We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dylan Hotel NYC

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Dylan Hotel NYC
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

799 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 484: English reviews
Rochester, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We got an incredible deal on this hotel, so it's difficult for me to criticize. I would say that if I paid full price i would be disappointed. This hotel is said to be 4 stars, to me that is debatable. What I loved besides the great price we got? The location! Right by Grand Central. Not a very busy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelingSpangela
Management response:

Thank you for your review. Your opinion helps us improve our hotel and services. We would like to let you know that we are working on a renovation project for the entire building in order to improve our installations and room comfort. We hope to see you again at the Dylan Hotel!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Location is pretty good ,, but hotels lobby area was very tiny,, rooms are small too I went there w my two kids ,, They also charged for parking a car 59$,, 😟😟😟 Bathroom was so cold that we had to open the door there for a while to be able to take a shower,, was no hair conditioner in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katusha L
Management response:

Thank you for your comment, your opinion is valued. As you may know, we are a boutique hotel in Midtown, which explains your concern with our lobby and rooms. We assure you that we have spacious rooms compared to other boutique hotels in the area. We are also located within an older building in the area, and we have a...

Hernando, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We checked into the Dylan and received a room that apparently had not been fully stocked. There were no glasses in the bathroom, one hand towel, and only one wine glass over the mini bar. We asked for a second wine glass and were brought a water glass... Okay, I get that's being overly picky, but where they really blew...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank celentms
Management response:

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate your opinion as it helps us improve our hotel. We take your critique very seriously and we will investigate this matter to find out what went wrong. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences that we caused you.

lewisville, United States
Reviewed 12 December 2016

1.) plaster is falling from wall 2.) Torn curtains 3.) FD didn't find my third party booking reservation. After showing a confirmation the agent responded "Well, we will ALLOW you to stay the night". Like it was a privilege. 4.) A/C did not work in any of the three rooms I tried. FD agent made me follow him around to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christyne M
Management response:

Thank you for your review. Your opinion is appreciated. We would like to let you know that we are working on a renovation project for the entire building in order to improve our installations and room comfort. Regarding the heating control, unfortunately we have a general heat system in the hotel, we have heat during the winter and AC during...

Tigard, Oregon
Reviewed 7 December 2016

This hotel is unsafe and has no AC. Our first night the fire alarms went off at 12:30 am. We hiked down from the 16th floor only to be met by restaurant staff who suggested we take the elevator, a lobby full of angry firemen when the hotel was unable to direct them to the false alarm and a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petcherl
Management response:

Thank you for your comment. Your opinion helps us improve our hotel and services. Regarding the heating control, unfortunately we have a general heat system in the hotel, we have heat during the winter and AC during the summer time. We can only control the power (low-medium-high) but it does not allow us to set a specific temperature. This project...

Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 7 December 2016

The front desk staff was great except for late night worker the night the smoke alarm went off. First the rooms were clean, bed comfy, pillows okay. We did have a faucet we could not turn off and reported it twice but finally kept putting towels in sink to help us sleep. Also the rooms were warmer than I like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 101NDTraveler2013
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 29 November 2016

This hotel turns off their air conditioning so the rooms are very uncomfortable and stuffy. To make things worse the front desk doesn't seem to know it's turned off for the season. I called about the air not working and a quickly rising temp, they said they'd send someone right up. An hour later no one showed, I called again,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ramfan1_99
Management response:

Firstly we would like to thank you for your time and your feedback, we greatly appreciate your time and your opinion, it is very helpful to improve our Hotel We do apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay at The Dylan Hotel, I am personally very surprised about your feedback, and I am taking care of the issues personally....

Reviewed 18 November 2016

When we entered our room, it was very hot and stuffy. Turned the function to "cool" and fan to "high." Went away for dinner. Came back. Still hot and really stuffy. Tried to call down to the desk but nobody answered. Went down to the front desk and described the problem. Poor young woman behind the desk had to tell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RhodyEBP
Management response:

Firstly we would like to thank you for your time and your feedback, we greatly appreciate your time and your opinion, it is very helpful to improve our Hotel We do apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay at The Dylan Hotel, I am personally very surprised about your feedback, and I am taking care of the issues personally....

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 17 November 2016

My flight was delayed and i arrived at Dylan after 1:30am to be told that my prepaid booking was cancelled by Hotels.com. THe hotel had no explanation as to why hotels.com cancelled my reservation. To make matters worse, they were completely sold out. I contacted hotels.com and was told that my reservation was still active and they would never cancel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Adeboy33
Management response:

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review, we value your comments and they help us improve. We would like to apologize for the issue you had when arriving to our hotel. There was a problem in our system and we could not locate your reservation. This is something that has never happened before and we are working on...

Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

I stayed here 2 nights in November. This older, small hotel is in a good midtown location. One block over from a Grand Central Station, a few blocks away from Bryant park and a 10 minute walk from Times Square. My room was decent sized, clean and quiet. The bed was comfortable. My only issues was that it was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
Management response:

Dear guest, Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Dylan Hotel, and we hope to see you soon here. Regards

313 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (172)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (115)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Executive Room (53)
Viewed
Junior Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#131 of 463 in New York City
394 reviews
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#293 of 463 in New York City
1,958 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fif...
#236 of 463 in New York City
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#65 of 463 in New York City
1,974 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#124 of 463 in New York City
529 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#192 of 463 in New York City
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Midtown

Neighbourhood Profile
Midtown
This is the iconic New York that so many visitors imagine before they visit—spectacular skyscrapers like the Chrysler Building and Empire State Building, iconic public buildings like Grand Central Terminal and the New York Public Library, and the non-stop hustle and bustle of the city streets. Fifth Avenue is a shopper's heaven where you can find every kind of store imaginable, with fashion brands ranging from the affordable to the ultra-fancy. Visit the Rockefeller Center to experience towering Art Deco grandeur, and foodies will love the busy restaurants that stay open late in Koreatown. After dark, Midtown calms down a bit, but at any time of day or night it still feels 100% New York.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dylan Hotel in Manhattan unites tradition and modernity exquisitely and with a contemporary elegance that captivates our guests. The building is very emblematic, first having been the residence of the Welsh writer, Dylan Thomas, and later the headquarters of the New York Pharmacists Club. The Dylan Hotel combines the classical lounges and guest rooms of the period with ambiances and areas in contemporary design. We are a non-stop hotel, because the Big Apple never stops. For this reason, the gym and the business centre are open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dylan Hotel NYC

Address: 52 E 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly Eurostars Dylan Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Price Range: £109 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dylan Hotel NYC 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Dylan Hotel NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Hotel New York City
Dylan New York City
Hotel Style:
#216 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dylan Hotel NYC staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Dylan Hotel NYC staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room at an alternate hotel!!”
 of 5 bubbles petcherl, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Very few two bed rooms. No room has a view.”
 of 5 bubbles 101NDTraveler2013, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Good location”
 of 5 bubbles mearaconnecticut, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for higher floor due to the noise form the street and pub next door”
 of 5 bubbles 226traceyg, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“check room .”
 of 5 bubbles 500jeppeh, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay