled awful, our AC was useless, and I would not stay here again. In fact, they even have additional furniture for the rooms sitting in a parking garage. Wouldn't want those in a room. While we didn't personally experience it, wouldn't be surprised if there are bed bugs in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vacation129
Reviewed 1 August 2016

I stayed at this hotel on 7/30. Woke up to a bed bugs sucking my throat. On examining, there were a lot of bed bug bite marks on my body. I stayed there for one night only. During check out, when I reported to the man at the front desk, he said something on the lines of I didn't know...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karthik M
jatin935, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karthik I am sorry to read your experience and informed my front desk to handle it properly and professionally.For your information we have certified pest control company to take care of bugs problem and we regularly inspect rooms for best standard. Still i will share with my housekeeping team to meet your expectation in your next visit.Thanks for your...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Needs reno but the price was righr. WiFi didn't work. Fresh coffee and pastries in the morning. Very nice employees. Underground, free parking was nice and secure. Dennys, McDonald's, Starbucks and Ralphs grocery right across the street. We asked for a refrigerator and microwave when we checked in. No charge and no problem. All and all a good value for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dana r
jatin935, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DANA Thanks for your valuable 3 star review and comments.we hope to see you soon in your next visit to San Diego.Again THANK YOU.

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

I was worried about staying here but I really didn't need to. The rooms are very dated but it's fine and the beds are really comfy. The air con was great! Unfortunately though we didn't have wifi in our room which is a shame as that was promised. You can get it in the lobby though. The breakfast pastry were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SLR110193
jatin935, Front Office Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SLR Thanks for your valuable 4 star review and comments.Sorry for WIFI problem now we fixed it. We hope to see you soon in your next visit to San Diego.Again THANK YOU.

Reviewed 19 July 2016

Dirty and dated. The bed was rock hard and the pillows flat. Parking was tight. They offered a lot as well as underground parking, but if you came in late, you were out of luck and left to find street parking. The hotel charges extra for a fridge (and assuming microwaves also). The towels were itty bitty tiny (I am...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle M
jatin935, Guest Relations Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Danielle we are extremely sorry that you had bad experience. i will share with my staff to meet your expectations . we have posted about microwave and refrigerator fees and parking fees on all websites including EXPEDIA , HOTWIRE , BOOKING.COM ETC.Our front desk agent always ready to help you if guests has room related problem.Thanks for your review and...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 14 July 2016

The front desk was nice, all downhill from there. The room looked bad, thankful we arrived at midnight and left early AM. Got a pretty good deal on Hotwire, still not worth the price. This was once a Quality Inn, so maybe wasn't bad at one time. Now needs a deep cleaning and a makeover. The parking lot is small,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joshua b
jatin935, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

JOSH Thanks for your comment and review. we are in process of renovation.Hope to serve you better in your next visit Thanks for staying at consulate hotel.

Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

So stayed in the hostel part of this hotel and couldn't recommend it highly enough it's one of the best hostels I've stayed in.....clean comfortable and a great location with good service and friendly staff. Will delicately stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sttevei83
jatin935, Guest Relations Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

STEVE THANKS FOR YOUR 5 STAR REVIEW.we hope to serve you better in next visit

Monterey, California
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

The worst hotel I have stayed at. The room is unclean and there are bugs ( bed bugs and roaches)in room. Did not stay the whole night checked out after only being there for 4 hours. After we brought this to the attention to GM. He would not come out to talk to us and only offered 20% discount. My...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yvonne H
jatin935, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Yvonne Sorry for your your experience we have taken care of bugs problems by certified pest control company to make sure its clean and rent able. i will share with my staff to take strict action on complains. Thanks for your review and comments

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
0.5 mi away
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
#183 of 278 in San Diego
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aqua Mar
Hotel Aqua Mar
#173 of 278 in San Diego
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#104 of 278 in San Diego
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#140 of 278 in San Diego
1,249 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Yacht Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are located in the heart of Point Loma near many great attractions. We have over 100 rooms some suites that have a Harbor View. We have Free WiFi and all the room amenities. Shuttle service and underground parking is available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Consulate Hotel

Address: 2901 Nimitz Blvd, San Diego, CA 92106-2321 (Formerly Quality Inn Airport SeaWorld Area)
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: £55 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Consulate Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Consulate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Airport Seaworld Area Hotel San Diego
San Diego Quality Inn
Quality Inn San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Consulate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check for Bed Bugs before you hit the bed”
 of 5 bubbles 174karthikm, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“doors making lot of noise”
 of 5 bubbles dianekirkpat, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Just keep going back to front desk and demand a better room. These people need to be shamed into doing their jobs.”
 of 5 bubbles resnyc, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
“the higher the better, south side”
 of 5 bubbles 202joyk, 10 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Nope, don't do it.”
 of 5 bubbles 406brittanys, 4 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay