We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Sands Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Sands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

558 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Sands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 486: English reviews
Cedar City, Utah
Reviewed 7 October 2014

This is great hotel to stay at. Very friendly staff and are very helpful. They breakfast is really good and have a lot to chose from. The rooms are really clean and nice. If you travel to Torrey Utah this is the hotel to stay at.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnny316151
Vancouver, BC
Reviewed 6 October 2014

Stayed two nights at the Red Sands in late September. The room was large and clean. The property could do with a bit of sprucing up but the out-of-the-way remoteness of Torrey probably means all local hotels/motels go a long time between renos. The view from the room was nice - local mountains, horses grazing nearby... Speaking of food -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank canman66
sydney australia
Reviewed 6 October 2014

We had a very nice large spa room with views of countryside and horses from the large window. We had booked thru booking.com and voucher said no breakfast..but on enquiring at reception next morning was told that all guests have breakfast included. Unfortunately this was nearing the end of breakfast time so it was a bit rushed and limited items...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stella099
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewed 1 October 2014

I forgot to give show my AAA card when I checked in (for an additional discount they advertised). When i asked staff about it one morning, I was told it was "too late." That evening I talked to the extremely nice lady or checked us in (I believe she is either the owner or the manager), she immediately said it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HeadofSpreesUS
RedSandsHotel, Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed visiting the area. We hope you would choose Red Sands Hotel again when traveling to Capitol Reef! Best Regards, Kelli Hansen

Yorkshire
Reviewed 30 September 2014

We stayed here just the one night as we were travelling in Utah. It was reasonable for the one night...but we missed having a tea/coffee meeker in the room. As the last people said we had a laugh about the telephone and sign about toilet congestion in the loo! The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was adequate if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MickyYorkshire
RedSandsHotel, Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback so we can continue to provide our guests with the amenities they enjoy. We plan on getting in room coffee pots starting in our 2016 season. If you travel to Capitol Reef National Park again we would love to have you stay with us! Best Regards, Kelli Hansen

Hertfordshire, England.
Reviewed 29 September 2014

A rather disinterested check-in, no warmth at all. Had asked for a back view room quite some months ago when we booked but told they were all taken. It was around 4pm by then so wondered if it was because we had booked through Expedia? Room ok, did have view of some sorts of cattle in field across the road....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wonderar
Reviewed 28 September 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Red Sands Hotel on my trip to Capital Reef National Park. I loved how the location was so close to the national park. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and and very comfortable. There is wifi which is nice since you can't get service in the country. I was really surprised at how...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hollie H
Maribor, Slovenia
Reviewed 28 September 2014

We stayed overnight on our road to Antelope park. We had a room on second floor with a great view of some mountains over the field. So if you look for a small village hotel in the middle of country this could be a good solution for you. You can not get a food, except breakfast, in the hotel but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mik1952
Reviewed 26 September 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and really enjoyed my stay staff was friendly and food was good I love the waffles! I love the new patio so pretty... It's a nice place to sit and talk and enjoy the torrey scenery... room was clean and bed was comfy... I love all the art and rock work really got the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hailee M
Hanford, California
Reviewed 26 September 2014

My husband and I made our reservation due to Trip Advisor reviews. If you ever get a chance to do Utah's national parks you wont be diss-appointed. This was our second hotel on our trip. Our check-in was easy and the gal at the desk was so helpful and friendly she told us all the very best hiking spots to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rita B

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrey hotels
2.0 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
0.4 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
674 reviews
0.8 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
1.5 mi away
Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef
0.5 mi away
SkyRidge Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Sands Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Boulder, Co
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Red Sands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room facing the back to see the horses and mountains!”
768kristinem, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Depends on what you want to look at, horses, pasture, mountains or the red rocks”
kathybN4768ZX, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the south side, opposite from the road, look out on range land.”
F6362PJjamesb, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask a room in the back”
anectine, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a ground floor room & when making your reservation get the name of the person you talk to or else you will not get the room you want.”
bcwill10, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5