We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

294 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 290: English reviews
Start your review of Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
 Click to rate
Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

This place was very clean. The knob on our shower was broken and there is not much lighting. However, the beds were comfortable and maid service was good. Good distance from strip. The owners seemed a little overwhelmed, but were friendly. It did smell overwhelmingly of weed at about 10 or 11 both nights we stayed. Overall, a good experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jesuslove116
Reviewed 1 week ago

Trip was the first weekend in March. Very nice at check in joked with us made us both feel welcome from that moment. Also as we where heading to eat stopped his car and asked us if everything was OK. Which made us feel better about the choice of this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rijo1553
Banner Elk, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

This Hotel is a DUMP.... I read the reviews and booked this hotel through expedia.com but What a MISTAKE!!! There are No Interior Safety Locks on the doors!! I have never stayed in a Hotel that has No Interior Safety Lock on the door. This is One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. The older man who...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank southslope777
kendall H, Manager at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you didn't have a good stay with us. We are a small christian family owed motel and try to keep our rates down to where people can afford to come and bring their family without it costing a lot and offer a clean room and friendly service. We have been offering a 15% discount through...

Augusta, Georgia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Since the Kingwood Inn burned in the great arson fire of November 2016, I have been left without a place to stay in Gatlinburg. I recently tried the Mountain House Inn on Newton Lane and was not disappointed. The Mountain House is clean, basic comfort on a relatively quiet street. The staff gives real customer service if you remember what...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael M
kendall H, Owner at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that we could be of service to you. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Barboursville, West Virginia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Family of 5 came down for the weekend.. Stay was perfect.. Owners were very nice and extremely grateful.. This was our first time staying here, and you can't beat the location.. Instead of driving from Pigeon Forge, sitting in all that traffic, and then having to pay to park, we decided to stay here, and again, it was perfect.. Walked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Weare4Marshall
kendall H, Manager at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us at The Mountain House Inn! We greatly appreciate you giving us a try! We also give a 10% repeat guest discount so the for your next trip to the Smokies give us a call and let us know you've stayed with us before and we'll make sure you get the discount and...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amy M
kendall H, Manager at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Lake Charles, Louisiana
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CAMOGIRL1974
kendall H, Manager at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Aiken, South Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yvonne P
kendall H, Manager at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Opelika, Alabama
Reviewed 16 February 2017

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vickieal2017
kendall H, Manager at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly F
kendall H, Manager at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (49)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (14)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (Alternative) (13)
Viewed
King Room (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#22 of 78 in Gatlinburg
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.4 mi away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
0.7 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would try a 2nd floor room to insure an even quieter stay.”
 of 5 bubbles mikaelos, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lower level rooms are more convenient if you have plenty of luggage.”
 of 5 bubbles RobertC117, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 301 opens directly to the pool. Use Baskins Creek bypass to get to highway 321 to skip a lot of traffic if traveling this way.”
 of 5 bubbles SouthSeaPirate, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Accessible to everything!”
 of 5 bubbles elizzierussell, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The rooms farther to the back will be quieter (front rooms near office are close to a fairly busy little intersection.”
 of 5 bubbles jakeanddolly, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5