We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Marshall House

Show Prices
#5 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Marshall House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,236: English reviews
Fergus, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at Marshall house for three nights. After a trolley tour orientation, we walked and explored the historic area of Savannah. We enjoyed the wine and cheese in the library in the late afternoon and one evening had a historian's presentation on Savannah and the history of the Inn which we really enjoyed.. Breakfast was lovely in the atrium...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don C
Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at Marshall House for five nights. The room was cleaned every day and the towels and bed linens were first class. The House is located within walking distance to the riverfront, fine dining and many historical sites. Wine and cheese every evening in their beautiful lobby and a light breakfast menu in the morning. (the biscuits are great!)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ramonefan
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, General Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this review

Hello Ramonefan! Thank you for this wonderful recognition for our Marshall House family! Five nights is an ideal length of stay in Savannah, but we hope to see you again. Happy Travels, Hugh / GM

Port Townsend, Washington
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a historic hotel, but much updated with all the amenities for comfort. There is enough history in place for all but the more particular history buff: no original rooms thank goodness. Private bathrooms, temperature control, excellent beds, linens, etc. There is a full & very atmospheric bar adjacent to the lobby, happy hour wine & cheese most days,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heynah
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, Front Office Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this review

Dear Heynah, Thank you for the comments on our updated yet historic inn. Its so nice to hear that you enjoyed your amenities during your stay. Its the small things that make the stay so great, and I am glad we did that well. Hope to have you back again Stephanie Fielder Guest Services Manager

Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Marshall House over the Thanksgiving weekend and had a wonderful experience. Every staff member was pleasant and helpful. The hotel is centrally located and we were able to walk everywhere (although we did take a trolley tour to find out where those places were). I would guess all rooms are on the small side, as we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maverickgal
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, Front Office Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this review

I am glad that you spent the holiday with us at the Marshall House, and you had a lovely stay. The Marshall House is the longest running and oldest hotel in Savannah, we do have many historic features about the hotel, from the floors to the doors. The size of the rooms is a reflection of the history as well,...

Reviewed 1 week ago

My family visits Savannah every year during Thanksgiving weekend. The rooms were clean, the staff is so nice, and the location is excellent!! I highly recommend this hotel. If you're into history and ghosts, this is the place for you! We'll definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AllyNicole77
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, General Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this review

We are very thankful for you AllyNicole! See you next year! Best, Hugh / GM

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a few days while in town for work. Check in was fast and east, plus very friendly front end staff. We stayed on the 3rd floor facing the main road which was not noisy at all. Our room was smaller that we thought but really we are not complaining. The floor are noisy above you so...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tony K
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, General Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this review

Hello Tony, We are so sorry about the inconsiderate guest that had to be removed. It's far from something we have experience dealing with, thankfully! So it took some time to react. I'm so thankful to hear that you were able to rank us as "very good" and enjoyed the great majority of your stay! Best, Hugh / GM

Kempner, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

We truly enjoyed the hotel! The staff was so attentive and warm towards us we felt like we were their only customers (the hotel was fully booked!). Breakfast was freshly prepared and excellent! If we ever go back to Savannah we would only stay there!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank andysavalon
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, General Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this review

Thank you Andy! We do try our best to treat all of our guests as VIPs and I'm so gratefully to have an awarding winning team that accomplishes this feat more times than not. Happy Travels, Hugh / GM

Gainesville, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I have stayed in this hotel many times. We love the location and the pleasant historic atmosphere. The general manager, Hugh Osborne, is highly attentive to customer satisfaction. On our most recent stay, his response to a minor issue we had made all the difference. We will return.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Boxperox
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, General Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this review

Dear Boxperox, Thank you for this awesome ranking and recommendation! We are so glad to hear you will be coming back. We you do, please call us directly for the best rate and room choices. The second best option is to book direct on Marshallhouse.com. See you next time! Hugh /GM

Ocala, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was one of the best hotel we have ever stayed in. It was right in the middle of Savannah. The hotel is beautifully furnished in the period it was built! This is the perfect place to stay in Savannah.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank camillesschool
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, General Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this review

Hello Camillesschool, Thank you so much for this recommendation! We hope you have safe travels during the holidays and a happy new year! Best, Hugh / GM

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely a lovely experience. The staff was so friendly and the rooms are if the period. The breakfast was delicious, especially the biscuits! A great experience and lovely way to experience Savannah!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cathy H
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, General Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this review

Hello Cathy! So glad to hear you enjoyed the breakfast. We are fast making many improvements. Hope to see you again! Happy Travels, Hugh / GM

928 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (782)
Viewed
Room/Suite (159)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (193)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (330)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (81)
Viewed
King Room with Balcony (23)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Superior Double Queen (20)
Viewed
Superior King Room (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#9 of 113 in Savannah
2,721 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#7 of 113 in Savannah
1,042 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Price Range: £120 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Marshall House staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from The Marshall House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We booked a room with a King bed. The bathroom could use a narrow table to hold toiletries.”
 of 5 bubbles donc712, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There is very little space for clothing so prepare to either hang everything in the armoire or live out of your suitcase.”
 of 5 bubbles Maverickgal, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The 2nd floor has the balcony rooms which are bigger and pretty cool. The 4th floor has some haunted rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles AllyNicole77, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Second floor rooms facing Broughton Street benefit from a nice balcony!”
 of 5 bubbles Boxperox, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Court yard rooms are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles camillesschool, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay