We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

757 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 734: English reviews
Lehman, United States
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I have been staying here for business for over 5 years. The service is great. Herman the head valet takes such good care of me - getting my bags to my car, walking me to my car when it was icy and helping me out when I had car troubles. The renovations they have done are very nice. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denice Y
Chicago, Illinois
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Close enough to downtown without having to pay downtown prices. Every single staff member we interacted with has been exceptionally friendly! From the amazing doormen outside to the front desk, to the restaurant servers - everyone was outgoing and welcoming. Happy to have us stay here. Thank you! The room is clean, comfortable and well-appointed, including a coffee maker and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MSH444
About Hotel's Favourite Review
DavidRichardson814, Front Office Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review

Dear MSH444, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. As a HHonors member, you are among our most valued guests! I am pleased to hear you found the experience to your liking and the staff to be friendly. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return. Sincerely,...

Ohio
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived via rental car and parking fees were immediately explained by doorman. Self-park is $5 per entry and valet is $10/day with unlimited entry/exit. Room check-in was courteous and efficient. Room overlooked the reservoir which was under construction. Interesting but not particularly attractive. We had problems with housekeeping.Our request for an extra set of towels was ignored. The next day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rxgeek
Management response:

Dear Rxgeek, Thank you so very much for your kind words! We always strive to give nothing but the best for our guests, so I would like to apologize for the service regarding the towels. All of your comments will be reviewed by my Executive team to find ways to improve our guests' experience. We look forward to welcoming you...

New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Swim meet with the kids. Chain restaurants and coffee in walking distance. Hotel was busy but it was nice. The food on site was also good. The lobby lobby seating ares was large with plenty of seating for the many swimmers ranging for 8 yrs old to 18. Pleasant stay would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie B
Management response:

Dear Bonnie B, Thank you so very much for your kind words! We always strive to give nothing but the best for our guests, and hearing such praise is absolutely wonderful. I am glad to hear we could make the visit that much more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you in the future! Sincerely, David Richardson Assistant Front Office...

Maryland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I made a reservation at this hotel for Dec 25th when it became clear that the in-laws didn't have room for us. We didn't check in until almost midnight but it wasn't an issue. The valet attendant was still there and we were easily checked in. We had a room on the 12th floor away from the elevator so it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelL0veLife
Management response:

Dear TravelL0veLife, Thank you so very much for your kind words! We always strive to give nothing but the best for our guests, and hearing such praise from a seasoned traveler such as yourself is absolutely wonderful. I am glad to hear we could make the holiday that much more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you in the future!...

Norristown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The beds was too small for me and my husband so we slept in separate beds, the stopper in the tub was broke so we stood in our own dirt. No white to hang your wash cloth and towels. You had to pay for parking. The room wasn't worth $163.00 for one night.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 973tamikas
Management response:

Dear 973tamikas, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy. Our Executive Team will review your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. Sincerely,...

Paris, France
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There is a great view to be had of the Philadelphia skyline from City Ave, but from what I can tell, the rooms of the Hilton all seem to overlook the empty reservoir. That's a shame. Other than that, the room was quite comfortable and well-equipped. TOURISTS SHOULD BE AWARE: THIS HOTEL IS QUITE FAR FROM THE CITY CENTRE!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SteveSavatte
Management response:

Dear Steve, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us! Although there is no view of the skyline, the moonlight simmering of the reservoir can be quite serene. We look forward to your next stay! Sincerely, David Richardson Assistant Front Office Manager

Austin, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

During my recent trip to Philadelphia, I decided to stay on the main line and the Hilton City Avenue was my first choice. I received excellent service and being a seasoned traveler have high expectations. From the moment I arrived, the valet staff was extremely welcoming as was the front desk. The service got even better when I met the...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinehU6841GS
Andrew D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review

Christine, Thank you so very much for your kind words! We always strive to give nothing but the best for our guests, and hearing such praise from a seasoned traveler such as yourself is absolutely wonderful. I am glad to hear that your sister's celebration was such a success, and look forward to welcoming you in the future! Best, Andrew...

Saint James, New York
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Giving this hotel only 3 stars obit due to the independently hotel that is onsite. Hotel deserves more stars but when you have a restaurant onsite that as horrible service and mice you have to be concerned about the property in general The rooms a big and modern. Looks like they are also fairly new or recently refurbished. Very pleased...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Walter K
Andrew D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review

Walter, Please allow me to offer my sincerest apologies for the experience you had while with us. Your praise of our rooms is wonderful to hear; we did undergo a full renovation last year, and I am glad to see that the quality of the rooms is to your liking. However, I can see that this experience was diminished by...

Reviewed 8 December 2016

I stayed only one night here, but was a great night. I got a room at the 11th floor (1123) very spacious and apparently renewed, because everything looks like new. The view was very nice also. I got a nice surprise when I arrived and saw a plate with fruits and cookies and a letter from the manager thanking me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivan F
Andrew D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review

Ivan, Thank you so much for your kind words. Our property was renovated last year, and I am very glad to see that the room was to your liking! We always appreciate the continued loyalty of HHonors members like yourself, and the support you consistently offer our brand. The cheeseburger is definitely also one of my favorite menu items, and...

139 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#25 of 85 in Philadelphia
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#4 of 85 in Philadelphia
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Delmonico's Steakhouse
Delmonico's Steakhouse
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue

Address: 4200 City Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19131-1611
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Price Range: £134 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hilton
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms were nice. Lobby was great spacious for kids to spread out in when we had down time.”
 of 5 bubbles bonnieb802, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Look for the rooms on the 45 degree angles. I think they are bigger. Mine was the 1123.”
  • Room 1123: 1 Kingsize bed
  • Room 1123: 1 Kingsize bed
  • Gift from management
  • Room 1123: 1 Kingsize bed
  • Room 1123: 1 Kingsize bed
 of 5 bubbles 328ivanf, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Be aware that hallways get noisy at night when the events end”
 of 5 bubbles sbg18, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose top floor...away from elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles DavidB19922014, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Perhaps one without platic & tape covering the window.”
 of 5 bubbles BlueFrogHops, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay