We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,550 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,462: English reviews
Strongsville, Ohio
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Location fantastic, right around the block from Betsy Ross's house, Ben Franklin's grave and a short walk to the Liberty Bell and the Hop on Hop Off bus tour. Walk right up the street and you'll find a nice selection of restaurants and bars. The hotel itself was very nice, I have stayed at a lot of Wyndhams and some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leigh Anne B
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Leigh Anne, Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I apologize for the mix up with the shower type. I'll look into it and make sure the correct information is in our system. Thank you again and we hope to see you back sometime soon. Regards,

Pen Argyl, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank j0vannip
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review

Vrhnika, Slovenia
Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

It was a disaster, we have stayed in the Wyndham hotels before and this was the worst. Rude personnel, smelly hallway, smelly room, extra small room, sticky carpet, booked for two but the bathroom amenities just for one. Loud airconditioning so we were not able to sleep, noisy in hallways, windows sealed, room facing the main road with trucks driving...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prosap
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Guest, Please accept my apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. While some things are beyond our control rude and unpleasant encounters with the staff are unacceptable. I know how that must have made you feel and I will be sure to address it with the team. Again my apologies. Unfortunately I'm not able to...

Glen Burnie
Reviewed 28 August 2015

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mason L
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank medphila
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 27 August 2015

When pulling up to the hotel, we were a little skeptical because the exterior didn't look as nice as some other hotels we've stayed at in Philadelphia, but the staff was so friendly and helpful, we were won over. I'm serious. I did not encounter one staff member who was cranky, though I could tell they were busy. At times...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Christine, Thank you for your comments and kind words about the staff. I'm sure they'll love to read your post. Thanks again and we hope to see you back some time in the near future. Regards,

Dobbs Ferry, New York, United States
Reviewed 27 August 2015

I was traveling with my adult son who uses a wheelchair. We had three requirements: an accessible room, separate beds and a roll-in shower. I booked by phone and was told that we'd have a room with a king bed, roll-in shower and a rollaway bed. Upon arrival, we were given a room with a king bed and bathtub, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen K
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Ellen, Thank you for your comments. I'm so sorry we weren't able to accommodate your specific needs. It's horrible that you had to sleep on the floor. I wish we could have helped you more. Again my sincere apologies. Warm Regards,

Rochester, New York
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Recently stayed here with my two children. The room wasn't ready right at 4:00 but they comp'd the parking without even asking. The room was ready within 20 minutes, it was clean and quite comfortable. The location was ideal for walking to the great restaurants and historic sites. I would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 783susann
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Guest, Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I would agree that we are in the perfect location. It truly is a great part of town. Thanks again. Regards,

Dagsboro, Delaware
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Staff were accommodating. Room was average. Bed was comfy. Bathroom was small though. A slight odor in the elevators. Close to everything historic in Philadelphia. A couple of blocks from South Street. Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna T
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Donna, Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Philly. Thanks again. Regards,

Hinckley, Ohio
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Within walking distance of many attractions in Old City, Philly, as well as train station at Reading Terminal, making it easy to get around, including from/to airport. Front desk personnel pleasant and welcoming. Loved the rooftop pool.

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HKKash
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I would agree that we are in the perfect location for not only sightseeing but also dining and shopping. It's a great part of town. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit. Regards,

154 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
1.1 mi away
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
0.3 mi away
Penn's View Hotel
Penn's View Hotel
#11 of 85 in Philadelphia
752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the nation's most historic square mile! In the heart of downtown Philadelphia Old City, 8 miles away from the international PHL airport, the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers the best in Philadelphia accommodations! We are only 5 minutes' walk to the major historic attractions: Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and Betsy Ross House. Walk or take a short subway ride to Pennsylvania Convention Center.Visiting Thomas Jefferson hospital or Pennsylvania hospital? Reserve a room at the smoke free Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in a safe neighborhood with 40 restaurants. Government offices within walking distance to the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District include US Federal Court House, IRS, US Attorneys office, Department of Labor, FPS, Social Security Administration, FRB, Department of Justice and DEA.The Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers free WiFi and is conveniently located about 2 miles from Art Museum and Franklin Institute featuring Star Trek and Galileo the Medici and the Age of Astronomy exhibits. With short drive to Aquarium, New Jersey Battleship and Zoo, families will appreciate the central location of the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in Philly, Pennsylvania. If Market Street, Gallery shopping mall, and South Street shops haven't wore you out yet, King of Prussia Mall is only 30 min. drive. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Address: 400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2120
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Price Range: £135 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Historic District
Philadelphia Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#46 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is some city street noise so higher floors would be preferable.”
 of 5 bubbles Hoosiercritic, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“They all seem about the same!”
 of 5 bubbles Travelttomuch, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“upper floor rooms, don't worry, there are elevators available.”
 of 5 bubbles anaidazulita, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have better view.”
 of 5 bubbles K1092MUdenniss, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Reserve here and have a great time exploring Old City Philadelphia!”
 of 5 bubbles Suzanne1317, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5