We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 San Diego - Southbay

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Motel 6 San Diego - Southbay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 136: English reviews
Alberta CANADA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for just over a week. Yes its an older place. I found the area not great. Yes you get what you pay for. In no way was the hotel or the staff impolite. I found all staff very polite and helpful. Housekeeping here is awesome. The staff was a pleasure to deal with. My once concern was... More 

Helpful?
Thank CindyEnchanted
Mukund P, Manager at Motel 6 San Diego - Southbay, responded to this review

Thank you for the compliments on our staff as well as our location, we agree we are freeway close and with laundromat and restaurants nearby we are set. We really appreciate the compliments as well as the info about the other guests we are so sorry that you felt uncomfortable. We will let the owners know. Thanks again! More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel doesn't have a pool or breakfast. Owner was very rude. Room had bed bugs and roaches. Load people abovr, tried to call the front desk and no one answered. Asked for towels in the evening and was told that they didn't have any. Neighborhood isn't the best. And not to mention the shady people that were around at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
Mukund P, Manager at Motel 6 San Diego - Southbay, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback, we have not had a pool for well over a year. We are not sure where you saw it advertised, however if it is a 3rd party website then it would be because they are not managed by us the owners of the hotel and we cannot condone or manage those sites and if you want... More 

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Inkster, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

I like this Motel 6 because it's smaller than most, rooms are on the larger side, free WiFi, and staff is very nice. Easy access right off the freeway. Downside is no pool and no guest laundry, however there is a laundromat just down the street. I have stayed there several times and always a pleasant experience.

Helpful?
Thank Liz P
Mukund P, Manager at Motel 6 San Diego - Southbay, responded to this review

Thank you, we understand that you have many choices and we are happy that you continue to choose us. We like our location as well right off the freeway! thank you for the feedback. More 

Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2016

This place needs a renovation from top to bottom. Rooms and furniture are very outdated and worn. The bathtub was pitted from the decades worth of use. The sheets and linens have been washed so many times they are like cheesecloth. They have to wash the towels before they can return them to your room. One day we didn't get... More 

Helpful?
Thank navychief95
Mukund P, Manager at Motel 6 San Diego - Southbay, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry that we let you down and wish you the best in your travels. We will forward this to the owner. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

Booked this hotel at the last minute, not bad for the price and would only stay here if I had no other choice. The amenities listed a pool, but when we arrived there was none. The room had been recently painted, however the bathroom was not touched. The bathtub was stained. There was a refrigerator in the room, but no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alicia M
Mukund P, Manager at Motel 6 San Diego - Southbay, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry that you were let down and we are not sure where you booked, however we have not had a pool for quite some time, thank you for the heads up we will look into that. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Nothing fancy, but worked for what I needed it for--sleep, shower and getting ready. Outdated furniture. Clean enough, could use some remodeling to make it look more appealing especially the bathroom. Bed not the most comfortable but was fine.

Helpful?
Thank Erika J
Mukund P, Manager at Motel 6 San Diego - Southbay, responded to this review

Thank you we appreciate your business and the feedback. More 

Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

It's really an alright room for an overnight it was down the street rom imperial beach the room needed a little bit more cleaning specially the floors. Also there was a lot of people coming and going. Oh and a few blocks is the best donut shop yum yum donuts they are delish...

Helpful?
1 Thank Karla_Oppelt
Mukund P, Manager at Motel 6 San Diego - Southbay, responded to this review

Thank you so much, we really appreciate your business and thanks for taking the time to give us feedback. We agree the doughnuts are awesome! More 

San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2016

After unexpected delays, we tried crossing the Mexican border on a Friday evening. Gave up, and turned around to find a nearby motel that takes pets. Found this hotel. The room was spacious, clean, had a mini frig and microwave, a sitting area, and no carpet, which I'd prefer. Perfect for an unexpected one night stop over on the way... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank J H
Mukund P, Manager at Motel 6 San Diego - Southbay, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words, we really appreciate your comments and patronage! More 

Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2016

No problems at all. WIFI i think should be free though. Seems like a safe place. Parking lot was a little dirty with trash. But overall was a clean place. Staff attentive. Will probably go back there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Randy G
Mukund P, Manager at Motel 6 San Diego - Southbay, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, our WiFi is Free. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to seeing you again, please let us know if you have any issues at all with pricing. More 

Shakopee, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2016

If you are looking for a clean room, a comfortable bed, and nice shower, with a great t.v. this is a great place to stay. The room has no pictures on the walls, you get two bath towels, to washcloths, and only one hand towel. No shampoo in the rooms. There are no coffee pots, in the rooms, no cups,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
Mukund P, Manager at Motel 6 San Diego - Southbay, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments, however we are in transition to be a Motel 6, so that is why some of the rooms were bare, we are changing and remodeling. Thank you for your thoughts and your patronage! More 

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
BEST WESTERN Americana Inn
#122 of 283 in San Diego
268 reviews
Quality Suites Otay Mesa
#179 of 283 in San Diego
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chula Vista Inn
#10 of 20 in Chula Vista
224 reviews
Point Loma
Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge
Harvey's Motel
#212 of 283 in San Diego
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel 6 San Diego (formerly Days Inn San Diego)hotel offers you a warm welcome to the California coast. Located off Interstate 5, our hotel in San Diego, CA, near Cricket Wireless Amphitheater puts you 14 miles from downtown San Diego. Wake up and enjoy a morning boost with free Daybreak continental breakfast. Read your free USA Today newspaper or plan your trip using our free Wi-Fi Internet access. Our hotel features free parking, and in-room microwaves and refrigerators. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are available at our hotel in San Diego, CA, where kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego - Southbay

Address: 1101 Hollister Street, I-5 South Coronado Avenue, San Diego, CA 92154
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: £53 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego - Southbay 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego - Southbay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Days Inn (Hollister) Hotel San Diego
Days Inn San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 San Diego - Southbay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second floor was good for sleep”
 of 5 bubbles CindyEnchanted, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It was an unexpected stop over, and the gentleman at the desk couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating for our needs.”
 of 5 bubbles jhJ9302XB, 26 Feb 2016 | Read review
“southside of motel was quiet”
 of 5 bubbles johnjN4246WF, 20 Feb 2016 | Read review
“clean and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles juliegN7549YO, 10 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Book far in advance!”
 of 5 bubbles Pureheart88, 3 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay