SpringHill Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square South
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

SpringHill Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square South

Traveller (104)
Room & Suite (58)
Bar 1905
Dining (11)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#355 of 501 hotels in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Rest easy at SpringHill Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square South. Our hotel in New York, New York is located near the heart of Manhattan, close to Times Square, Madison Square Garden, Hudson Yards and Broadway. After a busy day, unwind with complimentary luxuries like Wi-Fi and a hot, healthy breakfast or treat yourself to a drink in the hotel lounge or a workout in the fitness center.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Car park
Wifi
Paid wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

338 W 36th St, New York City, NY 10018
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
LaGuardia Airport
Teterboro Airport
34th St – Penn Station
3 minNew York City Subway
323Reviews57Q+A57Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 142
  • 74
  • 43
  • 19
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jules wrote a review Apr 2020
Newmarket, Canada646 contributions192 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We made a very last minute decision to take a long weekend trip to NYC Feb 28-Mar 2. We booked this hotel off Trivago based off price, reviews, location and the fact that they offered free breakfast every day, something we unfortunately didn't wake up for on time once.

We landed at Newark Airport and were delighted with the quick and easy 30 minute train ride to Penn Station. Within a 4 minute walk we were at the hotel!

Check in was simple and the staff were lovely. The room was comfortable and well equipped, our only complaint (and reason for 4 stars instead of 5) was the layout of the room. We were constantly tripping over everything. I've never tripped or bumped into things before like that in my life. We've been to NYC multiple times, we know they don't have a lot of room to work with, but it just seemed like the layout could have been better.

Asides from that, the bed was comfortable, the room was quiet, the location was great and it was exactly what we needed. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone headed to NYC for a getaway!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brad T wrote a review Mar 2020
Guadalupe, Arizona9 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I booked s Spring Break Trip to New York and we chose this property for our stay. We were first-time visitors to New York and we chose this property based upon it's proximity to Times Square, the subway, amenities, and price. We had four people in our group.

We were able to schedule Airlink to the hotel from JFK. We arrived late (10:30 PM EDT). We were greeted warmly by Front Desk Staff. They promptly checked us in, provided some key advice after we informed them it was our first visit to the city. We stayed in a room with two queen beds. The room was small but knew this because it is New York City. Not a problem. The room was nicely decorated and clean. Beds were comfortable. We stayed for five days. The location was great and we could easily get to public transportation or walk to our destination. We repeatedly asked staff for help, directions and advice and all staff were professional, helpful and friendly. The free breakfast every morning had a very good selection and was freshly prepared and service staff was professional.

We had a great stay at this property and will return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at SpringHill Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square South
Responded 13 Mar 2020
Dear Thommyson, It was an absolute pleasure welcoming you and your family to SpringHill Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square South for your Spring Break trip. It brings us immense happiness to know our delicious complimentary breakfast, excellent accommodations, and trusted hospitality outperformed your expectations for a culminating experience. It was a pleasure serving you, and we look forward to making more memories with you all on your next visit to New York City. Anthony Canna Complex General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kafar K wrote a review Oct 2021
Cartagena, Colombia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel's location, staff, and rooms are just the best you can get for the relatively cheap price they charge. I had a blast staying there and their breakfasts are really good. On my last day, I was helped to print some documents for my work, leave my bags for a couple of hours after check out and get a taxi service to JFK for a cheaper price than Uber. And what is best I got contacted by the hotel's Complex Assistant Front Office Manager, Daniel Arizmendi about me leaving my passport in the room almost right after I checked out. He CC'ed all the necessary staff members to make sure I get my passport when I would come back to pick up my bags. It all just felt really well and positive at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Accessibility, location
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Diego N wrote a review Sept 2021
Doral, Florida72 contributions36 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This has been one of the worst hotel experiences in my adult life. A lot of things were wrong and very little effort was done from the hotel staff to make it better.
We initially booked the new "SpringHill Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan Chelsea @ 140 West 28th Street", however, the opening of this location was pushed back so we were switched to this sister location.

This "sister" location was horrible and it should not be able to carry on using the Marriott brand unless things dramatically change.
When we arrived at the hotel after a long cab drive from LGA (with our 6 month old son) we were attended by a very rude front office staff member who gave us a room with no Air Conditioning, I then came back down and instead of switching us right away, they sent us an engineer who couldn't figure it out so then we had to come back down (a third time) and finally get another room. In the new room the TV didn't work, we were told the cable box was broken and we could ask for a room the NEXT day, I wasn't planning to unpack all the baby stuff and then repack the day after to get another (a third) room. So we stayed in the room with no TV, and up to now, we haven't been compensated for this inconvenience.
Also, at time of check-in we were never told about the housekeeping policies and the fact that you don't get service until the 3rd day. So, obviously, the 2nd day we were expecting at least clean towels, but nothing, finally when we came back from sightseeing I had to request new towels and I was then explained about this policy.
The breakfast is OK but nothing to write about.
Then, the location, I know this is not the hotel's fault but the area surrounding this hotel has gotten very shady and sketchy. There are several sketchy looking people in the surrounding streets which is not ideal when traveling with your family.
Lastly, the time of checkout is noon, and we were being bothered by the housekeeper on the last day (while putting the baby to sleep) at 1000 AM asking when we were planning to leave! come on! very rude.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Please avoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
travelgeek33765 wrote a review Sept 2021
Washington DC, District of Columbia15 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed two nights at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott, in NYC, September 18-19, 2021…in two different rooms; the first one the engineer could not get the air conditioning to work, plus the room had too much street noise…so they moved me.
There’s a lot to like about this hotel, it’s conveniently located, especially if you arrived by train…Penn Station is close by. It’s clean and modern, but built inside the façade of an old church adding some character. Additionally, the staff is friendly and accommodating, the room has microwave and mini fridge and breakfast and wi-fi are included.
But there are some issues: the room is not a suite, half the very small room is carpeted and the other half has faux wood flooring, creating two ‘spaces’. The bathroom only has a shower and toilet, the vanity sink is in the living space, much like a roadside motel, and there is only one chair. The small desk/work space is hogged by the microwave. The room has an iron, but no hair dryer, you have to request one, there is no light switch by the bed, you have to turn out the lights, then find your way to bed. The cold breakfast is also of the roadside motel variety; like much of this property, below what you expect from a Marriott, at any price point. But the deal breaker, for me, was the air conditioning couldn’t be made to work in the second room either…neither room ever got a cool as the outside temperature. One of the engineers confided that he spends most of his time trying to coax the air conditioning to work.
Lastly, the hotel is on a pretty seedy side street…not a criticism, in NYC you build where you can obtain a building site…there are three other hotels on the block. I didn’t feel at risk, but it will intimidate some.
As the title says, it’s your call…you’ll have to decide if the pros outweigh the cons. At the right price, this could be a very good option, with precautions. Request a hair dryer, when you check in, if you need one, and check out your room before you unpack…if the air-conditioning doesn’t work or you’re uncomfortable with the location of the bathroom vanity…it was less intrusive in my first room, request a new room…the staff is accommodating.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: As the review says, carefully check out your room before unpacking.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
leighden2n wrote a review Feb 2020
Sydney, Australia2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I never know how much to rely on reviews as people have different expectations. I believe I have pretty high expectations but I am also realistic in my expectations. SpringHill is reasonably priced with updated and very comfortable rooms. I did request a quieter room and found the room to be quiet with double glazed windows. I was only on the 4th floor and did not notice any excessive noise. The bed was comfortable, great bathroom with quality toiletries, safe and coffee machine. The room is tight but that is expected in New York at a certain budget. For me as a solo traveller it was adequate. The staff were all very helpful, friendly and efficient. I could not fault the staff - all lovely people. The breakfast spread was generous and varied, albeit very busy but that can be avoided by getting there early. The room was very clean and refreshed daily. The location is great for people who want to be close to Time square and super close to Penn station to get around. I caught the train from the airport and then subway to Penn and it was an easy walk from Penn Station with my suitcase on wheels. All up a good choice of for my first visit to New York.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at SpringHill Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square South
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Dear leighden2n, Thank you for sharing your kind review for SpringHill Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square South. We are charmed to know our well-appointed accommodations, seamless hospitality, hot complimentary breakfast, and stellar location all at a great value made your stay so memorable. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again the next time you are in the New York City area. Anthony Canna Complex General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
K2026JZkristina wrote a review Mar 2020
Skopje, Republic of North Macedonia1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel has a great location, close to many of the sights and is easily accesible. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nicely decorated and modern. Downfall was the room view (inside) and heat (could not heat more than 21C).
Breakfast was available but not very good (packed bread, tastless omlette and watery oats etc.).
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at SpringHill Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square South
Responded 5 Mar 2020
Dear K2026JZkristina, Thank you for sharing your kind review for SpringHill Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square South. We are pleased to know our convenient location made your stay more enjoyable. We appreciate your kind comments about our staff and modern decor. However, we regret the maintenance issues you encountered. Also, we apologize for not meeting your expectations concerning the breakfast offerings. Please know, we have gone ahead to share your comments with the appropriate teams to take corrective actions. Your business is appreciated and hope you will make us your home every time your travels bring you to New York City. Anthony Canna Complex General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vetri G wrote a review Feb 2020
Waterbury, Connecticut26 contributions50 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Reserved a room that with two queen beds. Prepaid for two nights for two bed room. When I arrived at the hotel they put me in one queen bed and room that was not clean (trash was not picked up and sheets were stained). Came down to the reception and spoke to Manager Amanda who said she didn't have any other rooms. At 11.50 pm, with two little children, I had to scramble to get to another hotel paying $300 additional per night. Bait and switch at a Mariott who knew?!. I'm in the hospitality industry , extremely unprofessional. This place is ok for single travellers, not for families with little children. (didn't even have roll away beds). Horrible is the only word I can think of. On top the reservation the manager Amanda had the audacity to ask if we were canceling the reservation (@ 12.00 Am) without even considering that we would left in the cold with Children (18 degree Fahrenheit).
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, General Manager at SpringHill Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square South
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Dear TheSoaringEagle, Providing outstanding hospitality and clean accommodations is always our top priority. That being said, we were disappointed to read about the issues you encountered, and we sincerely apologize for falling short of your expectations. It is regrettable that the room type you preferred was not available when you arrived, and we are sorry for any frustration and inconvenience this caused. We do everything possible to honor requests; however, depending on our occupancy, it is not always possible. Please be assured that we will be working to address the concerns outlined in your review with the appropriate individuals. We regret that you chose not to stay with us, and we hope that we will have a future opportunity to show you the exceptional stay we are committed to providing every guest. Anthony Canna Complex General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EllieClaire92 wrote a review Feb 2023
Sidcup, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I visited Springhill Suites with my Mum during February half term. Having read some of the reviews, I was worried about this place but honestly, I needn’t have been! From the moment we checked in, to the moment we checked out, we had everything we needed. The staff are extremely friendly and there is a lovely atmosphere around the hotel. Everything was smooth and efficient. The room was cleaned everyday and we were given fresh towels, which after a long day of exploring was so wonderful. The breakfast has lots of choice (but it is very busy) and was replenished regularly. People have made complaints about the street it’s located on but we never encountered any problems, even very late at night. Unfortunately, no matter where you go in the world, there will always be things you dislike but this was never an issue nearby to the hotel. It was extremely quiet at night when sleeping. It’s in a great location - we walked to everything! Absolutely perfect for what we needed. Thank you so much for making our stay so easy and stress free!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Marriott, General Manager at SpringHill Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square South
Responded 15 Feb 2023
Dear EllieClaire92, Thank you for the generous rating and for your comments regarding your time at SpringHill Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square South. Our goal is to make every guest feel welcome and comfortable during their entire visit, and we are pleased to know your experience with us exceeded these expectations. We are also delighted to know our exceptional service, relaxing atmosphere, and convenient location enhanced your time with us. That said, we have also taken note of your additional comments and we will share them appropriately as we strive to improve our guest service. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you are in the New York City area. Best regards, Guest Service Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cr2fischer wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
A good deal if you are into exercise. Elevator went out for several hours one day and when it did work, only 2 elevators for 12 floors of rooms. Breakfast was good variety but understaffed and overwhelmed by 2 properties worth of diners
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t try to get more than 2 people in a room- bathroom is super small - no where to relax except...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, General Manager at SpringHill Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square South
Responded 5 Jan 2020
Dear cr2fischer, Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently. Please accept our apologies for the delays you experienced when waiting for the elevators and any inconvenience this caused. Our engineering team is checking that the elevators are functioning properly, however, during our busiest times the elevators may be over-burdened. While we are glad you were pleased with our complimentary breakfast buffet, we are sorry for any issues you encountered. Certain times of the year are especially busy and the breakfast area can get a little crowded. We are sensitive to this and work hard to keep the food stocked and tables cleared as needed. Your feedback is appreciated, as it helps us improve our service delivery. We hope you were able to enjoy other aspects of your stay, including our fantastic location, and we would love to have you visit the next time you are in our exciting city. Anthony Canna Complex General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the New York City area.
PRICE RANGE
£181 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityHudson Yards / Midtown West / Garment District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
284
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SPRINGHILL SUITES NEW YORK MANHATTAN/TIMES SQUARE SOUTH - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about SpringHill Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square South
Which popular attractions are close to SpringHill Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square South?
Nearby attractions include Style Room NYC Shopping Tour Experiences (0.3 miles), Mission Escape Games (0.2 miles), and Exit Escape Room (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at SpringHill Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square South?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at SpringHill Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square South?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at SpringHill Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square South?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at SpringHill Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square South?
Yes, a parking garage, paid public parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to SpringHill Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square South?
Conveniently located restaurants include Zeppola Bakery, Liberty Bagels Midtown, and IL Punto Ristorante.
Are there opportunities to exercise at SpringHill Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square South?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at SpringHill Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square South?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at SpringHill Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square South?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does SpringHill Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square South offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to SpringHill Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square South?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (3.1 miles), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (3.1 miles), and Governors Island National Monument (4.7 miles).
All New York City HotelsNew York City Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in New York CityHotels near SpringHill Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square South
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire