We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 283: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We loved our first visit to Savannah and the Hotel Indigo was one of the reasons. Comfortable rooms, friendly staff and nice bar/lounge. Right on the edge of the historic district, we easily walked to most of the charming city squares. In the evening we enjoyed delicious cocktails in the Five Oaks Taproom. Would stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drewmadethis
Bristol UK
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I'd love to give this hotel 4 stars: and it could so easily get them with a bit of care and attention. It's position is perfect, in the historic district within easy walk to River Street. Beautiful building, first impression good - valet parking guy helpful but be aware €25 per night to park. Initial booking in by haughty receptionist...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AshleyandChris
Joey C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay with us. Although we were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, we sincerely apologize for the service issues you experienced during your stay. We always want to ensure our mutual cleanliness standards have been met and we again apologize for the...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Got to spend the evening at Hotel Indigo a few weeks ago and absolutely loved it. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are modern and comfortable, the view from my room was lovely, and the location is perfect. It was within walking distance to everything you'd probably be wanting to walk to in Charleston, except maybe the cemetery....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coulterite
Joey C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit with us. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you in the future.

Manhattan, Kansas
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our first room was supposed to be a king bed and we were given two "queen" beds that were more like "double" beds. We went down to the desk and asked for the room we had requested. The snarky guy said it would be an additional $50 per night. We asked if he could waive that and he said no....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RGW56
Joey C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District, responded to this review

We were extremely disappointed to learn of the guest service issue you experienced during your stay. We appreciate feedback such as yours as it provides us with the opportunity to make improvements in service. It is our goal to not only meet your service expectations but to exceed them and I offer my sincere apology for falling below those expectations....

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very nice hotel in the historic district. It was my first visit and I found the hotel very comfortable and well maintained. Breakfast in the restaurant was very good and the staff (Jamella) was very pleasant and friendly. All in all a very good experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernard B
Joey C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was my friend's and I first trip to Savannah and we chose this hotel for its uniqueness and close proximity to everything fun. Upon checkin we were greeted with a lovely smile from Meka who is just great. She was very informative and had a wonderful personality. The concierge was very informative and the drinks at the bar were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
Joey C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property. We were pleased to learn that our amenities, atmosphere and service were to your liking during your stay with us. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to seeing you next year.

Brunswick, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for a short one night stay. I had never experienced a Hotel Indigo so I hasn't sure what to expect. Well, delighted isn't enough. From the moment I arrived, the smiling friendly valet was polite and took my car. When I enter the building (which I found out later, has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank winediva2017
Joey C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are so happy to learn that you have so many positive things to say about our hotel, our convenient location and especially our wonderful staff! Should your future travel plans include Savannah, we hope you will stay with us again.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed on the 4th floor for 2 nights from Fri - Sunday. The hotel is in the historic district and close to River St and Congress St if you like to go out and have good food and drinks. We came for a few nights to relax and have some good southern food. All in all, it was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
Joey C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Indigo while visiting Savannah. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have you as our guest again.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is gorgeous and the location is amazing but the staff needs serious work. We checked in after driving from Florida with a toddler and were put in the wrong room. Ok....it happens. I call down to front desk and the girl says to come and get new keys....no apology or offer to help. I go grab the keys...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cindymarchant
Joey C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate feedback such as yours as it provides us with the opportunity to make improvements in service. We were disappointed to learn of the guest service issues you experienced during your stay. We understand the importance of apologizing for our mistakes and offering assistance to make it...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived hours early at the hotel to ask if we can check in early. Fortunately, one of them did mention they have rooms available but would have to wait a couple of minutes since they were rebooting the system. Waiting about 20 mins and was able to check in early. Was so glad to check in early to nap. Pulled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lemonblush06
Joey C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay. We are disappointed to learn that your experience was less than perfect. Each of our rooms are to be inspected prior to guest arrivals to ensure cleanliness and that all is in working order. From the condition you stated, we failed in this instance. We always share positive and negative feedback...

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 113 in Savannah
950 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#10 of 113 in Savannah
2,818 reviews
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#8 of 113 in Savannah
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 113 in Savannah
2,477 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Like our Spanish-moss-draped city herself, Hotel Indigo® Savannah Historic District is the perfect mix of old and new. Our building—known to locals as the "Grand Lady on the Bay" due to her sweeping size—was once 19th-century mega-merchant Simon Guckenheimer's dry goods storage house and shop, which was filled with everything the South made best, from tobacco to canned peaches. The 1940s and '50s brought a grocery store with the city's first true coffeehouse. Now, the Grand Lady stands as a charming boutique hotel with modern style in a vibrant Ellis Square setting that reflects the essence of Savannah's renowned historic district. After a delicious breakfast or cocktail at our lobby bar, immerse yourself in our neighborhood's rich culture at City Market, located right next door. Then embark on one of the many fascinating tours Savannah has to offer; at least five of the city's iconic squares are located within roughly five blocks of our front door. Learn about the city's storied past before making your way down original cobblestone paths to famous River Street, where you can watch ships enter and exit the harbor while savoring Southern comfort food in restaurants that were once historic warehouses. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District

Address: 201 W Bay St, Historic District, Savannah, GA 31401-1110
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Price Range: £120 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Back of hotel. Higher floor - avoid facing the main street at all costs.”
 of 5 bubbles RGW56, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“View of the bridge”
 of 5 bubbles lemonblush06, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for what you need in your reservation.”
 of 5 bubbles lilpistol, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Even numbered rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles JeffKJr, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Let the front desk know what you are interested in seeing i.e., river, view of shopping square and always quietest area.”
 of 5 bubbles lizqn2017, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5